WHAT have you gone and dunnit?

A whodunnit of Hercule-Poirot-ean proportions

“No, I’m home and safe now,” Tom told his Grandma.

“They didn’t keep me in, and from their questions, I don’t think they think I’m involved, but Grandma, Grandma…I’m so worried about you, and everyone in the village, WHY are you all so mutinous about this – why are you all so determined to carry the can for murder?”

Silence wound its way through the phone and curled itself inside Tom’s ear, with just the faintest crackles to suggest that his Grandma was still there at the other end of the line, was still breathing. Tom could picture her pursing her lips, her eyes focussed on the mid-distance, her head tilted slightly to one side as she weighed her options, absolutely still, hands (or, hand, as she was on the phone) nestled in her flowery, be-cotton-aproned lap.

It was a posture he remembered well from growing up, and all the times he’d done something perplexing or asked a question which had caught her off-guard and he was just beginning to lose himself in nostalgia when her voice interrupted him.

“My darling boy, I know you’d understand if I told you, because you know the village so well, and it’s most definitely ‘one of those village things’, but I can’t tell you, I can’t – it would put your career at risk, love, and I’m so proud of you and all that you’ve become, I don’t want to jeopardise that, so all I’ll say for now is that we ARE all involved, or, we are NOW, even if we weren’t in the beginning.”

Six Sentence Stories

This week’s Six Sentence Stories prompt from the marvellous Ivy, was CAN

And darlings, keep a weather eye, because VERY SOON, I shall have a HUGE GREATBIG IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT to make about this whodunnit. Shall I give you a clue? SOON! Very soon…keep watching my blog’s Facebook page over the next few days!

Because of all the linking and ridiculous amount of posts involved, I’m going to link you to last week’s installment of the story, and in THAT link, are all the preceding chapters. CLICK HERE to read ‘And what had the VICTIM dunnit?’

30 thoughts on “WHAT have you gone and dunnit?

  1. Pingback: Ready to FIND OUT whodunnit | Considerings

  2. Pingback: Ten Things of Thankful 137 (On time…) #10Thankful | Considerings

  3. This is exciting. I went back and reread all the pieces to get a better flow on the events. You know me, Lizzi, I love the cliffhanger, keep me dangling, sort of story.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. (hell no! she’s totally setting him up to take the fall! lol…. well, no, no one actually asked me what I thought)

    I also come here to be reminded that, no matter what, there are very cool ways to arrange average words that relate everyday situations:

    Silence wound its way through the phone and curled itself inside Tom’s ear

    two words: ‘damn!’

    Liked by 1 person

    • *grins HUGE* Thank you! Thank you!

      And….hmmm who knows! (well, now *I* know, or at least, I *think* I know, if they don’t all jump off the page and suddenly do something entirely different, which I admit is always a possibility with these things)

      Like

  5. Grandma is sooooo thoughtful and taking such good care of Tom – TeHe – And, now, its pins and needles time waiting for THE BIG ANNOUNCEMENT – Oh, the agony, the stress, – can we stand it? Sly Lizzi, you’ve got us now.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yesss! About time something happened that made me feel appreciated today. *grumbles*
    This is developing so well. I wanted to say “cool-ly” because that’s what I really think, not just “well.” I have a headache and I’m not thinking clearly.
    I shall watch your Facebook page, even though Facebook likes to NOT show you to me. Ass-hat.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are where the magic happens...

