A Slip of the Lit – Beth Teliho (Author Interview)

If you’ve visited Considerings before, then the chances are you will have had the pleasure of encountering my amazing BlogWife, Beth, who wriggles into my posts on a regular basis for the sole reason that she’s an awesome human being. She’s an incredible writer too, and once upon a time in Kismet I stumbled across her blog, fell suddenly and irrevocably in WriterLove with her words and we ended up firm friends (and BlogMarried, but that’s another story). ANYWAY…the point is (and I can’t tell you how proud I am, because since I’ve known her, she’s been working on this and I’ve stood and observed in AWE as she’s made it happen) BETH’S GOT A REAL LIVE BOOK COMING OUT IN APRIL *cheers* AND SHE’S A FULLY FOR REAL ABSOLUTELY DEFINITELY AUTHOR WHO I KNOW *cartwheels* AND SHE’S GIVEN ME HER FRIST EVER AUTHOR INTERVIEW *faints*

Beth Teliho Author Order of Seven*shuffles uncomfortably in her chair, checking the mic a hundred times and that this will broadcast okay, as Beth calmly and collectedly prepares herself*

*wipes sweaty palms on the legs of her jeans and passes a quiet note, reminding the Fabulous, Shiny New Author that this is also HER frist time at ever interviewing anyone, and to please forgive any flubs, just as the shiny green light indicates GO!*

Welcome to A Slip of the Lit., Beth, and congratulations on the upcoming publication of your book, Order of Seven. I hope that by the time you leave today, my lovely readers will know a bit more about you, your inspiration, and your novel. I understand that you’ve arranged for an AMAZING GIVEAWAY, with a SIGNED BOOK as the prize. I’ll give details at the end, but for now, let’s jump right in:

What is your earliest memory of writing? (you doing it) I don’t have a lot of memories of writing as an adolescent; art was my big thing then, but my imagination consumed me. Had I been encouraged to write ideas down…who knows!? Might’ve changed everything.

My first real memories are from college. My science major didn’t have much emphasis on writing; however, many other subjects required papers. To my surprise, I received consistent positive response from professors, including encouragement to pursue writing. I’d always dreamed of penning a book, but figured it was something reserved for the uber-smart and savvy. It was an absolute turning point for me.

What is your earliest memory of significant writing? (you doing it purposefully) Very soon after graduating college, I filled a notebook with ideas, poems, characters and rough story sketches. (Teaser: some of those poems made it into Order of Seven!) Then? I got married and had kids. Things were a whirlwind and I didn’t write again for several years, until a cousin told me about nanowrimo. I secretly tried it and finished, and that was IT! The writing fever took hold of me and hasn’t let go since.

What have you read that you return to again and again (if you do)? Why? I don’t reread books often, but there’s one I have read more than once: Ishmael by Daniel Quinn. This book is everything. It made an enormous impression on me when I first read it in my early twenties. Ishmael mirrored many sentiments and opinions twenty-year-old-Beth had (and continues to have) about the human race’s place in this world, all the while fooling me into thinking I was merely being entertained by a story of a man and a talking ape. It’s intoxicatingly interesting and thought-provoking.

It’s time to prove yourself – make us FEEL! Mummified muscles. Pupils dilated, blurring my peripheral vision. Heart tumbling in my chest. In my ears. In my throat. Every cell and fiber fully present, alert. The air cold, inhaled with short, shallow gasps. My arms, a landscape of prickled skin, tiny hairs standing to attention. This moment is here, loud, alive, moving with the speed and power of a train, yet it is stopped cold. I’m captive, a willing prisoner, suspended in time, pinned to this moment. The want is thick, hanging between us, heavy and electric. I’m drunk with it. Warm lips press against mine. I wilt into him, surrendering, liquefying. Heat burns under my skin, igniting embers in my belly, clenching. Delicious torture. My fingertips dig into hard shoulders, aching for more. More.

*phew*! I’m sold 🙂 *tugs at collar*

May I take a moment to announce *drumroll* YOUR BEAUTIFUL BOOK COVER:

Order of Seven Cover Beth Teliho

What kind of book is the Order of Seven? At its core, Order of Seven is a paranormal (as in psychics, not vampires) rollercoaster ride, but that’s just the tracks. The route winds through the fantastical, dipping unexpectedly to tummy-dropping lows before climbing again to hold-your-breath heights, dangling you over a precipice. Suspended. Waiting. What happens next? You don’t know. And you’re not sure you want to.

What’s the best writing tip that you were ever given? How did it help? The best advice I ever received was to ‘Write Free’. This really helps me because I used to get so caught up imagining others reading my work and hating/judging/criticizing it and that would freeze me. I have to make a deliberate practice of writing free, and when I do, the good stuff happens. At some point, you must accept that you can’t please everyone, so concentrate on the ones you do please and keep writing.

Can we have a sneak preview of your fancy-schmancy author bio? Please-please? “BETH TELIHO is a writer, artist, and tree-hugger who lives in Texas with her husband and two adventurous sons. Restless in the mundane, she writes about the abnormal, paranormal and otherwise fantastical because that’s what quickens her heartbeat. She laughs at inappropriate jokes, and prefers spicy food and margaritas to almost anything. One day, she hopes to live in a tree-house where she can be an eccentric introvert with at least seven cats.”

What can we do to best support you from now until the release date? Spread the word – whether it’s retweeting a tweet, or sharing on Facebook – every little bit helps. Find me on Goodreads and put Order of Seven on your “to read” list, and enter my Goodreads giveaway for a chance to win a signed copy! If you’re interested in receiving an ARC [Advance Reading Copy] to read and review and/or if you’d like to lend your blog for the cover/blurb or an interview, please let me know in comments or PM me.

Word of mouth and favorable reviews are a writer’s best friend!

So where can we stalk find you?

Website: www.bethteliho.me

Facebook: www.facebook.com/writerbisme

Twitterverse: @beth_teliho

Goodreads: Beth Teliho

THE GIVEAWAY (the most exciting part, non?) YOU might be the lucky winner of a SIGNED COPY of Order of Seven – simply answer the following question (because after all, it’s Beth) HOW MANY PAGES INTO THE BOOK DOES THE FIRST KISS HAPPEN? Hint – you have 240 pages to choose from

Good luck, everybody – put your answers in the comments. The winner will be announced HERE on Monday 2nd March. In the meantime, tweet and Facebook and share this post EVERYWHERE.

Order of Seven, by Beth Teliho will be available to pre-order on March 3rd, and will be released to BUY on April 7th.

Thank you so much for this interview, Beth, and I want to wish you all the luck in the world with the promotion and release of Order of Seven. I’ll be cheering you on xo

A Slip of the Lit Button

115 thoughts on “A Slip of the Lit – Beth Teliho (Author Interview)

  1. “The best advice I ever received was to ‘Write Free’.”

    That is the same piece of advice I received.
    Who shared it with you??

    Congrats on the book, Beth!!
    And on writing free.

    With heart,
    Dani

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: prepare to be tackled | writer b is me

  3. This was an awesome interview Beth! Huge congrats on being published! I am intrigued by your writing direction, and you’ve definitely captured my interest about this book! Note to self – must read! Which page, hmmm? Since most folks are going early, I’ll take the odd chance of saying the kiss happens on the last page. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Uh, I don’t know if any of you will get what I mean when I say this but anyway….

    I cant believe that I am in the presence of actual “WRITERS”!!!

    I mean, they are these magical creatures from another world! they are not people mere mortals like me would be able to interact with!

    Whew! I am so damn THRILLED for you Beth Teliho! 🙂 🙂

    The interview was excellent Lizzi and that extract from the book, amazing! 🙂

    I wish you all the very best for your first novel 🙂 🙂

    A REAL. LIVE. WRITER! Whew! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. That is where I get stuck with writing too! Thinking about others opinions/criticism. I also find that I am getting stuck because I’m following and loving on some amazing writers who inspire me to push harder – ahem Lizzi (although I know that she wouldn’t hate). I’ll write and think “Nope – not good enough” and scrap it. It is exhausting 😛

    Congrats on the book! I am so excited for you! From what I’ve read of yours nd your little “Make me feel” piece, I know it’s going to be nothing short of spectacular. All the best!!! Whoot!!!

    I’m going to guess page 16.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey there you 🙂 So glad you like the ‘Make Me Feel’! I was quite pleased with it as an idea and I thought Beth did brilliantly. The book is a bajillion times better.

      And bless your boots for exhausting yourself – I really enjoy your writing, even when you’re doing a promo piece. You are the ONLY person with that distinction.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, WOW thanks so much Kimberly! I’m hugely flattered because YOU are an amazing writer, too! And yeah – those freakin’ writer doubts are the WORST. Like I said, I have to *make* myself shut out the voices and just GO. Even if I end up scrapping half of it, at least I’m left with half that’s good! (thanks for guessing! you’ll know Monday if it was accurate!)

      Like

  6. This is SO totally exciting! I love the advice to ‘Write Free.’ I am working on that too. I seriously get paralyzed sometimes, worrying way too much about what is going on in other people’s heads instead of letting the words flow, ya know?

    Anyway, I am super excited to give “Order of Seven” a read! It sounds RIGHT up my alley — the type of book I would want to pick up, even if it weren’t so highly recommended. 😉 LOL.

    As for my guess. . . I would have said pages 1 or 2, but I see someone has beat me to those guesses. . . So, how about page 3? I don’t think I see that one yet. 😉 You know, get in there & get ‘er done. haha. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • YAY! Lisa, isn’t the cover BEAUTIFUL? I was so happy with what Beth chose for it. I think it’s perfect, and in the same way that Beth is, quite understated at times and then jam-packed with brilliance inside (I have my hands on an ARC and could NOT stop reading it last night – it was SOOOO-OOOO-OOOOOOOO good!)

      Liked by 2 people

    • LISA! thank you so much; I saw you on Goodreads with the book on your wish to read list! THANK YOU!!! and thanks for guessing for the giveaway. I’m laughing so hard because everyone is guessing so early in the book! could be right…..could be wrong……we’ll know Monday! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You know, Lizzie, I totally read the title of this post… wrong. Not that I was disappointed to see Beth’s author interview, but a slip of the clit would have been… More what I was looking for. (Sorry Beth. Totally buying Order of Seven!!!!!!)

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I going with page 8. Awesome interview – can’t wait until it’s my turn! Aaaannd…I got an email an hour or so ago from Goodreads telling me that a book on my “to-read” list is having a giveaway. I wanted to email Goodreads back and say, “I KNOW HER!!!”

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Hot damn, ladies, nicely done! This book sounds pretty amazing. I’m really impressed and proud of you for pulling this off, Beth. I know you’ve been working on it since I’ve known you, so to see it happening is great. I guess a small part of me thought you were a liar liar pants on fire and that you were really petting cats or something when you said you were “writing a book.” Lol. You showed me.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Oooooh….. this books sounds tantalizing!!! What a great interview Lizzi and Beth!!! I am going to guess that that elusive kiss is on the very FIRST page.

    Why not? Seems like something you would do… 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Mmmmm page 11? That’s my guess. Congrats to you Lizzi for getting first crack at the author and HUGE congrats to Beth! I’ll be sharing all over the place 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  12. That’s a terrific interview. You asked her all the right questions, especially the “Make us feel” part. Wow. I am guessing that the first kiss is on page 1. Or maybe page 7. Duh. 🙂 Thanks for letting the blogosphere know about this book!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Squeeeeeee!!!! I can’t wait! And oh, Beth, you have a good “elevator pitch” to describe your book! My husband’s been hounding me about that. If anyone even asks what my blog’s about I stutter and say things like “it’s about nothing really, it’s kind of silly.” It’s ridiculous. But yours is incredible and leaves me wanting to read this book even more!

    Liked by 2 people

    • omg, elevator pitch is the hardest thing EVER. I’ve gotten better at it, but it took a long time. And I don’t really talk about my blog either. My hairdresser was asking me about it the other day and I had the same response as you. “uhhhh, it’s really about whatever’s in my head that day. Mostly silly stuff. you know. vaginas and shit.” (<< I don't recommend that elevator pitch. did not go over well. hahaha)

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are where the magic happens...

