Dear neighbours, PLEASE DON’T SHOOT THE CHILDREN!

So you can picture the scene – you saw my ‘sick tiger’ face on the Ten Things of Thankful over the weekend, right? I was sick. Properly, badly sick, for about 12 hours, when I sneezed and sneezed and got a runny nose and a temperature and the shakes, and I cycled home from work with my eyes rolling back in my head, and I staggered into my house and straight into bed. I didn’t even check the internet first! (really, really sick.)

But then I got this phonecall from my sister. Husby brought me the phone as I languished in bed amidst bunged-up grouchiness and sweaty, tangled sheets (not the good kind) and I used my best sick voice to elicit sympathy from her before she announced something which shocked me to my core.

“So. Um. The neighbours shot the kids’ bedroom window in”

WHAAAAAAAAAT?!

Window ShotShe’d heard what sounded like stones being thrown against the outside walls, late Thursday evening, and had ignored it, attributing it to one of the many groups of delightfully-behaved (delinquent, asshole) teenagers which hang around our town in dark alleyways, causing havoc.

In the morning, the kids (who, thank GOD, had spent the night sleeping in with her, in the next room) went back to their bedroom to play.

Niece: Mummy, there’s glass all over the place!

Sis: Yeah..okay…if you say so.

Neff: No, Mummy – she’s right – there actually is…

Sis: What the actual FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU?

She went in to find shards of glass all over his bed. All over their toys. All over the room. And THAT HOLE. Through both panels of double-glazing.

She banned them from the room and called our Mum, who took the kids overnight Friday. The next day, while the kids were visiting with their dad, Mum and I went round, armed with stiff brushes and strong gloves, to brush EVERYTHING IN THE ENTIRE ROOM. So that my sweet, 6 year old Neff, and my darling, mischievous 4 year-old Niece didn’t cut themselves on some random bit of glass that some asshole had shot into the room.

Me: So did you call the police?

Sis: Yeah. They can’t do anything.

Me: What the actual FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU?

The police were able to establish the trajectory of the bullet or pellet or ball-bearing or whatever it was that was fired into their room. The police then said (allegedly) that because they had no evidence of whether or not the gun/rifle/whatever belonged to the people who were in the place where the trajectory indicated, they could do nothing. And even if the gun/rifle/whatever was there, they had no evidence of WHO fired it. So they could do another set of nothing. And my sister asked what if it happened again, oh – she should call them. Okaaaaaay…

Some kind of bullet, from some kind of gun, was fired into my Niece and Neff’s bedroom with sufficient force to smash cleanly through two panels of glass (and presumably sufficient force, therefore, to cause serious physical harm if it had hit either of those sweet children) and the police could do NOTHING?!?!?

WHAT THE ACTUAL FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU?

This is a particularly incoherent post because I am SO VERY INCENSED that there is, apparently, nothing to be done.

That a person could have a powerful enough weapon to do this damage, that they could illegally fire it in a city, that they could do damage to a property, that they could potentially have killed a child…and the police have their hands tied by, what, policy?

Fuck that shit. This is going to an MP for discussion. Goodness knows we pay them enough!

I cannot begin to describe the realms of VERY NOT ALRIGHT I am with this situation. Nor the frustration I feel at the police force’s apparent inability to handle things in a manner which ensures the safety of my family. Nor the anxiety I feel that it might happen again. Nor the absolute impotence I have to DO anything (I have a sneaking suspicion that some officious clipboard-nazi in a middle-administrative role will cite Data Protection and refuse to deal with me, it not having been my house which was shot at – but we’ll see. I shall grudgingly allow them the benefit of the doubt for now). Nor the horror at the idea that potentially, I could have spent the weekend coping with the sudden and horrific injury (or worse) to my Sis, Niece or Neff, just because their asshole neighbours are…well, assholes.

And so I will be writing to my local member of parliament. And if I receive no satisfactory reply, perhaps the papers would be interested in the story.

Meantime, the kids’ nastybutinthiscasemaybeusefulpieceofwork dad knows where the trajectory ended. Those neighbours better be ready to reap the whirlwind…

And, just for good measure…WHAT THE ACTUAL FUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!?!?!?!

Dont Mess

94 thoughts on “Dear neighbours, PLEASE DON’T SHOOT THE CHILDREN!

  1. I’m just catching up on all the INCREDIBLE posts I’m behind on by you and everyone on the planet. (of course, my first stop was here, Blog Wife). I saw the meme and thought WTactualF???? Wow. That whole situation sucks giant balls. BUT – holy not-a-coincidence that the kids weren’t there?!?! Totally angels watching out for them.

    I caught up on a lot of comments and see that there has been a smidge of follow up, but not quite enough for your satisfaction. Hope things continue to move forward. Are the kids staying in a different room for a while….just in case? *shudder* so glad they weren’t harmed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwh well to hear that I was first on your list has made me go all *glowy* in the middle. Thank you 🙂

      Yeah. WTactualF was pretty much how I felt about it, and SO angry. But yes – thank goodness the kids weren’t in the room (could be angels – don’t see why not!) and no, I don’t think they’ve gone back yet.

      There really hasn’t been enough follow-up. The MP asked for my sister’s details, and I’m giving him til tomorrow to get in touch with her, then I’m sending him a follow-up. This just isn’t good enough. At. All.

      Glad to see you back in the ‘sphere. I’ve missed you (also how HELLA late were you up to post when you posted this morning and then EARLY to start replying to stuff? Good grief! I’m glad Mike got frist but pissed I missed it.)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Ten Things of Thankful #52 | Considerings

  3. Lizzi. How utterly frightening for your sister and for you as well. So, so glad that your niece and nephew were not in the room when it happened and that everyone is alright (physically at least).

    Like

    • Yes. It was horrible. The MP is now hopefully going to get in touch with my sister. I’m going to get her to feed back to me whether/when he does, and if nothing happens, I shall be back onto him to follow up.

      Thank goodness everyone’s physically alright. And so far I don’t think the neighbours have been firing any more shots at the flat.

      Like

  4. What the actual fuuuuuuu– indeed! Holy hell. I’m glad everyone is alright, but certainly there is SOMETHING that can be done. Sheesh. What are they there for if they can’t investigate a crime?

    Like

    • This is it! I am appalled that such a situation could exist where there is potential for injury/damage, potential for repeat, and no legal back-up (allegedly) to allow them to do anything! So I really hope to learn that things will change, or be investigated, at least.

      Like

  5. Holy crap! Thank goodness they weren’t in the room at the time… and, gotta love the cops. Yeah, if it happens again, call us, so we can write up a report and do nothing about it again. Maybe if it happens a third time we’d consider knocking on a door and politely asking people to keep an eye out for suspicious behavior. Maybe if it happens a fourth time we’ll send a car around once a month or so to keep the peace. If it happens a fifth time? Well, maybe you should get a gun to protect yourselves…
    Our tax dollars hard at work.
    If this happened to my child’s room, the neighbors would “hear” about it…

    Like

    • OH! This is the same the world over, then! It’s just not good enough. GAH! I am going to keep trying to make them change things. It’s ridiculous that they can do NOTHING about this.

      I think their dad might have a word. I’m not sure I want to know how that one goes.

      Like

      • Yeah, seems like they could have at least knocked on a few doors and asked if someone say something the night it happened…. Even if noone comes forward, if they happened to knock on the door of the people who did it, they would know that if it happens again the police will be called in again and that might encourage them to pull their shenanigans elsewhere.

        Like

        • You’d think, wouldn’t you. It’s very frustrating and I sincerely hope the MP gets his dander up about this. If people are being endangered in his constituency I would really think he’d like to do something BEFORE the bad press hits! Yes – even the deterrent of a visit from the police would have been nice.

          Like

  6. UMMMMMMMMM How in the heck can the parents, can the kids, feel safe being in that room now. Especially knowing nothing AT ALL was done about it? I would have marched to the residence it supposedly came from and had a talk with the owners. AT THE VERY LEAST, whether they admit to whatever they did or not, they will know what the potential for death almost was. OMG what the actual FUUUUUUUU

    Like

    • Yeah, but…they had a gun. And I think that block is known for being full of…shall we say ‘characters’. I think I would much rather an armoured (or at least body-vested) police officer go round BECAUSE THE LAW ALLOWS THEM TO, to give the household what for, and TAKE THE DAMN WEAPON AWAY!

      What the FUUUUUUUU indeed! Country’s messed up, I tellya! Too tied up in red tape and politeness.

      Like

      • I see your point but the protective mom in me probably would have done something supremely careless and gone to talk to them with a rolling pin in my hand. I mean nobody is going to shoot a crazy raging old lady with a rolling pin in her hand.

        Like

        • You’re not old, silly 🙂 If it had *just* happened, I would have been tempted to go round in high dudgeon, but by the time I got there, it was all very much after the fact…

          Like

  7. Unbelievable! Thank God the kids were not in the room. If they had been injured, would the police have been as useless then? I would love to see your letter to them – give’em hell, Lizzi!

    Like

    • I have been very polite so far. I’m hoping to get a bit more of a response, then I might publish both! I imagine the police would have been able to do a little more if someone had been hurt, but REALLY I don’t think it should have to come to that stage before a dangerous and irresponsibly used weapon is sought out and removed.

      Like

  8. Holy comments, Lizzi! It took me forever to get here, and I only wish I had time to read them all because I KNOW they feel the same way as I do. I agree with Gunmetal and Laura. At least the kids weren’t in the room, and go to the papers and shame the hell out of them. I don’t know how it works with Parliament, but things don’t always change until somebody causes a huge “ruckus.”

    Having said all of that, I’m so glad those sweet babies weren’t hurt and that for whatever reason they were not in that bedroom. Even if they didn’t get hurt, how terribly scary would it be to go back after experiencing such a thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m saving my ruckus. I’m going to try the official way first. I just hope something happens. I’m not letting this go. No way.

      And yes – thank GOODNESS they weren’t in the room. Good grief…the mind shudders to think of what could have been…

      Like

  9. I’m up for viewing a good neighborhood shanking.
    Not even lying. Someone could have been seriously hurt.
    We are about to address our MP…whoeverthefuckitis since we are voting for our MP yet once again. Go Canada and our indecisiveness…because 7 streets on my side of the imnottellingyoubecausepeopleareweirdcreepers cars are getting broken into for change. Yup. Assholes breaking in and stealing change. They moved up to purses and princess movies. Dicks.
    We will catch them…
    …and then shank them.
    …with princess movie boxes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re hardcore. I’m going for a change in the law. If the police cannot do anything by law, then the law needs changing. Too many people get hurt or inconvenienced by too many assholes. Enough is enough.

      Like

  10. I am so sorry that you and your family have to deal with this…it’s now something that lurks in the back of the mind “are the kids alright, now?”…”what about now?” This is really scary unaware that this was even a possibility… now you all know with only shards of glass on the floor; I could say it could have been worse but we won’t go there because with just shattered glass everywhere it is still unthinkable. Give them hell Lizzie!!!!

    Like

  11. Oh my god, what the actual fuck indeed. I cannot believe that. Scary, frightening, infuriating, scary – did I mention scary? Sod the MP, that will take months! Go to the papers now! In fact, I think your blog piece should go viral! What is up with the law in this country that it protects the gun toting pieces of shit who threaten out kids. Didn’t the police even go next door for a ‘chat’? Lazy arseholes!

    Like

    • I don’t know. I think it’s probably a matter of policy rather than policing. Going to the papers will achieve very little other than to make me unpopular, and the MP has already begun responding. I want policy to change. I’m not content with just making a fuss.

      Like

  12. I had liked your post and then I had to fly to Ikea (it be awesome if I could fly for real) and forgot to hit publish for my comment. But what the?! This is absolutely horrible! I truly hope you’ll get an answer on your letter and that it’s taken seriously. Sheesh. A gun has been fired and they can’t do a thing about it?! Like it’s so normal to have bullets flying around. Freaking nonsense. I can’t even imagine how it must feel to walk in that room now.

    Like

    • I know! So far the MP emailed me back to ask for my Sister’s name and address. I hope this means he will take it up with her. Fingers crossed.

      Did you get a doughnut pan in Ikea?

      I would LOVE to fly for real. That would be awesome.

      Like

  13. Wow, that is really messed up! I can’t believe the police didn’t do anything about it. Isn’t it illegal to, you know, shoot at people’s houses?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That was very much one of my initial thoughts…and apparently it is, but perhaps only in theory. So I have asked that question of my MP. I shall wait to hear what he says, with eager anticipation.

      Like

  14. OHMYFUCKINGFUCK. WHATTHEFUCK. I am so angry and sad and scared and guns? Really? Something needs to be done about that. That people can shoot into a random window where there are PEOPLE, chilDREN?????? sob and sigh and angry fucking fuck fucks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes *sighs and shakes head* ALL OF THAT. Apparently it may have been a CO2 rifle. Which is still deadly, though I don’t know whether or not it technically counts as a firearm…the distinction WOULD NOT MATTER, had one of those kids been hit!

      Angry fucking fucks INDEED. The MP will get my email today and then….we shall see!

      Like

    • Thanks Manal. The police – the worst of them, at least – seem to be the same the world over. It’s the policy which frustrates me more than anything, though – laws should be PUT in place to protect people in this kind of circumstance. We’re too bloody English over here, giving people ridiculous amounts of rights and then being terribly careful not to impinge upon them. But this is too far.

      Don that I know? Yes. If he’d’ve been there, he would have sorted things out far more satisfactorily, I’m sure.

      Like

  15. Agree with those who say “no words”. How on earth is it possible that a shooting incident (let alone one that could have potentially involved children) is dismissed. What the fucking fuck?

    Like

  16. I can’t believe they went through the trouble of establishing where the bullet came from only to say that sorry, can’t do anything about it though!!! I hope the MP kicks their ass for that…or else the media will!! So very glad that no one was hurt!!

    Like

    • Yeah. I REALLY hope he does. When we’ve written to him before about stuff, he’s taken it seriously and been very helpful, I hope he remains so. I’m HUGELY glad no-one was hurt, but the potential that they COULD have been is still such a scary thing to contemplate!

      Like

  17. Wow. No words. This is such a scary world for our children to be living in. This really makes it clear why we as a society need to work to product our children.

    Like

    • Too right! There is enough BS around and I’m sick of the government giving themselves pay-rises and cutting public spending and NOT PROTECTING KIDS! They won’t hear the end of this.

      Like

    • Tempting, but in all honesty I’d rather not give them the glory and the attention – I want the gun GONE, and I want sanctions in place which can be used ACROSS THE COUNTRY to combat this kind of situation. It’s simply unacceptable that anyone could be in this position and left with NO HELP!

      Like

  18. Geez louise, that’s crazy! You should take this as high as you can. It’s ridiculous that law enforcement is not trying harder to solve this. Call your news stations, write the papers – don’t stop.

    Like

  19. Oh, that is so, so scary. My brother’s family was at home one day when a bullet was shot through their kitchen wall. It struck the cabinet around which his kids had been huddled looking for a movie a mere 5 minutes earlier. At the time it came through the wall, my niece was sitting at the kitchen table. If she would have been in a chair 2 seats over, it would have hit her.
    They live near a prison, and the shots came from the shooting range where the police practice. The person who shot the bullet was not a policeman and shouldn’t have been at the range. No one was arrested as far as I know. The shooting range was moved, but that’s about all that happened.
    It’s scary as all get out. There may not have been anything the police could have done about arresting anyone, considering no one knew who shot the gun. They could have at least gone to the house and had a “chat” with the family.
    I’m glad everyone is safe. Good luck getting something done.

    Like

    • Good GRIEF! Do they not keep RECORDS of the people who access the shooting range? Especially at a prison! Thank goodness all the children were out of the way at just the right moment. I’m glad they moved the range, but OH MY GOSH what is WRONG with the authorities?!?? Clearly they’re no better in the US than in the UK. Disgusting. GAH!

      And yes – they could at least have gone round. ACK!

      Thank you. I really REALLY hope I have something to report SOON on this.

      Like

  20. Wow! I am surprised that there is so little follow up from authorities. Here, there might or might not be an offense they could be charged with, but there would be some serious follow up and, at the very least, some stern words. Maybe because more of our officers have seen gun violence? I wonder. It’s terrible, regardless.

    Stopping by from Bloppy Bloggers.

    Like

    • There really SHOULD be more follow-up. I’m disgusted. I can’t imagine there are that many murderers out there that they’re busy catching…yaknow? And this could have been one of the kids DEAD! Potentially it could still happen (except they’re not allowed back in that room til the window’s boarded, which should give them some protection.

      Thanks for stopping by from Bloppies. I promise you my posts aren’t usually this outraged and angry…I’m a nice blogger really…

      Like

  21. This makes me sick to my stomach, even having had you tell me about it beforehand. I want to transport myself over there just to kick their asses. Side note: start with the papers. I’d shame the hell out of that police department.

    Like

    • Yeah. I’d love to but I’m going the official routes first. I want to be taken seriously otherwise it’s just a mess of crapslinging in public, which will change nothing. Sadly. I would rather they hear me and make a change to the law rather than just dismiss me as another angry ranter.

      I have sent a letter though.

      Like

  22. OH my gosh! How scary and awful.

    I’m so glad they weren’t in the room when it happened. I hope your letters make a difference. The police response was completely unacceptable.

    Like

    • I really REALLY hope that letters and phonecalls will make a difference. It’s too late for tonight, sadly, but I will be ON THIS. I just have to work it around work hours for the phonecall. The email to the MP I can send any time.

      Like

  23. Omg Lizzi! That’s awful! That made my stomach flip just thinking about it. It is so odd that you couldn’t find anything. I hope your letter helps, but I’m with you and not hopeful about it. I think you should just go to the papers. This is clearly a big issue overall! I’m so sorry. Hugs, SW and keep us posted.

    Like

    • I’ll give the police and MPs a chance first. I have the crime reference number so I can talk to them coherently about it, with official stuff. I REALLY HOPE they take this seriously. It is NOT OKAY. I’ll keep you posted.

      I wonder if it was a ball bearing, and got mixed in with the kids’ stuff…

      Like

    • Thank you! Your P.S. is very nice 🙂

      I’ll definitely let you know how things work out. I am SO CROSS about this. And yes – the prevalence of this kind of thing is on the increase, which sucks, and I’m astonished the authorities aren’t keener to sort things out and change laws to protect people. But then I can be quite naive at times.

      Like

      • I think a lot of it is bureaucratic b.s. they have to deal with. Police are becoming more & more understaffed & underpaid all over the world. Yet another effect of this shitty economy. In some jurisdictions its even a lack of proper training.
        I think you’re doing exactly what’s right by going over their heads, though. Maybe more attention brought to your family’s story will wake them up.

        Like

  24. Fuck that nasty shit indeed! We’ve got way too many headlines here in the States of kids, teens, and young adults being shot, to death, to be precise.

    I hope this photo will make you smile, just a little– my daughter is someone not to be messed with (or shot at):
    Don't mess with the Princess
    she’s a tough girl

    Liked by 1 person

    • HA! That did indeed make me smile. I wouldn’t mess with her (though I might want to be on her team in a water-gun fight). Thanks.

      And quite, I am SOOO over those headlines, and I DO NOT want them starting up over here. There are reasons we have strict gun laws and that they’re not a part of everyday life here, and THIS IS ONE OF THEM!

      Like

  25. This is terrible. You haven’t found whatever came through the window? Is it lodged somewhere? I know it would be hard to find a pellet in a child’s room but it’s worth looking, it has to be somewhere. That’s terrible and would make me want to do all sorts of violent things 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • No. We didn’t find it, which is bizarre as it looks like it must have been fairly big! We didn’t see it lodged anywhere and even though we went through EVERYTHING, the pellet is conspicuous by its absence, which is very frustrating. I wonder if it was a ball-bearing which we just thought belonged to one of the kids.

      It *is* terrible. Fortunately it hasn’t made me violent so much as verbal and ready to get into paperwork.

      Like

  26. Holy hell!! And what the actual Fuuuuuuuu!! I’m with you!! Had this happened to me or mine, and getting an answer like that from authorities, I would just kindly tell them if you won’t protect us then I assume you won’t protect the other party involved either! Thank you and I will handle this myself!! WTF!! Indeed!!

    Like

    • Yes – I think that’s what their dad’s banking on. I’m not one for vigilante justice, but suffice it to say, if the police are prepared to do nothing and he happens to take things into his own hands…I shan’t mind. (If he happens to get caught and end up in jail for it, I also shan’t mind – the phrase about two birds and one stone comes to mind).

      Like

  27. What the actual FUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!! This is SO SO SO WRONG!!!! How freaking horrible and totally SCARY!!! If that happened to our kids’ rooms, I would be absolutely on FIRE!!! Oh thank GOD they were in the next room. Thank GOD.

    You go GET ‘EM Lizzi!!! Go GET ‘EM!!!!!!!!

    Keep us posted. I just can’t believe it. Does your sis talk with the neighbors? What is going ON there?!!

    Like

    • These are neighbours over the back garden – they’re in another street. She doesn’t talk with them nor know who they are – apparently they’re people who moved into the block a while ago (she did talk to OTHER neighbours, who might be more in the know). And yeah, people don’t know this set. Perhaps this is why.

      But I will DEFINITELY keep you posted. I am growly over this.

      Like

    • Yes – you can be sure of it. My job tomorrow is to write a suitably shitty letter to my MP, having double-checked a few details with sis, cos I hope she’s going to phone the police again just to CHECK there’s nothing they can do. BUT GOOD GRIEF!

      Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

