Lebkuchen Recipe

Ever since I learned that these delicious, German spiced-gingerbread biscuits existed, they’ve been THEE taste of Christmas. Since I learned how to make them, they’ve been quintessential.

They go perfectly with a cup of tea and some Bach.

I made some this week by special request (yes, dear sister, that was you) and since posting a photo of the finished product on Facebook, have been harangued for the recipe (three people *totally* counts as ‘haranguing’, okay?).

SO! To save time and to give EVERYONE the chance to enjoy the deliciousness (cos I’m not precious about my biscuits, and I’d rather you make these and savour them than get all ‘secret recipe’ on yo ass), voici la recette:

Christmas Lebkuchen

For the Lebkuchen spice
2 tblsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground star anise seed

If you are grinding your own spice mix, it’s worth increasing the quantities several times over and then saving the rest in an airtight container to use another day.

For the biscuits

Dry ingredients:
300g Plain white flour
100g Almonds (ground)
2 tblsp Lebkuchen spice
4tblsp Cocoa powder
1tsp Baking powder
1tsp Bicarbonate of soda

Wet ingredients:
250g Honey
85g Butter (unsalted)

~~Step 1~~
Weigh out the dry ingredients into a medium bowl. Put the flour and cocoa powder through a sieve. If you ground your own spices, put the spice mix through a sieve, too.
~~Step 2~~
Melt the wet ingredients in a pan over a low heat until the butter melts and the mixture goes smooth and glossy, then pour it over the dry ingredients and mix well until the dough is combined and fairly stiff. Cover and leave to cool for 30 minutes.
~~Step 3~~
Heat oven to 180°C/355°F (fan 160°C/320°F, gas mark 4).
~~Step 4~~
Add more flour if the dough is still a bit soggy. Shape the dough into about 20 fat golf-ball sized balls. Place on baking trays lined with greaseproof paper or baking paper, leaving room for them to expand. Flatten each one with the palm of your hand to make a round biscuit about 1 cm thick. Bake for 15 minutes until just tinged brown on the edges, then cool on a wire rack.

~~Step 5~~
Enjoy the scent of baking and try not to eat the air – it’s worth waiting until the biscuits are cool and iced.
~~Step 6~~
In a small bowl, mix six heaped tblsps icing (confectioner’s) sugar with a few sploshes of amaretto until you have a smooth, runny consistency. Dip the top of half of the biscuits in the icing and leave to set. Add sprinkles as desired.

~~Step 7~~
Make a cup of tea (or coffee, or hot chocolate) and snuggle down with at least two of your freshly baked biscuits of utter AWESOMENESS. Cook’s perks, yo!

ENJOY!

 

 

57 thoughts on “Lebkuchen Recipe

  1. Pingback: Jingle Bells In The Distance. - The Whimsy Art of TJ LubranoThe Whimsy Art of TJ Lubrano

  2. Pingback: A Few New Holiday Treats. - The Whimsy Art of TJ LubranoThe Whimsy Art of TJ Lubrano

    • It’s cos I’m gangster, but also delightfully sophisticated. Orrrrr completely pretentious on both counts and happy to send myself up a bit 😀

      I made these again last night and I’m not sure WHAT I did differently (perhaps something to do with ‘eyeballing’ the amounts rather than weighing them quite right) but my dough ended up coming undone and went all crumbly after the 30 mins rest, so I bound it all back together with an egg, and it WORKED! I know this has no relevance to your reply but I feel pretty good about having been able to figure that out and rescue my biscuits.

      This weekend will smell nice – first weekend of Advent and I need to grind more spice mix. That’s going to be lovely 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • The great thing is that these are super, super easy. I did have another recipe which I used for a couple of years, and though the cookies were squishier, the recipe was much more complex. This was honestly one of THE simplest things I’ve made. And the least messy.

      I think the thing which takes the most time is grinding the spices, but that smells so good it’s rather delightful.

      I hope you try these. They’re amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ohmygoodness they look amazing!!!!!! I noticed that they have some cocoa in them too…how interesting! Are they chocolatey AND gingerbread-y? 😮

    And have you ever tried cookie butter? It has the consistency and appearance of peanut butter but it’s made from speculoos cookies and it’s heavenly. I bet it would be amazing on these cookies!!!

    Thanks for sharing…this is making me excited for Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think cookie butter is something we have here. That sounds fascinating and definitely calorific. Is it like frosting?

      These are so, SO very good. I am ashamed to say that an enormous evening of gluttony took place, and let’s just say I am ALL CHRISTMASSY NOW! And yes – they’re chocolatey AND gingerbready AND spicy lovely, AND perfect.

      I hope you get to try them – they’re so so so so so good.

      Like

  4. Yum. These look fantastic. Anything gingerbread flavoured! I was thinking of making fruit cake this weekend but I’ll make these as well. I know it’s early but I put the Christmas tree up today. I didn’t put it up last year so I’m making up for lost time.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are where the magic happens...

