My Trans Best Friend

This year is a landmark one for a wonderful (if somewhat astonishing) reason. September marks the anniversary of when I met my best friend (my ‘Soulie’) for the first time, and this year is the year we will have known each other for HALF OUR LIVES!!

I still remember our initial encounter, in Japanese class (taken because we were both fascinated with languages, and pretentious enough to think that dabbling in a year-long class would be a bit of a giggle), where we took an intense and immediate dislike to one another. I thought her brash and lairy; she found me snotty and aloof.

We shared a mutual acquaintance but were careful not to include one another in any interactions. We successfully ignored one another ‘out loud’ for several weeks until one day we turned up to discover that the unimaginable had occurred – people had changed seats and we would have to sit together.

I rolled my eyes and flopped down heavily into the seat next to her, with a sigh loud enough to let her (and everyone else) know what a chore it was going to be to be lumbered with this person. A little later as she was showing off her vast(er than mine) knowledge of German, I (incorrectly, it turned out) corrected her pronunciation. We didn’t speak much for the remainder of the lesson and resentment simmered. In spite of our proximity, we successfully managed to keep one another on the periphery of our interactions.

The lesson after that, the same damn thing happened with the seating. What changed, I still don’t know – we were both bristling about it – but we either heeded the call of destiny or decided to make the best of a bad job and fell rapidly and irrevocably in friends.

The remainder of our time at college was spent in each others pockets. We visited each others houses, got to know the other girl’s family, bunked off together, and supported one another through some of those intensely challenging late-teenage years with pizza, sleep-overs and poetry.

With her, I felt for the very first time as though I was accepted and appreciated for exactly who I was. She enjoyed my company and sought more of it (another first) and the feeling was unequivocally mutual. When our time at college together drew to an end, we were closer than I ever knew it was possible to be with a platonic friend.

She felt like the other half of my soul.

She felt like home.

Since then we’ve been the constant in each others lives through the very best and worst moments – boozy picnics, marriages, long afternoons of just *being*, talking through the night about matters of the soul, children, tea and cake and laughter…and divorce, miscarriages, house moves, mental breakdown, life-altering diagnoses, struggle and despair.

Through it all we have been staunch, steadfast and THERE for one another.

She was the keeper of my secrets and the person privy to most of the All of me – the bits I couldn’t even tell Husby or my family, sometimes.

And I thought I was hers, but there are some things, even after they’ve been acknowledged to the self, which are too tender and sacred to be revealed to any other human until the time is right. And that’s okay – even BFFs don’t owe each other their secrets.

Recently, things crystallised and the time became right. After a conversation over some form of messaging service, I was directed to a blog – a new one – where my best friend in the whole world revealed her truth – that she had long felt as though she was more male than female; perhaps had always known but for reasons to many and complex to discuss, had remained living as a girl instead of challenging it; that there was a jarring disparity between her inner and outer selves, and she was going to begin to reconcile the two.

Pardon me…he was going to begin to reconcile the two.

Half my life I’ve been best friends with a boy, who was living as a girl, and I never knew!

I Heart My Trans Best FriendThe moment I read it, and my *agog* was all done, I felt two things, almost simultaneously: firstly, I wasn’t remotely surprised; secondly, it made absolute sense.

I felt like the scales had been knocked from my eyes and I was seeing clearly for the first time, because I’ve ALWAYS been better friends with boys – better able to understand them, get along with them, joke around with them, live life alongside them – than with girls (my Soulie notwithstanding), who have often left me feeling somewhat baffled.

We used to talk about the things which united us in this – neither of us was ever a fan of wearing overly feminine clothing; neither of us had particularly girlie interests; we had no time for all the drama and politics which seemed to go into most girl-girl friendships we saw around us; we (arrogantly) felt we had too many brain-cells to spend hours rhapsodising about boys or celebrities or makeup or fashion – we talked about important things, like poetry and music and farts and swearing.

This. Explained. Everything.

We’ve had a couple of conversations which have explored the transition further, but not really many. I’ve been fascinated by his transition and the reactions he’s getting from the people he meets, as he lives, dresses and acts as a man. Last time we met up, it wasn’t an issue. We still hugged, still chatted about the everything and nothing, as we ever do, everything was the same. Next time we meet, I suspect there will be no difference.

A couple of people have asked me about his transition, and a couple of thoughts have occurred to me; what about the children? What about clothes? What about male exes and new girlfriends? What about surgery? What about hormones? What about prejudice and being ‘out’ and living as a man? What about…what about…what about???

But whatever the question is, I keep coming back to one fact – it’s none of my business. If he wants to tell me, he will, but I don’t need to know – because none of it really matters.

He’s still the exact same person he ever was before. I just now know a bit more about him, which involves the (probably several times to-be-goofed) necessity of remembering a different pronoun, and a different name. He might look a bit different than I remember, but not vastly. That’s all the change – skin-deep and grammar.

We will still have deep, important chats and drink tea and eat cake. We will still be there for each other through thick and thin. We will still talk about farts and poetry. We will still drink wine and be silly and have sleepovers. We will still get our tattoos commemorating half our lives together. We still hope to grow old and crotchety together, wherever we end up living.

He is still my best friend in the whole world – my Soulie.

And nothing changes that.

Have you ever had a friend reveal a big secret to you – how did you handle it? Is gender/sexuality something which even matters in friendship? Would you avoid someone if you knew they were transgender? Would you find it difficult to interact with them? What’s your take?

119 thoughts on “My Trans Best Friend

  1. I never knew there was a trans problem in the military and that they get burned and go unnoticed and discriminated against. When I was homeless, I met to trans people and I consider them friends and very nice people. Would not tolerate hate against them.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You sound as though you have a very level head, and a strong sense of compassion. I think this is the thing which gets lost in the labels – people stop seeing one another as PEOPLE, and then they find it within themselves to do awful things because of those prejudices.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So often those who are trans lose most, if not all, the people in their lives along with their jobs and most everything they own. Sometimes it happens immediately and other times more slowly. By being one person he could count on you’ve given a gift beyond imagining. When you’re out at sea in uncharted waters it’s nice to know there’s at least one person who’ll throw you a line. I know you were just being you, but you still deserve all this praise. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I wonder if it’s different elsewhere (are you Stateside?) because here – and thank goodness, this is another thing which England really HAS got right – sexuality is called a ‘protected characteristic’, and by law you cannot lose your job or be subjected to harassment in the workplace because of it. But I agree about the potential for decline in friends and the things which have been ‘norms’ up to the point of openly beginning to transition…

      He can ALWAYS count on me, I mean, in all honesty, I might be a little bit late sometimes (punctuality is one of the things I struggle with) but in terms of emotional content and acceptance, DEFINITELY.

      And thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful to hear how you two have connected and how great that you were there for him as he starts on the newest part of his life. Have you seen a show on Amazon called Transparent? It’s about a transgender dad who is opening up to his grown children and all that ensues. It’s one of the best TV shows I’ve ever seen and the lead actor (Jeffrey Tambor from Arrested Development) is truly amazing. We need more people like you in the world, who are open and loving; who care for people’s souls not their outer “shell.” xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw thanks Claudia. I think there’s always going to be room for more compassionate people in the world, and more who are willing to see past the ‘shell’ stuff, and focus on the importance of the souls, and love them anyway. I’ve found a LOAD of those people at #1000Speak – are you in that? I can’t keep up with it at the moment 😀

      I’ve not seen the show you referenced, but it sounds great, and I’m so thrilled to hear of another show which is engaging people about transgender issues in a positive way. That’s brilliant.

      Like

  4. You (understandably) ask a lot of questions here, and I don’t think I could adequately answer all of them in one little comment. One thing I do know, though, is that friendship does not require one to see 100% eye-to-eye with another. I think it is possible for a person to both not condone a particular lifestyle–whether that be smoking, overeating, gambling, sexual, etc– and to be friends with someone who lives that lifestyle.

    I don’t have time right now to say more, but I’m happy that you both share such a strong friendship.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Kristi.

      I think you’re right about the importance of putting the PERSON first, and their behaviours secondary, in a friendship. I have several friends who behave in ways which I wouldn’t do myself, or which I personally think are damaging and unhelpful, but my love for them transcends those things.

      My Soulie and I have a wonderful friendship and he’s been one of the most fundamental and formative people in my life. I’m lucky to have him 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • agreed. we recognize the person within and respond to that… the exterior, the aspect that the rest of the world my fixate upon (because the rest of the world really would like things to remain constant and predictable), isn’t so important to our people. Just the person

        Liked by 1 person

    • I hope it is, though I asked him whether he’d been worried about telling me, and it was very encouraging to hear that NO, he hadn’t been…because he knew how I would react, and that I’d be fine. That was a pretty awesome moment for me 🙂 I’m glad that he’s open about it now though, just so HE feels better in himself, as life moves on.

      Thanks for stopping by, and for your lovely comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, I could just *hug* you. There are too many people in the world who wouldn’t be supportive. You are an inspiration! I respect your Soulie to have the courage to confront his feelings and be himself.
    And…I also apologize for having not been around much: work has suddenly taken over my life. Go figure. Finish school, get more time, work takes it up. Sheez. LOL
    Hugs, my friend! BIG hugs!

    Liked by 3 people

    • My dear, you don’t need to apologise – I know you’re there, and you know I’m here, and we both still share that boat, I think. Hope work gives you enough space for YOU time, at least.

      And thank you – it outrages me that some people WOULD let this be the end of their friendship – such a waste, and so ignorant. I’m just lucky because I don’t think I personally KNOW anyone so closed-minded, and long may that last 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. my friends mean the world to me; you wrote so beautifully expressing your love about your soulie – isn’t that what it is though – I believe it may sound hoakie so don’t judge but the people that come into our lives s some as friends, some as family, and some as enemies we know who they are spirit – or soul recognizes and we come together and connect –

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I LOVE it! I was hoping that ”trans” meant the same that it does here. I have a life-long, platonic cisgen male soulie! 😀 Never been a problem. My male friends who are FtM Trans: (between you and me, one is so gorgeous a Human Being, in every way… I can’t look at him too much. I might want to be single if I do!) 😀 It’s so different for everyone, so many factors affect how people feel about these things. me: my friends are my friends, I care about their health and their hearts, other than that, it’s none of my business.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I know no other word for it…I didn’t even think of how it would translate! *phew*

      I’m so glad to hear that your experiences with your friends have been so wonderful and affirming. I don’t think it’s going to be any kind of problem to have a boy best friend, because like I said – he hasn’t changed – just skin-deep and grammar 🙂

      Your last sentiment is so perfect – their health and their hearts – isn’t that most all we should care about for *anyone*?

      Liked by 1 person

  8. If everyone had a friend like you, Lizzi, the world would be a much better place. A friend who loves you for who you are inside. Just browsed around your soulie’s site for a bit – I hope he keeps sharing his journey. I think of all the boys and girls out there who are going through it alone…

    Do you watch Glee? Is it aired in England? A character just revealed she (he) was transgender – that he wanted his outsides to finally match his insides. I haven’t watched the episode yet, but I love that it is being talked about.

    Liked by 4 people

    • I’ve watched documentaries about this kind of thing, and seen the awful isolation and pain that these guys and girls go through – that feeling of never being at rights with themselves, and such anxiety about whether or not they’ll be accepted as they change…and my Soulie is NOT going to be subjected to that. He just isn’t. Not if I can help it. He is who he is who he is…and always has been – I just need to remember to adjust my terms of reference. That’s all.

      Glee does get aired here, but I don’t watch it. I’m glad they’re covering this issue in a storyline though – I hope they do it justice.

      There are so many people out there who are great, amazing friends, and I just hope that more and more and more will discover the deep-down importance of loving people above and beyond the things which get turned into prejudices.

      Like

  9. My silly android would not let me comment here but now I can… who knows? A miracle occurs and KABOOM! …. anyway… a bestie is a bestie, a soulie is a soulie… no matter yes? Can’t shake a stick at that kind of connection…. How many have lost out on that special relationship over the color of skin or gender or the fact that they are devoted to a demented poodle??? Just seems so unecessary.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Utterly ridiculous that people would let this kind of thing cost then the wonder of friendship. And I love your demented poodle for all that he means to you.

      A soulie’s a soulie’s a soulie. And not to be sneezed at or passed up lightly.

      I kaBOOMed you – you’re here. 🙂 *mwah*

      Like

  10. I think you’ve captured perfectly here how something can matter so much, but also doesn’t and shouldn’t have to matter at all… Amidst what must have been a great change and challenge, and something that will always be a struggle when faced with some other kinds of people (the unkind kind) – it’s wonderful that your Soulie has You by and on their side 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Sara. It was surprisingly easy to write…I suppose because in so many ways the change itself made so much sense within the context. I’m glad I conveyed it all well though 🙂

      I think my soulie and I are both lucky to have each other 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  11. My goodness. So much here. I know it is partly because you are from the other side of the Atlantic, but you use the language (skillfuly) in some interesting ways. I will leave that for another day and answer the questions.

    Have you ever had a friend reveal a big secret to you – how did you handle it? Yes but it was not this sort of secret. And handled it well, I think.

    Is gender/sexuality something which even matters in friendship? Yes I think it does, even though it should not.

    Would you avoid someone if you knew they were transgender? NO.

    Would you find it difficult to interact with them? I do find it a little tricky, especially with a TG person I just met, but mostly because of the pronouns confusion. Not difficult though. Just make eye contact. Listen. Be real. Nearly always works, with anyone.

    What’s your take? I really don’t know what my take on this is. I saw this link way earlier, almost retweeted it, but decided I should read it first. After I read it, I promptly shared it from the browser, so you can retweet that share 🙂 It is a moving piece of writing. I feel very strongly that these gender categories should not matter, but they obviously do. Not to me so much, but to society. So I am in a bit of a bind. No idea what to say next.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Gene’o I really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a full comment.

      I’m glad that you were able to handle your friend’s big reveal well, and you’re probably right in saying that whilst gender/sexuality issues *shouldn’t* affect friendships, they still do.

      I see your point about initial awkwardness with TG people…I guess the obvious thing is to…no…I changed my mind. There is no obvious thing. Take each person as they are. Be kind. If in doubt, ask. Nicely. If it’s important to.

      Thanks for sharing this – I really appreciate it. I would love to hear more about how you think I used the language unusually…

      Liked by 1 person

  12. So many wonderful things about this post. SO many. I think…I’ll start with “ya soppy bint.” I LOVE that, but in a completely different way than I love “innit.”

    The story is, of course, classic Lizzi – unconditional love, and respect for a dear friend. The message is beautiful, just like the friendship.

    And then, oh! So MANY little treasures in here! In the midst of such an important story about friendship and love, you have sentences like, “we talked about important things, like poetry and music and farts and swearing.”

    I’m up all night, trying to (still) write a blog post. When I’m done, can we please chat about farts???

    love,
    another soppy bint

    Liked by 4 people

    • Ahhh I hope you got your writing done, Precious…I know you were anxious about it.

      I always like to chat with you, about farts if you wish it, you nut 😉

      And thank you for this lovely comment. You’ll have to explain to me later why you like ‘soppy bint’ so much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. True friendship shall not be discouraged by the tallest mountains of self truth. So inspiring to read that nothing would change the way you two are, or WHO you are FOR each other. Brilliant.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I honestly can’t imagine a circumstance which WOULD change that. We’re not changing our relationship – he is my Soulie and nothing else matters. And it’s interesting how much this revelation felt like a molehill, though obviously it’s something very fundamental to the makeup of his being…it’s just not relevant to our friendship 🙂 Thank you for your lovely comment.

      Liked by 2 people

  14. What an interesting turn of events, Lizzy. Yet the friendship continues unfettered. I love that it makes no difference to you. I think I would feel the same way. It would take a little getting used to, I’m not going to lie. In the end it’s the person inside as you say the only difference is a pronoun. Great topic and so important to share these stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That was part of the reason I wrote it, Lisa – I think that the higher profile can be given to this kind of circumstance being handled appropriately (which I think I did) then the better it will be for everyone – for the trans community who might begin to feel a little less vulnerable, and to those people who begin to realise they might need to let go of their prejudices a bit.

      I hope so much for a new world where that could happen, and I’ll write my way towards it, if I can.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Well, there ya go. I love how things just clicked when your friend shared his news and how I would love to have a photo of your *agog* face ;). I’m happy for your soulie having finally found some freedom and thrilled for you both having a friendship to treasure. Now I shall go visit the new blog because any friend of yours…..

    Liked by 2 people

    • Awwwh bless your boots Sandy 🙂 He’s a great guy (still feels weird, that…but it won’t – not forever) and I adore him completely. I’m just so relieved that he’s living this now, because to try to keep it in would be so toxic! I hate that people DO live in fear, trapped behind their masks. I hope one day that they won’t feel the need to any more (though I realise that might be a bit of a simplistic and naive wish).

      I shall have to try to selfie my *agog* face for you when I no longer have a mountainous zit! It’s a lot like my ‘duh’ face, only the eyes are less vacant 😉

      Like

  16. And your Soulie is your Soulie whatever the cut of the pants. Because you love the person not the gender, not features, not the hair. The soul. Love this post.

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Oh wow. Just so amazing, really how your friendship hasn’t changed a bit- through time and transition and how I adore that. As you said, it wasn’t a surprise to you at all- that is because you know him/her like no other. I love that there is just so much love between you two!! THAT’S what soulie friendship is all about.

    I would feel exactly the same too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know you would – you are one of the people who I would have betted on being completely unfazed if faced with this kind of situation.

      It’s such a wonderful friendship and apart from being a total idiot if I ever let something as irrelevant as this affect it, I SO VERY benefit from his friendship. Always have. He is so, so important to me and I’d be daft to jettison the relationship, but I know that people do, and I can’t bear it! How can someone throw away something so beautiful and mutually affirming over a non-issue like this? Gah!

      Nothing has changed for us, and I’m glad, and yes, so, SO glad for his friendship – long may we continue to be Soulies 🙂

      Like

  18. Well if that wasn’t a kick in the pants, eh? Wow. Did that just knock your socks off?
    Meanwhile, seriously, your acceptance and understand and just plain old love for your Soulie is clear. Aaaaaaand that’s exactly what the whole Compassion this is about, right? Yeah. Your friend is lucky to have you. Just straight up damn lucky.
    Lighter note, I think it’s often quite true that people who are very much alike, like-minded, and compatible rub each other very wrong at first. Case in point – me and the Hub. Couldn’t stand the guy. I thought he was kind of an ass at first, actually. 😀
    You are a good one and this is exactly the sort of thing that more people should do, no matter what they personally believe or support, being compassionate toward others and the choices they make for themselves is what we should all be doing every. single. day.
    I hope you twitted the shit out of this. Or tweeted. Or whatever the hell it is. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was momentarily astonished and then it just ALL MADE SENSE and I was like “OHHHHHHHH! I GET IT!” It was actually a moment of clarity rather than anything else – like DUH! And I think it was more my relationship with him which made such sudden sense (having marvelled all these years at having maintained such a strong and comfortable relationship with a GIRL, yaknow?).

      I think that Vince and I are lucky to have each other. I have been more blessed by his friendship than nearly every other relationship in my life.

      I certainly know that my dad and I are very similar, and we both know *precisely* how to wind each other up, historically to disastrous effect *sigh* But I’m very glad that you STOPPED thinking the Hub was an ass, and now you see him for the Fab man he is 🙂

      I TRY, yaknow – and it made sense to share this (because I DO blog my life, but also to spread a bit of common sense about this, if I can) and we should always put the person first. That’s the end of it. Compassion is awesome, and just good manners in this kind of case.

      I’m twitting! 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  19. Lizzi, I cannot tell you how touched I am by this post. One of my most beloved friends is transgender and what you said: “That’s all the change – skin-deep and grammar” rings so true.

    I did not know her when she lived her life “cross dressing”, as she puts it, as a man. Her heart, soul and marrow have always been female; it’s just her body that’s a bit late the the party.

    And I will tell you: I have been moved in ways I never thought possible through our friendship and pure love of one another. Truly, knowing her–calling her sister and friend–has been one of the grandest blessings in my 35 years.

    I wish you two all that you have ever had and shared, plus and extra dose of heart and Sight for things to come.

    And thank you, Lizzi, for this post and for all you are. With heart and friendship, Dani

    Liked by 3 people

    • Dani, I’m SO GLAD you shared this with me – it completely reinforces my point; Friendship just IS. And it is GOOD! Unless you’re sleeping with someone, their gender/sexuality is completely irrelevant, surely, and that’s just not an issue with platonic friends…so….

      Adunno Dani, it baffles me that people let this kind of thing bother them, but I’m so happy that you have such a wonderful, deep friendship with the lady you referred to, and I likewise wish you many, many more years of amazing friendship to come.

      Bless your boots, Dani, I do like you a whole lot 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • He has my heart – he is my Soulie…far as I’m concerned there is half a lifetime of best-friendship and this really doesn’t impact that at all. There will be more best-friendship and loveliness. It upsets me that for some people, this would be the END of that relationship because of their ignorance or prejudice. That hurts, and I want to give that attitude a bit of a kick in the butt.

      *hi-fives* THANK YOU 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  20. I think it’s a wonderful thing that transgenders being in the media more (notably Chaz Bono for being so open with his transitioning and becoming a role model for the community) is allowing more people to be who they truly are. I absolutely do not think gender or sexuality makes any difference in a friendship, especially not one like yours with your trans friend. I’m sure he appreciates your acceptance and support more than you know. If only the world was filled with Lizzis…

    Liked by 2 people

    • I just shuddered with horror at the idea of a world filled with ‘me’!!! Would be like the worst part of ‘Being John Malkovitch’…but thank you *grins* STILL, we’re taking one of the better parts of me and joining everyone in, aren’t we (#1000Speak).

      I do think that living as NOT who you really are is such a toxic thing – I’ve experienced that before and it’s awful.

      I’ve heard of Chaz Bono, but no idea who that is…*crawls back under rock*…but I AM glad that being trans is becoming slowly more accepted. Thank God for that!

      I’m glad you think alike, Jen (not that I’d ever have thought otherwise).

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Ignorance is not bliss and I admire and support you and your soulie for showing the world that just because it looks like a square doesn’t mean it’s a box. Best of luck to the both of you.

    Stacey

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much Stacey. You’re absolutely right – ignorance can cause such hurt, whether it’s willful ignorance against the leanings of our own hearts, or malicious ignorance from others…it has no place if a person is going to live in a manner which enables them to be the best THEM they can be.

      I like how you put it – definitely doesn’t mean it’s a box 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        • Cheeky bugger! I hope that lots of people are interested to see how things go with you, and that they’re supportive. Believe me, anyone who comes here in a non-supportive way better leave without sharing their unhelpful opinion or they’ll find their ears boxed!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Ha ha! 😀 Is it wrong that I want to encounter some transphobia next time I’m out and about with you just to see you kick off at them?!

            By the way, you have no idea how good that correct pronoun usage of yours feels. My whole life, the word ‘she’ directed at me has felt like a slap in the face and I haven’t always known why. Likewise the words ‘girl’, ‘woman’ and ‘lady’. Nothing wrong with being female at all, but I’m not one. ‘He’, ‘him’, ‘his’, ‘man’, ‘guy’, even ‘boy’ – it’s like hearing angelsong to have these terms used about me, and I LOVE hearing my proper name used. 🙂 It feels a bit strange still, but GOOD strange. Tis awesome!

            Liked by 1 person

    • We most definitely are. And I’m so glad he told me, and that he’s (and I hate to trot out such a hackneyed phrase, but it *is* the most apt here) living authentically now. That makes a huge difference – I’ve seen in others how horribly wrong it can go when a person tries to exist behind a mask.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Sadly no matter how hard those who are behind those masks try to run from who they are, trying to be the person that others want them to be, in the end they simply must take off their masks.

        Liked by 1 person

  22. You already know how I feel about this beautiful (on so many levels) post. The gentleness and compassion with which you treated your soulie’s story is admirable and I hope an inspiration to others.
    You too really are soul mates. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you so much, Lovely 🙂 I really appreciate your input and support on this one. BIGlots. And I’m glad that it comes across well – I hope it shouts a bit of common sense and compassion into a world which is so often lacking, especially on this issue.

      *mwah* 🙂

      Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

