How to beat WordPress at Poetry

Well, dear WordPress, I’ve just discovered a tiny thing which made me a little bit lot kinda MAD, and which reminded me that Blogger *could* do this, and HEY, what’s up with THAT?!?!

The function I’m talking about is the ability to play with text. Like embiggen and smallenify different words and move them around on the page. Because sometimes a poem needs that, and in spite of the amazing things my pal TwinDaddy can do with his layouts, I wanted MORE! Because I’m stupid at WordPress and can’t begin to hope I could format things as cleverly as he can, I turned to that other wonder of the adjuncted world of blogging – PicMonkey. (and no – I’m not being paid to promote the site – I just like it *that* much)

Play with words

All I can say is, it worked GREAT, even though it took a while to figure out hours, quite literally, to get it how I wanted it.

The poem was inspired by a line from a play toldΒ  to me by Samara the other day (the line – not the whole play) but also by conversations with Hasty, so I think it’s kind of for the three of us. I would normally pop this over at the Well Tempered Bards, but I’ve got a duet going there with Serins, and this poem is too pretty to keep for long, so I’m setting it free. Or something.

Happy Friday, Lovelies x

Never Taken for Granted

Β 

55 thoughts on “How to beat WordPress at Poetry

  1. Pingback: Ten Things of Thankful #63 | Finding Twindaddy

  2. Pingback: Ten Things of Thankful #63 | TD421

      • Oh, I did see it. And you’re wanting to take down that asshole doesn’t mean that you aren’t still everything I just said. I would have wanted to take him out too. But I freeze in those situations. I am so shocked by things like that, that by the time I feel like I can respond it’s usually too late. But in my mind I’m a complete bad ass who can take down a 300 pound man with one hand. Ha!

        Liked by 1 person

        • In my mind I wanted to be doing that boxing-ring bit at the beginning of the Sherlock Holmes movie where Robert Downey Jr DECKS that other guy, and then several more…

          But thanks then, for thinking so highly of me even when I’m all RAAAAAAAHHHHh!

          Like

  3. Pingback: The Weekend ~ Full Circle, Chinese Whispers and Goodbyes | DCTdesigns Creative Canvas

  4. First I will say that you did indeed beat the WP powers that be and did a crazy fine job at it. I love Picmonkey and could play with it for hours. You did well here. But the real grab is the words. The words. I think this is by far my favorite so far. I love this so, so, so much. I cannot even begin to tell you. I’m actually babbling because I have not a coherent thought worthy of expressing how much I love these words. Well done, you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohhh I’m glad you like it so much πŸ˜€ *beaming (at work, in the office, to the consternation of co-workers)* Aaaaand…added bonus with this way of beating WP – it’s Pinnable! #win

      Yay poetry πŸ™‚ Thank you, DA x

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the kind compliment πŸ™‚

      Yes…PicMonkey is super fun but I’ve mostly used it for photographs up ’til now…using it for poetry was rather exciting and (for me) a new way of utilising the resource.

      Like

  5. That. Was. Really. Cool. I think you may have done a BIT too much — I got a bit distracted by the italic asides — but it’s a fantastic idea, a really good poem, and certainly a terrific first effort with this tool. Look forward to seeing more of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The italic asides…were meant to be slightly less aside, but I cropped it too short and got to the end of the image before I got to the end of the poem, and had to re-jig everything (hence some of the HOURS spent on this…ow!) But thank you πŸ™‚ it was fun to create in this way.

      Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

