P.S.A. I found something which works…

Happy Monday to you, lovelies. Goodness, it’s been so long since I’ve written anything for a Monday, I’ve almost forgotten how it goes. Hopefully the cobwebs will fall from the ‘how it’s done’ as I get on and do it, and everything will go according to plan (the plan being that you read this, engage with it, and share it somewhere on social media so that more people see it, read it, take it on board, yadda yadda)…but let me EXPLAIN.

The past week or so, I’ve been conducting a tiny little private experiment on Facebook, looking at blog pages and sharing, and the results have been fascinating.

For those of us with Facebook pages for our blogs, there is an acute awareness of the supreme dumbfuckery of the algorithms, which dictate how many of the people who’ve ever liked the page actually get to see the content on their timelines (unless they’ve specified that they most definitely want the contents to show up for them). I know! You would think perhaps…but there’s no point even pursuing lines of logical thought, because they all end in the ‘boost post’ button and anticipated profit margins. So. That.

Thing is, though, there ARE a few ways around these problems of invisibility.

If we all help each other we all win

I know for a fact that the more people you can get to engage with your posts to your FB page, the more people the algorithm allows to see your update. So you find a couple of people all willing to pop in and like each other’s latest posts to their blog pages, and BOOM, baby! You’re golden. Well. Ish, because one or two people liking what you bung up there doesn’t necessarily translate to anyone else engaging with it, but that they get to see it is the first step.

Because really, the FIRST first thing is, if you don’t have many page likes in the first place, what do you do?

The most obvious answer is to get your friends to share your page on their pages (or preferably, their personal timeline, because it will almost certainly get more traffic), imploring their friends to ‘like’ your blog page. If they also write a little piece on how wonderful you are as a person, and how fabulous your writing is, so much the better.

I credit myself I’m a decent writer-upper of people. I appeal. I engage. I entreat. And I did all of those things on behalf of a few friends this past week. Lo and behold, a few people engaged with my posts each time, and I assumed (though never had confirmed) that the pages might have maybe added a few to their numbers, if my friends hadn’t already liked the page I shared.

Which slightly sucked, because it meant that my writing was being wasted. Chances were, it wasn’t even being seen.

So I turned to the other option for encouraging people to like pages you think work profiling, and I invited a bunch of my friends who I thought might be interested in each of those few pages, to like them.

Oh. My. Gosh. The response was HUNDREDS of percents better. Each page received about 30 new likes, and even though that was probably only 1/3 return on the number I invited, it was FAR superior to the ‘throw it out there and hope to hook someone’ method. It cut the middle-man (my unreliably visible timeline) out altogether.

It also threw up an interesting question when one friend contacted me to ask “So why SHOULD I like this page you’ve recommended?” I was able to explain that I appreciated the writer’s writing, and thought that she would, too, but also that as a fellow blogger who once had a Facebook page with a teeny-tiny audience, there was a time when she appreciated every new ‘like’, and each rise in numbers. And that it was just a nice act of kick-back reciprocity to ‘like’ other pages.

That said, I think I will be testing the bounds of friendship if I invite too many of the same people to like too many new pages in one week, so it’s something I’m planning to do carefully and sparingly, probably doubling up with the shared page on my own timeline (because page shares also boost the page’s visibility), and that way conduct a pretty neat piece of all-round promotion.

I would *like* to say that I’ll be showcasing your page soon, but the reality is, with the number of writers I know, to get through you all in a manageable way, would take years. So here’s where YOU come in…check out the Facebook page of a blog you really enjoy, and opt to invite your friends to like it, then hopefully, with (let’s think BIG) enormous numbers of us all doing the same thing, eventually all the pages will be covered, and we’ll all have liked all of them, and everybody’s reach and engagement will have improved beyond their wildest dreams. Practice with my blog’s Facebook page, by all means *cheeky wink*

Facebook is an ungainly beast, but for the purposes of being able to promote our own writing, there are clear, ways of making that happen. Engage in them, and you potentially enter a world of reciprocal generosity.

We may write alone, but reaching our audience takes teamwork, and if we all help each other, we all win.

 

 

28 thoughts on “P.S.A. I found something which works…

    • YES! And I’ve been taking inspiration from your efforts, my dear. Because when I shared your page, barely anything happened, and when I invited people to like it, lots more happened. You were my first experiment πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I will never understand how freaking FB works. And I don’t know if I even care! But yes, it would be lovely to have some sort of a “following” and I definitely try to share and like and recommend stuff. And all of that is part of my forward focus in the world of the blogging/writing/baring my soul/sailing ships plan. The sad part? When I’m doing the necessary work outside the home days, that stuff sadly takes a back seat. Like now. I’d LOVE to hop around the Internet and read and share and comment and catch up. But work today kicked my ass profoundly. And so, I’m off to bed. Perhaps tomorrow I will be less exhausted and more able to spend a bit of that time. I’m not opting out completely.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope that you slept really well and wake up feeling refreshed and ready to go again.

      The whole ‘how much you opt in’ is definitely a Thing – with the right connections, and if you’re happy to just maintain those, there’s no need for anything bigger or fancier, really. I think when it comes to things like monetising, that’s where it gets really important.

      Keep sending ships, my friend πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. It’s so hard to know exactly what will work, and of course FB keeps changing those algorithms. I have over 2,000 page likes, which I’ve mostly gotten through participating in those Follow Friday parties. Therefore, it doesn’t translate into much engagement, but I feel like it has to mean at least randomly more eyes seeing my page. And besides, just the numbers are helpful for participating in various promotional activities for those of us who engage in that sort of thing. I’m also in a group in which we commit to visit and comment on each other’s FB pages regularly. Your inviting idea is a good one! Personally, if any friend of mine asks me to like ANYTHING I always do (unless it offends me!), and probably most people are the same way.

    Like

  3. Thank you for this info. Getting our pages liked seems to be on everyone’s mind lately. I will use this info as soon as I make a page, which will probably be today since you now motivated me.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Go for it! It’s one of those silly little things which can make SUCH a difference in getting your writing seen (and after all, why else do we bother, if there are no readers!) but figuring out the system and hacks (especially for new bloggers – ohmigosh, I remember the overwhelm SO well) is something I think only experience, testing and observation can provide. That, and helpful posts like this πŸ˜‰

      Like

  4. Oh, very nice – I saw some of your recent activity. As for myself I’ve been secretly doing this when I got some spare Facebook time anyhow. Some of us plot to take over the world, er the internet in very a subtle manner. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You know a lot of people.
    πŸ™‚
    It is nice to have followers. I am doing pretty well with my blog, but my Facebook blog page is going a little slower. I have had it for nearly two years, but am just a few likes shy of two hundred. I don’t fret much about it though. It is growing, slowly, but it is.
    I am getting my writing read, but these things take time.
    Great thing you’re doing though. I liked the page you recommended earlier. I am always happy to find new writers and I try to give other FB blog pages a like when I can because I appreciate it when others like my own page.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes – there’s definitely something to this reciprocity thing (and yet it’s still gauche to rock up at someone’s page, like it, and say “will you like me back!” – though there are FB page follow threads in various blogging groups, and THAT’S okay – so much of it is etiquette!)

      I’m glad your FB page is going well. I’ve had mine for probably nearly three years, and I think I’ve only just broken 500 likes. I’m not good at paying attention to numbers, and it’s something I want to improve at because it’s useful to know.

      I’m glad you liked my recommendations. I try very hard to do them carefully πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      • Well, depends on who you ask. To most people, barely 200 likes isn’t doing well, but I try not to focus on that. I’m not good with numbers either. I have participated in those follow threads occasionally, and other than family and friends, that’s where most of my Her Headache likes came from.
        πŸ™‚
        My Insightful Wanderer is a bit of that as well.

        Like

  6. I love this idea, Lizzie. I did like a page you recommended b/c YOU recommended it. It all comes back to word of mouth. If someone we respect or a friend recommends something, we’re more likely to engage with or buy that product. Facebook really has a messed up system though and it’s frustrating that I don’t see half the stuff I have LIKED b/c they hide it…or whatever it is they do. Yes, we’re all in this together. Thank you for liking my page as well, lizzie. I sure appreciate the support.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely think that word of mouth recommendation is key – it’s all very well to ‘back’ a page by sharing it, but I think stepping up and inviting people to like it shows a stronger preference for it. And yes, Facebook is TOTALLY frustrating!

      Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

