Let them KNOW

It was unpleasant. It was hard-hitting. It told Truths (admittedly through the filter of one person’s experience and ten years’ distance) and it was, somehow, still well-received. But with reservations.

Because Our Land, last week, took on a different tenor. It was despairing. Desolate. Desperately sad. And it didn’t end well.

But it was only PART ONE…and here – HERE – is the redemption.

Because (as with so many things in this world) the hurt and anguish and agony of seeing atrocities and feeling powerless to stop them, or stem the tide, or somehow grasp with the ragged tips of your tired fingernails at that failing shred of hope that things can be different, it is redeemable.

It’s redeemable by YOU. And me. And Us.

It is our challenge, if we choose to accept it.

Perhaps we can’t change the world in its entirety, or start a revolution, or radically alter society so that it stops sucking quite so much.

But we can do THIS.

Come on over and read…(linking to main website – click from there (I got TimeZoned today and had to go to work before the post went live. If you click and no Part 2, come back here and help yourself to lollipops and non-stop cartoons until it’s up))

)

14 thoughts on “Let them KNOW

  1. If we let things continue along the path they're currently set to, I think we'll end up in a world where the incapable elderly (like the severely disabled and the unwanted unborn, now,) can be electively euthanised by their families.

    I know that's contraversial to say, and perhaps I shouldn't. But it feels as though there's a slippery slope.

    Like

  2. Oops! I missed it but now I've read it. That one brought me to tears, that poor woman waiting and waiting. It just breaks my heart. We do need to do better. All of us somehow. I wonder what it will be like when we get there. 😦

    Like

  3. It sure wasn't easy to write. Part two is up, and MUCH more full of hope.

    Sorry to hear you had such a crushing experience, too *sighs* it's so hard. So difficult to even begin to comprehend what we can do as a society to make this better.

    Like

  4. Just finally read your post. So sad. I worked in a rehabilitation hospital as a CNA once and I ended switching departments. It was just too hard for me. Sure, the showering and bathroom stuff is not fun and kind of gross and embarrassing, but the part I couldn't handle was the mental aspect. I thought about my own mortality and that of my family every single day and all day while I was there. I really enjoy working with the elderly, especially when they are competent and can share conversation, but I had to admit it was forcing me into a depression. It's sad that we don't care for our own more, that we don't plan to do so and it just be a part of life somehow. Looking forward to part 2! And hugs to you…..I'm sure that was hard to write.

    Like

  5. I'm so glad COW's grandparents were found somewhere wonderful. Yes, it absolutely does depend, and it can sometimes be down to pure chance as to whether you get teams of workers who are diligent and genuinely care about the people they're working with. I also heard that paying more helps. And I'd assume that's roughly the same in the US as it is here.

    The government assissted facilities…that's where I worry, because they're paying the staff so little. It is a VASTLY under-valued job, which is so sad.

    My neighbour, only the other day, was sharing her frustrations about her siblings having taken their father to another city to be put in a home, and that she doesn't feel they visit him enough, but that she is unable to visit often, who would prefer to be there EVERY DAY. *sigh* It's all so hard.

    The more I hear of Buttercup and her caring nature and the way she looks after other people, the more I immensely like her. You're raising a good'un there. And good for you for providing such excellent learning experiences and opportunities for them all to practice compassion.

    Like

  6. The level of care really changes depending on the facility. My husband's grandparents were in wonderful facilities that treated the patients with respect and dignity. Of course, there were always relatives around checking on them, too, so that helps. That is the saddest part of aging. It is so, so sad when a family chooses to put an aging relative in a nursing home, regardless of the reason, then rarely to never visits. That's when things really go downhill. Those are the people I feel bad for. Left and forgotten by their own relatives.
    Simply visiting with people in the nursing home is helpful. All of our kids have been to nursing homes to visit their grandparents, and all were fine with it, even visiting other residents they had never met. Our daughter, though, is most comfortable. My mother-in-law is a physical therapy assistant in a nursing home, and our daughter has gone to work with her many times. Buttercup actually asks if she can go along. I hope she considers working in one someday.

    Like

  7. Sorry that you got timezoned, but we're up and live now! The ending is so good – makes me want to get up and help. Now that's some empathy and Our Landishness for ya. Thanks again for contributing – you rock!

    Like

  8. It's one of those awful, near-impossible situations, Phil, and in all honesty, I don't have any insights into how we (society) can fix it. We seem to be stuck in a vortex of economy-driven apathy for others, in so many ways.

    I'm so sorry your family's going through this. It's such a heartbreaking, difficult struggle to know what to do for the best, balancing between care for the person, the desire to not see them in a home, and the knowledge that it is impossible (usually for several reasons) to take care of them outside of proper facilities.

    I have HUGE respect for the caring people who work with the elderly. I just wish there was more training and more CARE built into the learning of the role, and the way those workers and elderly people are viewed by policy.

    Like

  9. But hey – first comment, right? What's with the teaser is TIMEZONED and Kristi not being live yet as I had to go to bed. *sigh* The drawback of guesting from England…

    It'll be there SOON AS POSSIBLE :/

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

