Two years in the ‘sphere

If I was the nervous type, my palms would be sweating.

On this day two years ago, I first created a blog – Considerings – and began to write. I don’t know what it is about the marking of that anniversary, but I feel the need to justify this place. I’ve even been looking up Wiki-How To Write A Self-Evaluation, with some idea of giving space to the voices in the corners of my mind which question “What have you actually *achieved*?”, “WHY do you write?”, “How are you going to improve upon your failings and do better next year?” and the utterly terrifying “Where is this all going?”.

Meant to be a point

Those things made me feel bad in my insides – they made me feel as though there were objective standards for blogging (which I almost certainly wouldn’t live up to), milestones each blogger *should* achieve by a certain point in their existence (ditto), or an underlying *point* to the whole endeavour; a cause upon which to hang your hat and a banner under which to continue to write (I don’t have that, either – no niches here!) – so I decided to do what I think I do best: scrap the plans, fly in the face of reason, and do things my way, without any structure at all.

Because I think what I want to do, in a manner quite unfettered by justification, is celebrate:

Two years of writing, sometimes intensively, sometimes sporadically.

104 weeks of output, covering the mundane to the profound to the ridiculous to the heartbreaking.

730 days of having been a part of this Blogosphere, contributing poetry, fiction, personal essays, considerings and a damn good blog-hop.

572 posts encapsulating my life, my thoughts and my feelings as they happened.

Yay me, right?

Well, kind of.

In that time, my life has changed drastically.

With regard to the Blogosphere, I’ve gone from a complete nobody to – well, if not a ‘Somebody’, then certainly *somebody* to some other bloggers…if that makes any sense. I went from blogging with a view to developing my writing skills, to engaging intentionally with an idea of building a community around me.

I’ve grown my blog from somewhere a few new people visited alongside a number of regulars, to a place with staunch regulars and a thriving blog-hop each weekend, where new people seem to turn up all the time – particularly now I’ve moved from Blogger to WordPress – and just join in.

I’ve become a functioning part of three communities I adore – the Ten Things of Thankful, The SisterWives, and the Bloppy Bloggers.

In real life, I’ve gone from a bewildered, floundering new wife with somany expectations of life and marriage, to a slightly-less-bewildered, oft-floundering not-so-new wife, dealing with two miscarriages, infertility, a chronically sick spouse, various instances of depression, the shattering of all the expectations (and hopes) and an attendant slew of personal demons.

Yay me, right?

Well kind of.

Even there, I’ve had fun, I’ve written stories, I’ve sought (and received) encouragement and solidarity, I’ve entertained, I’ve educated, I’ve made strong connections and deep friendships, and I’m still here to tell the (many, many) tales.

So what am I celebrating, exactly?

The sheer existence of this place? Definitely. But more than that, it’s the people, for the unique thing about the Blogosphere is that here, there is life, lived in almost entirely an emotional landscape. Souls, fears, joys, failures and triumphs are all unveiled for others to see in such an intimate manner as would never occur between strangers in Real Life, yet here somehow, we have a free pass to share openly, honestly, with a view to building relationships (or increasing statistics, but that’s never been my game, nor will it be) and finding encouragement, acknowledgement and connection – that thing we all need most, in the end.

Emotional Landscape 2And oh, the PEOPLE! The wonderous, gorgeous, incredible people I have encountered through this blogging thing. They LIVE, and oh, my goodness, do they WRITE.

They support and encourage, they listen to crises and help make things better, they show how it SHOULD be done and give hope, they turn up out of the blue and stay forever, they bring glorious sunshine, they understand and they entertain in the most beautiful of ways. They dabble, but become important, they become partners in crime, they inspire with incredible thoughts, they try to change the world. They create wonderful things and teach me, they befriend and delight, they untangle life, they make me laugh, they give fresh perspective, they strive to overcome obstacles, they bring mystery and glamour, they take you by surprise, they share my burdens, they demonstrate incredible tenacity, they become more than onscreen presences, they are with me in quiet moments, they are ‘behind the scenes’, they try to help me become a better person. And occasionally, if you’re really lucky, they agree to BlogMarry you

Yay me, right?

Well absolutely, completely and utterly YES!

There are so, so many of them – more than I could describe – and I am constantly delighted to make new connections every week, with people who begin to matter to me; whose lives somehow show parallels or cross paths with my own trajectories; who become meaningful and whose presence in my life, even through the screen and in whatever capacity, is important.

This, more than anything, is why I’m celebrating.

The writing here has been fun, and sometimes important, and it will continue, but the thing which has mattered most – and will continue to matter most – is you. You, who read this and stop to make a connection. You, whose life became tangled somehow with my own, and we both stopped, took stock, and were pleased. You, who have become far more than just ‘other bloggers’ to me.

You, whom I call friends.

And really, at that point, I feel like the past two years of writing have been all-the-way-to-the-top worthwhile.

It’s been a blast. It’s been FILLED with *twinklysparklyhappygoodness*. It will continue to be so. And I shall continue to enjoy it thoroughly for the words, but more so for the people.

THANK YOU!

[I believe it’s customary to do some kind of incredible giveaway, both as a chance to say ‘thank you’ to the people who read you regularly enough to catch a post like this, and also to hook in new readers and make them think you’re fabulous and worth adding to their reading list. Seeing as three of my favourite bloggers and long-time readers only just followed me this week, I set precisely no store by that logic, so I will leave you all of a video of me goofing around at the weekend. You’re welcome.]

106 thoughts on “Two years in the ‘sphere

  1. Pingback: Britain’s Got Talent…Too | Brother Jon's Page

  2. Happy 2 years of spreading your completely awesome positivity and goodness and beautiful writing! I am so so so very glad I’ve met you here and had the chance to get to know you better! I see your blog posts and they make me smile (except for the ones that make me cry). I see your picture and your posts on FB and they make me smile. I watched this video of you and I was grinning from ear to ear and laughing. You bring light to everything you do and touch. And here’s to year number 3! Good things in store for you, my sweet Lizzi!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s such a wonderful message, Gretchen – thank you so much πŸ™‚ I’m blown away that you’re that impacted, because…well, I don’t often stop to consider it, really. I have so little effect on myself sometimes that I’m often very dismissive of how I can affect others…so truly, thank you πŸ™‚ I’m glad I make you smile (sorry about the crying though!) – knowing that made ME smile πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed the goofy vid as well. HERE’S TO YEAR THREE πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Pingback: Ten Things of Thankful #63 | Considerings

  4. Happy two years Lizzi! You’ve come a long way, Baby! You are a force in the sphere we are so glad you’re here. Keep on writing, keep on inspiring and keep on sharing your remarkable talent. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw thanks Linda – I’m glad to still be here, and to know so many wonderful people and to have made so many friends – there is such fun to be had in this ol’ Blogosphere. I hope I stay for a long, long time πŸ™‚ Thank you for saying such lovely things πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. …oh yeah! Thnak you for not hanging up on me (at least not on purpose) for that first vid chat… (who says that this online place is simply adolescence gone virtual).
    I will be forever grateful that I had the Doctrine that let me see in you the friend that have become. You are a power of example for clarks everywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad of it too. And for your example and advice – perhaps above all others, you have helped me to understand myself, and to get along in spite of it πŸ™‚ It is an honour to be called downspring, and I am forever grateful for your support, your teaching, your guidance, and yes – your friendship.

      Not to mention all the vidchats and silly goofiness we’re so good at (in a totally understated and absolutely comprehensible way).

      Like

  6. Eightieth! Congratulations on your blogiversary! You’ve done amazing things in two years. And thank you for the shout out. I love being friends with you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know you can do the same identical hearts here, as on Facebook, my Dyannedellion?? < + 3 = ❀

      THEY DO TOO WORK!

      I think the past two years have been incredible – a real rollercoaster of stuff, but most of the 'ups' have to do with the amazing people I've met. THANK YOU for being one of them. I love being friends with you, too πŸ™‚ And of course, I get to be a potato farmer around you πŸ˜‰

      Like

  7. Damn! 76! I guess that makes me 77 and that is a good number (as in 7+7 is 14 and that’s my favorite, and I was born in 77). This is about your numbers though, 2. That’s a big deal lady. 2 years of you in the community of bloggers. 2 years of your perfectly imperfect glitter, pain, sadness, joy and change. Such a beautiful butterfly. Can’t wait to see where you are in 2 more years, heck, 2 hours. You’re that fablastic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well yeah, except now it’s 78, because my reply to Allie boosted you up one, and now it’s all outta whack, but STILL, even if you consider that half of these responses are mine, and subtract ten or so for conversation, that’s an interaction level of about thirty bloggers or so, and maybe 31, which is *my* age, and DAMNIT DIDN’T I JUST TELL YOU I DON’T LIKE MATHS! πŸ˜‰

      Two years of community is brilliant. Two years of friends is brilliant. Two years of imperfect, definitely, because it’s what I do best, but I know I can manage the glittery bits when I really try, and it’s all On Purpose and important and even if all it led to was THIS, then it was worthwhile and has been wonderful.

      TWO HOURS?! Where will I be then? Hopefully the other side of grocery shopping and tea-time. Two years and I will have been to ‘murica…who knows – maybe I will have even entertained a few more bloggers who visit my side of the pond.

      And I may or may not have a *tiny* germ of a post for my next Tales from the Van…but I dunno, because I would need to expand it rather a lot. It’s not a tale so much as a…snippet. And Snippets from the Van, expanded into my own thoughts, isn’t quite the same…whaddya think?

      Like

  8. Congratulations on two years! I can’t believe you were able to write this post so quickly. It sound like it’s been a wonderful journey full of friends and milestones! Since I am “new” to Considerings, forgive the question – but where do you live? Also, I totally agree about the giveaway’s. Most of mine have been flops!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I live in England, down on the south coast πŸ™‚

      This wasn’t QUICK! This took a coupla hours, what with all the links and meanderings of my thoughts πŸ™‚ I still managed to screw it up and had to edit it a few times today πŸ˜‰

      It’s been a gorgeous journey, and the friends have very much mitigated some of the other milestones….

      Giveaways, I have found, tend to be received WORSE here when I announce them, and seem to be more seized upon when I suddenly introduce one halfway through the post, without warning, as a surprise.

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I’m glad you popped over πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Happy two years, you! What an incredible journey and you are doing good good things here in the sphere! I absolutely adore your video and it looks like a truly happy fabulous day with sunshine and song and ice cream! (My husband is addicted to Pepsi Max and would be truly jealous over the photo bottle)
    Thank you so much for including me in your post – I am so happyhappy to have met you and know that you will continue writing and making a difference and making goodgood things happen here and everywhere you visit.
    Absolutely YAY YOU! Seriously big YAY YOU!! You’re amazing. xxoo

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m giggling at all the gigantic hunormic ‘YAY’s you just did πŸ˜€

      I don’t *feel* like I’m making much difference – not as a lone person, but stick me in a collective and I’m golden – big things have happened and are still happening, and it’s wonderful.

      And of COURSE I would include you – you belong here! In fact, I think you might be the only person who’s had TWO posts entirelyprettymuch dedicated to her. THREE if you count that hilarious one I did for the A-Z challenge πŸ˜€ Ohhh we’ve had some laughs, haven’t we? And some wonderful moments, and you’re such a very lovely, amazing, brilliant, sensible, sometimes-but-just-the-right-amount challenging, caring friend. You definitely belong there.

      Secret about the Pepsi Max – it was all a big gimmick, done because the pepsi all runs out of its sell-by date at the end of this month πŸ˜‰ VERY clever way of getting some hype and free advertising and palming off a load of unsaleable stock. You gotta hand it to them…that’s good marketing.

      It was a FABULOUS day. I’m glad you liked seeing it πŸ˜€

      Like

  10. Now I’ve just watched the video.
    It made me so happy. But the best part is, video really captures your beauty in a way that pictures do not.
    You have a quality, a charisma, a sparkly something that doesn’t translate well in photos. But it does in video. You shine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ackkk I know – I take a terrible, terrible picture. I can only hope that whatever you see in the videos is also the case in real life, too…because I *hate* to think that whatever it is that I am in still images, is how I’m seen IRL. It’s rather like listening to a bad tape-recording of your own voice and wondering, appalled, if that’s what everyone else hears when you speak…

      I’m glad it made you happy, and thank you for thinking I translate well on video πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Happy blogoversary (or however that word should be spelled)! Such a sweet, generous, gratitude-filled post. I’m so happy to have found you and this blog through the TToT blog hop — keep it coming! I can’t wait to read what the next two years have in store for you. πŸ™‚

    ps. Am thrilled that you linked to all those other fabulous blogs in one place, too – one-stop shopping for more great reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OHHH GOODY! Yes! Do go and visit my friends – you won’t be disappointed – there are enough flavours for all (as it were) and they are all utterly wonderful in their own ways.

      Wow…the next two years! What a thought! I’m glad you found the TToT as well, and made your way here πŸ™‚ I am happy that you are part of my collective of communities, and thank you for the happy blogaversary wishes πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. Oh LOOOOOOOVE this celebration and anniversary post!!!! Oh Lizzi- you YOU!! Look how far you’ve come… and you quite possibly are the BEST evidence for the ol’ adage- “You only get out of it, what you put into it”

    You are SO loved. SO unique. SO beautiful. SO gifted. SO giving. SO insightful. SO thoughtful. SO hilarious. SO wise. SO talented. SO remarkably you.

    Happy 2nd blog-birthday lovely Lizzi.

    Liked by 1 person

    • SO goofy πŸ™‚ But I won’t counter your SO’s with ones of my own. I’ll let them lie, for today, because I know that you mean them, and I’m thankful for that, Kitty ❀

      And YES – I feel like from the offset, as soon as I realised there was community to be had, I HAD to grab it with both hands. It was (and I know this sounds a bit cold) a very calculated decision to try to generate as much conversation and to be as receptive and warm as I have been, because there are people I've met here who I have truly, truly needed, Definitely. Were it not for some of these….I shudder to think. And you amongst them, my wonderful, encouraging Lifeboat friend – my Kitty – my wonderful, incredible, awesome YOU. Of all the people, I think I have learned most about how to build positive relationships from you, because you are so determined to not only see the good, but SHOUT it, and you speak from the heart, unabashedly, without fear, and people (and I) love you for it.

      THANK YOU ❀

      Like

  13. Oh my garsh! I am going to start with the blog. So glad that you started two years ago. So glad that you met Beth and married her and that she introduced me to you. So glad that you finally got pass the name of my blog and came to visit. But more than anything, I’m so glad to be your Squishy and so glad that you have entered a little spot in my heart that will forever be occupied by stars. You really do make the blogging world better, and even when I’m absent here in the sphere, know you’re never far from my thoughts.

    Vlog: Ohmicutenessoverload. First of all, I want to come and spend a day with you and your friend in South Hampton. I watched all 14 minutes and 18 seconds of that vlog. I thought at first it was the Lion song you mentioned singing, and then I thought it was the one where you were quietly singing to yourself but then realized you were on camera, so you adorably giggled. But then, you said, “Squishy.” I can’t lie and say that my ears didn’t perk up a bit. And then you sang…it really is a great song, and the sunshine looks beautiful on you, my dear. The ice cream, the bum/arse grabbing, the laughter, the sunshine, the beautiful scenery….while all of those were so cute and entertaining, the true light in the video was you. I wasn’t wrong. You are a sky full of stars, even sunshine. And I am so glad you are here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had such goofy fun making that vid. I didn’t think I was going to, and then I kinda warmed up to it as the day went on. Thank goodness I did. Now I need to go back and figure out which lion song I was singing! I think out there, tucked around the corner of the gelato shop, in the sunshine, relaxing and watching the world go by, it was a singing-y kind of moment, and he’s been trying for YEARS to catch me singing. And then once he had, I figured I’d sing a sunshiney song, which made me think immediately of you… πŸ™‚

      And YES you should come to Southampton and spend the day. It’s not all that special, but if you were here it would be magical πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad, too, for all of this – for the blog, for Beth, for you, for happenstance and serendipity…and it wasn’t the name of your blog, funny – it was cos I knew that you knew Beth IRL and I thought that was kinda weird to be friends with you both…(dunno *why* I thought that – it worked out fine… (actually I do know, but I’m not gonna say here :p – but it still worked out fine)).

      ANYWAY! I’m pleased and happy and *twinklysparkly* in the middle about your lovely comment and I’m glad you liked the song and that you don’t mind the goofiness πŸ™‚ You have a special place in my heart too, and it’s painted with music (makes sense in my head). πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Did I show you my ankles though? I can’t remember – but look – they’re there on a tree, if you care to peruse πŸ˜‰ You’re welcome. And HEY – who else would send me pics of Glennon AND name-drop me to her? I am STILL so happy about that. Ridiculously so, in fact. ONLY YOU, my lovely friend, woulda thunk of it πŸ˜€

      Like

  14. Lizzi, my dear friend, you are one of the kindest, gentlest, most caring, and most fabulous people I’ve met through the ‘sphere. You always know the right thing to say when I’m venting my shit, and you’re incredibly fun to just be goofy with.

    Despite your protestations, I consider you to be an amazing friend, and I hope we remain so for a very long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohhhh this made me smile right the way through from my face to my heart πŸ˜€ Today I feel on top of the world and very much as though being here, at this blog, in this way, has been a ‘right place, right time, right people’ kind of thing. Fer sher.

      And I think YOU are an amazing friend, and yes – let’s be for a long, long, long time. You matter a lot to me, and I can say all of those things right back to you, I might add πŸ™‚ Thank you for being my friend, TD, and for being such a wonderful one. You are a stand-up chap, and no mistake πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Blogger had a reader too, in fact (dare I say it out loud?) it was marginally more straightforward than the WP one. BUT everything else on WP is so many MILES ahead of everything else on Blogger, that I really don’t mind πŸ™‚

      HUZZAH! πŸ˜€ And thank you πŸ˜€

      Like

      • The WP Reader tries my patience a LOT, but at least it’s just one place to go. When I found bloggers I liked on other platforms it made my head explode having to figure out how to follow them in a way that didn’t assault my over-stuffed inbox. Bloglovin has been a great tool to help consolidate those other platforms though. Cheers.

        Liked by 1 person

  15. My Sparkly Lizzie!! Hooray for two years of sharing your words, making friends and spreading glitter EVERYWHERE! πŸ˜€ I have to join with several others and say that I thought it was longer than two years! I’m very happy that we got to meet on Deanna’s post. Here’s to many, many more sparkly years of twirling words and lots and lots of sparkles! Xxx ^_^

    Oh and I love the video!

    Liked by 1 person

    • BWAHA! I’m glad you like it, Apfel – I think it’s incredibly silly (which makes it verymuchincredibly ME!) and I had fun making it with my friend πŸ™‚

      Here’s to many more years indeed! And now I’m going to have to ask – what made you think I’d been around the place longer?

      I’m SO GLAD I met you over at Deanna’s – I ADORE the networking which happens here (especially on WP) and that we get on so well, and have lovely sparklyglitterydances all over the place, and such FUN πŸ˜€ Here’s to many, many more years INDEED πŸ˜€

      *throws glitter*

      *dances in it, quite happily*

      Liked by 1 person

      • Whoops! I was doing a happy dance in the glitter after I read your comment and then…I probably twirld away a bit too far and forgot to reply. ^_^ So imagine my horror when I just checked the comments again and I saw no reply from me! My apologies, Lovely Sparkle.

        As for your question, not sure why I thought it. Your words felt alive. It gave me the feeling that writing was completely natural to you and you didn’t have to e.g. impress someone or attract a certain audience. I’ve read blogs from people who just started out and you could sense that they were just searching for an outlet or a way to keep themselves busy. You know, people who just “hop on the blogging trend” without knowing what they want in the end. πŸ™‚

        HOORAY for sparklyglitterydances!!! πŸ˜€ I love them!!

        Hope you’re weekend is going well.

        Xxxx *throws sparkles in the sunlight and watches how they illuminate Lizzi’s hair*

        Ps.: Don’t ask me whyyyy I added an “e” to your name in my first comment…

        Liked by 1 person

        • LOL! I won’t ask πŸ˜‰ I tend to gloss over an added ‘e’ – it’s when it gets changed completely to a ‘y’ that I begin to raise a bit of an eyebrow πŸ™‚

          *dances in sparkles, all lit up with fairy-light-like glitter* BEAUTIFUL! A bit like Groot – did you see that film yet? I just caught it on Friday, and the bit where he lights up the cave with sparkles is so incredible…

          And cool! I’m glad I asked, and thank you πŸ™‚ I’ve never really attempted to impress anyone (well, okay, that’s not *strictly true – there are a number of pieces I’ve written with specific people in mind, and I’ve crafted them really carefully so that they’ll be enjoyed, but it’s more about that person’s experience, rather than them being impressed, per se) and I have stayed WELL CLEAR of niches (mainly because I don’t think I would fit any of them) so I have no agenda, as it were, to stick to. And there’s no point trying to be anything but myself – wordy, a bit given to talking over at the edges and using intense description at every possible opportunity πŸ™‚

          You have no need to apologise, my dear Apfel – none at all, but isn’t it nice to have a conversation? πŸ™‚ I like that about blogging – it’s why I say that the comment box is where the magic happens.

          Like

    • You’re awesome. I am but a tiny cog in a great big community, but I love being part of the whole πŸ™‚ And I’m GLAD to have you in this post, my Precious. I can’t tell you how many heaps and heaps and heaps you mean to me, but a whole lotta heaps. Promise πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. You delight and inspire Dear Lizzi. I found you at the Bloppies which I found through J.DeNeen on Twitter. It is a strange world this blogosphere we move around in and yet it is filled with the most intriguing people. I can hardly keep up with all the outstanding writers and blogs. Happy anniversary, Dear Lizzi.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Pattie πŸ™‚ I’m glad you found Bloppies, and I’m glad you found me, and I LOVE that you’re part of the TToT now – from rather a hesitant start, it’s been great to see your confidence in yourself to find those Ten just absolutely explode.

      Yes – the Blogosphere is very much filled with fascinating people πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Bloppies is the greatest – I have to say, I’ve been in other blogging groups on FB and I’ve not found another one with the same levels of responsiveness and warmth πŸ™‚

      And thank you (and yes – WAY a lot – I sometimes think I write TOO much!)

      Like

  17. “Well absolutely, completely and utterly YES!”

    That phrase encompasses so much–how I feel and what emulates from you in this post and how you write. I can’t believe I’m just now finding you and I can’t wait to read more and get to know you better. From my vantage point, I already know that YOU ROCK!!! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re very generous – thank you. But remember (I tell this to everyone) – I’m very highly edited. That said, I’m dead excited that you’re here and you want to keep coming back, because, well…you have rather the reputation for being fabulous, and from what I’ve read so far, I can only agree wholeheartedly.

      I write how I talk, mostly….actually, I write how I talk in my head. Sometimes that gets lost in translation in real life, I’ll admit πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Okay, so I loved your comment on “highly edited.”
        Me, too! In fact, that really used to bother me until I read more about the writing process and how editing is all part of being a great writer. Ann Lamott sealed it for me in her book, “Bird by Bird.” To paraphrase, she said that you have to be willing to write a sh&*tty first draft. Once the first draft is written, you can sort through and find what you’re really trying to say. It was a comfort to me to know that editing is necessary and often where I discover what I’m really trying to say.
        I also really like how you write like you would talk. I’m sure that’s one of the many reasons I’m drawn to you. You’ve been great in this space for as long as you have because I’m sure many others feel the same. Much love your direction today! xo

        Liked by 1 person

        • Merci beaucoup πŸ™‚

          And as to editing – I edit very little in terms of writing – it’s usually stupid typos and things like that, but *I* myself, on this blog, am highly edited. I only let the bits of me show that I’m prepared to, and I sometimes wonder what it would be like to unleash the whole of me here, but then I take a good hard look at myself and think “NoWay!”

          Perhaps *I* am at the shitty first-draft stage. I have til 41 to make it better. That’s a cool thought πŸ˜€ I really, really like that. THANK YOU πŸ™‚

          Like

          • Doh! Silly girl πŸ™‚ This is what happens when I start to talk about things I only know a little bit about–writing and life!
            I do know what you mean about editing the self. I’m getting better at being “seen” unfiltered, but I still have the tendency to hide behind pretty words. It took me 47 years to get here and hope there’s another 47 in there to get it right.
            BTW: I’m quite fond of your first draft πŸ˜‰

            Liked by 1 person

            • It’s not so much that I mind being ‘seen’ unfiltered, only I’m hyper-aware that most people don’t see that, and accordingly, their impression is probably rather skewed in my favour.

              Lucky me, right? πŸ™‚

              I hide behind pretty words, definitely – I think we all do sometimes, and that’s fine. We *are* writers, after all.

              I’m hoping that 41 will be ‘my’ year. I have 10 years to get sorted. But thanks for liking the first draft πŸ™‚

              (I *hate* that suddenly-out-of-your-depth-on-the-wrong-tack feeling – I get that a lot. I tend to run away. Kudos to you for coming back πŸ™‚ )

              Liked by 1 person

  18. Awww you…I cannot believe that you have only blogged for two years! You are one of my favourites (and a huge inspiration to take my writing to a new level.)
    I’d dance for you but I’m not wearing a bra and we all know how that goes.
    Wait…
    …I don’t…
    …because I don’t have boobs.
    Will you settle for a hand clap?
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hand clap, boobie dance – whatevs…I’m pretty open to whatever you’re offering πŸ˜€ Glad we got to chat earlier – that was fun and made my day brighter πŸ™‚

      As for inspiration…well I’m glad, but you hardly need it, Mizz LTYM Rockstar πŸ™‚ I’m just HUGELY glad to know you, and to be witness to your indomitable spirit, your openness and your determination to never give in πŸ™‚ That, to me, is HUGELY inspirational.

      Like

  19. Yay you, indeed. I’m honored to be included in the list of friends you’ve made over the last two years. You are one of the best parts of blogging for me, and I’m thankful to have you in my life. I may just join your hop this weekend in honor of your anniversary, but even if I don’t just know that I am hugely thankful for you, your words, and your glittery sparkly heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honoured? Pfft! You belong up there, because I chose you to be there, Dana. I’m so very glad to know you, and to be your friend, and you don’t have to join the hop this weekend if you don’t want to (but *SQUEEEEE!!!* if you do…) because I know your reasons, and they’re FINE, mkay? I am just very pleased to know you, and that you’re kind enough to still hang onto those hopes for me after all this time πŸ™‚ That’s still really important to me. It means I don’t have to think about them. Truly.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Aww, huge congrats on 2 years and I swear I thought you were blogging for longer then that for some reason. You know I just adore you and am so glad that we have gotten to get to know each other so much better through the blogsphere. And I wanted to say a huge thank you, I literally just got your postcard yesterday in the mail and is now hanging proudly on my bedroom mirror. I love that you climbed that mountain and made me smile seeing which location you made it to with the little circle dot on the picture. Seriously, Lizzi, hank you so much for being a wonderful friend and for just being you! Hugs again from me to you!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohhhh it ARRIVED TODAY!?!?! That is so perfect. I love it πŸ˜€ And thank YOU Janine, you’re always so supportive and loving and friendly and such a joy to know and be friends with…and no…it feels like a lot longer, doesn’t it? *hugs*

      (Christine thinks 2 years in the blogosphere counts as 5 real ones…she could be right.)

      Like

  21. Consider (look I made a pun!) This a humongo written ***β™‘β™‘β™‘β™‘GLITTER BOMBβ™‘β™‘β™‘β™‘***
    Congratulations and may I be among the MANY to thank YOUβ™₯ XO ( yeah I DO mean it!) Me

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohhh a written one TOO πŸ™‚ this is too much. And I thought the song was awesome – that’s such fun πŸ˜€

      Thankme? Forrr….being part of all this? Or for the dorky video? Or both? Can I take it as both??

      Like

  22. You, my new friend, are adorable :o) If I ever make it out of the U.S. I know who to contract as my tour guide . . . I love that your blog is niche-less, my very most favorite kind. So happy to be part of your bloggy world now ~ Oh, I felt the same as your friend in regard to the episode of Dr. Who, loved it anyway, but I’m still not over Ten just yet . . . Happy, happy bloggiversary!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you πŸ˜€ And I’ll say it here, because I CAN – I was going to link you, too, with a comment about incredible, coincidental people who show up and might nearly BE me, once removed…but then I thought it might be a little bit scarycreepy and chickened out πŸ˜€ But nonetheless I am VERY glad you’re here and part of my bloggy world.

      When I make it INTO the US next year, I shall let you know my itinerary – perhaps a meeting will be possible! You never know.

      I didn’t watch it. I don’t know if I will – Ten rather got himself under my skin and I’m loth to erase those memories with a new chap, in spite of how (I’m sure, very) good they may be.

      Nicheless I will remain, I almost guarantee! There is no umbrella term wide enough to cover this place!

      Like

  23. πŸ™‚ congratulations…haven’t read much of your stuff but found this one good…still new to blogosphere and hoping to make new connections like you…Happy Blogging πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  24. It’s only been two years?!?! I feel like I’ve been friends with you much longer than that! And yet, two years in blog friendship is like 5 years in the physical world. πŸ™‚ It has been so wonderful to get to know you and laugh with you and cry with you and finally meet and hug you. You were one of my first blog friends, and you have become one of my best ones, too. I’m looking forward to the years ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like the sound of ‘the years ahead’ – I hope there are many of them πŸ™‚

      I turned up yesterday at Mum’s for a game of Scrabble, and was handed a packet of photographs from your visit, and I immediately sat down to look through them, and just GRINNED the entire time*. It was such a delightful, happy time to meet you for real…and yes – I definitely think that blog friendships count for longer than has chronologically passed – it doesn’t feel like only two years at all!

      You were one of my first blog friends, too. I remember telling Clark all about you and him advising me on the best way to try to make friends without completely messing it up…goodness me but I was so nervous! πŸ˜€ It makes me laugh now, to think of it, because you’ve certainly become one of my best blog friends, too. I cannot imagine the Blogosphere without you…you are a part of my world here, forsure – and yes, it’s wonderful.

      *’kayso there’s this DELIGHTFUL double-photo-series-shot-thing there (you’ll see – I have a plan) where we’re in the sea, and in one photo each, have bent down to adjust our rolled-up trousers – in one pic you’re doing it, and in the next one I am…and we’re clearly still deep in conversation. It’s BRILLIANT! There’s another one where birds are flying out of your hair…they’re AMAZING photos… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I love them. Huge.

      Like

  25. Oh, Happy Blogiversary! Hey, I tell you what, you work out as you like what this blogging means and what it adds up to. What it adds up to to me is that I met you and I think you’re tremendous! And I can’t wait to meet you!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, it adds up to meaning that I met you too (along with a really quite remarkable number of other, utterly incredible people) and that – quite in contrary to my very initial expectations of blogging – has been the best bit. of all.

      You, my dear, are delightful, and (‘uncooked spaghetti’ moments notwithstanding (I think I’ll have LOTS of those)) I cannot WAIT to meet you, either…it’s going to be fabulous πŸ˜€

      Like

    • I can’t decide if it’s an achievement so much as a happy accident, spurred on by friendship and the desire to just…blurt words everywhere πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing, and I’m glad to hear you enjoy what I write – that’s very cool – I know I can be rather varied.

      Like

  26. Stupid phone….as I was saying….the fiction warning at the bottom of the page. .Again, I shake my head. Thank you for being here. I will never regret turning up out of the blue and staying forever, my Empire Gal!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Here we go – I’m gonna reply up here, just to keep life interesting. And yes, one of those three was you, and it did make me laugh, because you’re *always* here in support, and are definitely one of my staunchest ‘staunch regulars’, and I totally forget that Bloglovin’ exists, so I wondered how you KNEW, for just a while there πŸ˜‰

      I’m going to have to write more fiction soon, I can tell. I feel like I haven’t done one in a while that’s been really good. I do miss that sneaky, delighted feeling when I read the comments to those.

      And as for the roller-coaster…I know – I guess it sometimes hasn’t made very easy reading, this place of mine, to those who have allowed me to mean something to them, but I appreciate the support, the encouragement and the genuine, wonderful friendship you’ve offered, my Darling American, and I shall ALWAYS be glad that you *did* rock up from nowhere and decide to stay. It’s certainly beyond my ability as a writer to adequately put into words ❀

      Like

  27. Hey! I’m in here! Twice….seeing as I am one of the people who realized I hadn’t followed you since your move to WE until today. Oops! Never fear…you are on my Bloglovin’ feed which is the one I use most.
    I am beyond thrilled that you decided to create this wondrous space. I have laughed here, cried here. I have shaken my head at the astronomical talent you have with words. I have read posts with my mouth wide open, hands clenched over my heart only to see the fiction earning at the bottom of the page. Agsin,

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are where the magic happens...

