JFK knew this job would break my heart

On February 21st, 1963, John F. Kennedy addressed the US Congress with a special message about the needs of the nation’s senior citizens. His opening line:

On the basis of his study of the world’s great civilizations, the historian Toynbee concluded that a society’s quality and durability can best be measured “by the respect and care given its elderly citizens”.

Powerful stuff.

Based on this quote, I can testify that our civilisation is headed for hell in a handbasket, and that JFK somehow must have had foreknowledge – his quote feels like a warning.

I’ve been behind-the-scenes and for as long as I could bear, I worked in a world where I very rapidly came to understand the lack of civilisation in the prevalent attitudes towards the elderly, certainly where professionalism’s concerned.

And yes, I know – this is only one viewpoint. One experience – mine.

If you’d like to counter with your own stories of the absolutely stunningly marvellous care our hoards of elderly enjoy at the hands of England’s care homes, please, feel free. It would make my heart happy to be rebutted.

But I bet you can’t.

So follow me over to Finding Ninee, where I have been generously welcomed into Our Land once more, to share the absolute worst job I ever had, and why it matters not just for me, but for everyone, in the first of a SPECIAL TWO-PART SERIES.

P.S. This is where I got my writing mojo back – thanks Kristi πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “JFK knew this job would break my heart

  1. I'm so sorry to hear that, Phil. It's a shockingly bad situation to be in, and honestly, there don't seem to be any right answers. It's terrible. I wish I could do more to change it, but all I can do is write about it.

    Like

  2. I just read this and it is a sad state of what has happened in our country. It's such a hard thing to go through. My parents are going through this with my 94 year old grandma and it's a tough situation as she is really ill.

    Like

  3. Lizzie, I just read part one and it has caused me to begin rethinking the situation that my own mother is in. My sister is with her but until now I had not appreciated what the two of them maybe going through. Thank you for sharing this story, thus far.

    Like

  4. You are *such* a darling to leave me a comment here, too. And you've no idea how much I love the idea of that description of me. You just made me smile HUGE πŸ˜€ β™‘β™‘β™‘β™‘β™‘

    Like

  5. Just left the post and it is divine…heartbreaking, but divine! Left my big comment over there but since you fly all around the net like Tinkerbell on speed, you'll get it! Love to you, my brilliant friend XX

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

