A Very Jessica Halloween

Jessica

One Halloween I heard a tale

Which gave me shivers down my spine

I tried to forget – to no avail

The story became part of mine

 

For as I heard the gruesome words

Of how this creature came to be

This Jessica, of whom I heard

Began then, to appear to me

 

First from corners of my eyes

Quick flicks of shadow lurking there

Skin crept; she watched me, I surmised

I never used to easily scare

 

But how could I, now knowing this,

Not worry about what’s begun

For I heard with one bewitching kiss

She made someone cut out their tongue

 

How could I not be terrified

For she writes stories in her own blood

In nightmare darkness, likes to hide

Plays melodies to your heart’s thud

 

Which whip you into such a craze

You cannot help but take a fright

She’ll haunt your memories for days

And show up in your dreams at night

 

With black-hole eyes and husky voice

Her scrawny figure pale and scarred

Her violent presence leaves no choice

She’ll possess you; no holds barred

 

For now, if Jessica’s yet unknown

Don’t be tempted to go and look

She’s trying to make the world her own

By sharing her tale in her very own book…

 

WHICH IS BEING RELEASED TOMORROW!!!

Okay, ten points if you realised that in addition to participating in some VERY cool blog hops (Finish the Sentence Friday; OctPoWriMo; 31 Days of Horror) this is a bit of a shameless plug for the Jessica book, which I HELPED TO WRITE!

The Brainchild of Helena Hann-Basquiat, the story of Jessica has been released through the past week, culminating with the finale today (as befits Halloween), and as of TOMORROW, you will be able to buy the book, which contains secret, as-yet-unpublished material. And to celebrate, I’m hosting a little giveaway.

There’s a poem I wrote not long ago, about Jessica, over on the Well Tempered Bards. I wrote it For Real, and there’s an unsubstantiated rumour that it *might* have made it into the book. SO, I’m giving the original away, because that’s a FABULOUS piece of memorabilia for this project, and hey, whoever gets it can one day say they “knew me way back when…” SO – my terms: anyone who reviews the book and posts it on either Amazon or Goodreads, or shares it on their blog, goes into the draw, and in a week, I’ll pick the winner and announce them in the Ten Things of Thankful hop.

BOOM! You get an *awesome* creepy-as-fuck book, AND the chance to win some hand-written, original, Considerer/Jessica loot – what could be better? HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

00OctPoWriMo

46 thoughts on “A Very Jessica Halloween

  1. Pingback: FINAL 31 DAYS OF HORROR LINKUP | hastywords

  2. Ahhhhhh
    Saturday night, the house is quiet, and I can get caught up on my blog reading. I have a yummy plate of fruit and cheese, a cup of tea, and
    “Plays melodies to your heart’s thud.” That. Yes.

    Congratulations on the book! Tonight, I get to read ALL THE JESSICA!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds GORGEOUS. And I’m so glad I got to see this and reply just before I fall off my perch and into bed. I’ve come over all tired and sleepy and am going to take advantage and snuggle down before I push through it and stay awake til ridiculous’o’clock. Let me know what you think of Jessica. I hope you like it πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I figured I might as well do my best to keep up with the ‘Muricans, yaknow?

      And thank you πŸ™‚ The book is VERY exciting stuff πŸ™‚ Hope you had a good Halloween.

      Like

    • *sneaky eyes* You could always buy the book and review it and then I’ll sign it for ya when I come over πŸ˜‰ :p

      It’s SO creepy-awesome, and perfect for Halloween.

      And yes – I hope very much that you will know me for all that time and beyond. Or instead, if it never happens πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Yes – if you click the first picture, with Jessica on it, you’ll go to Helena Hann-Basquiat’s blog, where the eight parts of the story are published, and news about the book release and additional material πŸ™‚

      I’m glad you’re interested – that’s awesome. Let me know what you think once you’ve read more πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. OK, so I am a bit of a dunce! I of course knew all about Jessica week and have been totally creeped out (as you’re aware) but I didn’t realize it was going to end in a book! Helena mentioned it and I was like “What book?” My head has been other places and only half engaged this week… Anyways, what you guys have pulled off is amazing! I’m so excited it’s going to be a book and that you’re a part of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehehe YES! A book! A real, true, actual IN FACT book. With extra bits which weren’t on Helena’s blog, and just…SO much awesomeness. I hope it goes down as well as the story has.

      You’re not a dunce – just busy πŸ™‚ And thank you for your excitement. Nearly all the credit for this goes to Helena – she’s pulled off an INCREDIBLE feat to make this happen.

      Like

  4. my favorite line? not that you asked but still….
    “Plays melodies to your heart’s thud”

    congrats on your release! I cant finish reading it please forgive me… too violent … makes me feel all icky so I guess that means it works!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. EEEP I’m so glad you linked that creepy and intriguing and awesome JESSICA to this hop and well, ok so to be entered, I need to enter the poem into the review tomorrow??? EEEP I’m so soso so SO excited for you my lovely awesome one! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • 31 days of horror is a poetry hop. To win my poem, you review the Jessica book and post it on Amazon, after Nov 1st, when it’s available to buy πŸ™‚

      And thanks for being cool with me entering your hop – I miss ol’ FTSF but I’ve not been able to make it recently, and I SO want to come back to it. Might even get me to be a bit more prepared in advance πŸ™‚

      And THANK YOU so much for all your support and…oh, look at the both of us – you’re going viral all over the place, I’m in a book…I reckon we’re doing alright, aren’t we? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. First! Or Frist! or whatever you say…

    What a creepy and awesome poem, Lizzi. I’ve heard much of this Jessica project, and I hope to check it out this weekend. Yay you for being in the book. I’m holding onto all the glitter you sent me so I can one day say I have glitter that was once touched by the fabulous and talented writer Lizzi. And I won’t sell it for any amount of money!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heheh FRIST, it is! Congrats. I like that you got frist on this πŸ˜€

      The Jessica project is SO MUCH FUN and a wonderful, incredible collaborative story. VERY Halloweeny. And YAY! (btw, I wrote my part of the story with your Tigger smiling down at me from my mantelpiece – he lives there now, and I smile when I seem him cos it reminds me of you) πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

