How To Claim On Insurance When Your Car Got Crushed By Thor

I’m a naturally impatient person, and I hate being late (especially for a friend), so a queue of traffic on a cold, rainy morning was particularly unwelcome. It turned out to be one of those shopping delivery vans, half on the pavement and half in the road, so that the rush hour traffic was forced to practice politeness and good manners by taking turns every few cars to let the opposing queue of traffic pass.

Needless to say, there were some jerks for whom ‘politeness’ and ‘good manners’ were alien concepts.

Myself amongst them.

I tagged myself onto the end of six cars which had already broken through (other groups of cars had consisted of three or four, but if the driver ahead of me was being a pushy asshat, well, so was I being). For good measure, I stuck my middle finger up at the delivery boy, still sat in his seat, ignoring the melee, and called him a [no, I really can’t say that here] as I scudded past, my nose aimed firmly for the courthouse.

The rest of the streets were mercifully clear (save for a few idiots on bicycles, pottering along in the middle of the road, and one of those mobility scooter things, which should NEVER EVER be allowed off the pavement – the driver of which, jumped satisfactorily as I stridently blared my horn at him on my way past) and I rolled through the impressive wrought-iron gates to find a parking space, just as the clock turned half-an-hour-later-than-I-should’ve-been.

I slammed into a parking space, and legged it across the car park, then ran back having forgotten to lock the car. Hair a mess, once-neat outfit now looking distinctly worse for wear, I jogged towards the entrance, trying very hard to look like a busy professional rather than someone who was about to be in the dock.

Doing that FastImportant power-walk through the corridors, smelling polish, paper and lies, I found the courtroom numbered on the letter I held clutched in my hand. I paused outside the wooden doors, used my sleeve to wipe the sheen from my forehead, knocked and went in.

Empty.

Da-WHA?

I turned around to check the room number again, and as I did, saw her sat on a wooden bench opposite the courtroom, swinging her heels and looking at me ruefully.

“You suck!”

I hang my head and shuffle over, the picture of contrition.

She crosses her arms and pointedly turns her head away from me, sticking her chin in the air.

I kneel before her, taking her hand and kissing it.

“I’m so, so, so, so, so sorry! There was traffic and a delivery van and a little old man on a scooter and…”

Her chin juts further into the air and she turns her body the furthest away from me she possibly can without breaking in half.

Damn. I know what this means.

I prostrate myself fully on the floor, smart clothes in the courthouse dust and hug her feet, kissing the toes of her shoes until she relents, baffs me around the back of the head and giggles that I’m totally crazy. I nip her on the ankle, making her shriek, then clamber up onto the bench beside her.

“What happened then?” I ask

It had been Christmas Eve when I’d received a frantic phonecall from her, in hysterics, shouting something about a nightmare and a car and ruined. I let her babble for a few minutes before cutting her short, telling her that I couldn’t decipher a word, and that wine, and I, would be there shortly.

When I arrived, I saw what looked like the problem – the storms of the previous night had wreaked havoc across the city, and here, in the closeted little car park, she’d left her car in precisely the wrong place. The single, solitary tree had been felled by the almighty winds. Right on top of her Toyota.

Crunch!

The resulting bureaucracy (mixed with clipboard nazis who were bitter about working over Christmas, and the bottle and a half of wine we imbibed shortly after the tears stopped) had been a nightmare, and in the end, solicitors had been called to determine who would take financial responsibility and a court date set.

A court date I had missed!

“I’m not sure, darling” she tells me, her voice cautious “I *think* I won…!”

“Go on,” I urge her “give me the blow-by-blow account.”

“Well. We were there, and They had about sixteen bajlillion solicitors and all of them looked mean, like hungry wolves, and there was just me and Lacey at our table, with our small bundle of papers in our hands and truth in our hearts…”

I roll my eyes

“…then the judge entered, and we all had to stand in utmost deferential total complete respect, so I gave him a quick bow and namaste, to get Good on my side, then They started. They were so nasty, darling! They forced me into the witness stand and made me read out highlighted sections of my insurance policy which said that I wasn’t protected against an Act of God. And they thought they’d won…”

I widen my eyes, encouraging her story

“…but they hadn’t because as soon as they were finished, Lacey got up and asked the judge, oh-so-sweetly-and-politely whether she might submit a pertinent science-based publication as a rebuttal to the clause. She pulled out a copy of Dawkins’ The God Delusion and told the judge that since even eminent scientists are unable to prove that God exists, His acts have no place in policy.”

I’m unable to restrain a giggle. Lacey’s turned out to be a damn good solicitor, and all the better for knowing her before she took to law school (mate’s rates are not to be sneezed at).

“They were stumped for a few moments, and talked and growled amongst themselves in a way that only sixteen bajillion wolf-like solicitors could, then one of them prowled back towards the witness box, and I don’t mind telling you, I was quaking in my Choos – he looked SO mean. He pulled out his iPad and requested that he submit new evidence – a recently published journal article…but get this – by a druid!”

“A druid?” I echo, gobsmacked “Why on earth did they want to go bringing a druid into things?”

Her voice hushes, and her eyes sparkle “Well, darling, apparently druids believe that there is no God and there is no Not-God, and they attribute everything formerly labelled an ‘Act of God’ to ‘Mother Nature’, and the slimy-schemey-wolfman was trying to suggest that Acts of Mother Nature should also be covered and inherent within the title of ‘Act of God’, and as Dawkins never refuted druids, they should win!”

I slam my hand down onto the wooden bench, the slap echoing throughout the corridor and making several nearby business-suited execs roll their eyes and tut in disapproval. I stick my tongue out at them before turning back to her “What next then?”

She giggles musically “By that time, Lacey was all puffed-up with magic and ready to go. She came back into the game with sparkles and some ancient Greek something which described Mother Nature as the outworkings of the gods, to which They rejoindered with the idea that if we were back to gods, then perhaps Thor was responsible for having a tantrum and flattening my car with his hammer, then putting a tree there to make it look like he wasn’t responsible, in which case we were back to Acts of god, and I still wasn’t covered.”

I cluck my tongue and motion for her to continue.

“Lacey waltzed up to the judge’s podium at that point, and put on her best ever ‘little-girl-in-front-of-the-wolves’ smile (you know the one) and asked him sweetly if he really thought that this Marvel-ous tale of Athenian proportions was really going to fly in a court trying to decide whether or not a poor, struggling damsel (that’s me) was going to be left high and dry, without her only source of transport, her gateway to participation in our country’s economy and as such, a fundament to the state of her financial and psychological wellbeing.

My goodness, it was positively delicious, and the judge burst into this delightfully twinkly kindly-grandpa-like laugh, and adjourned us all. So I came out here to wait for you and make you feel utterly wretched for not being here in my hour of need.”

“Well you certainly did that!” I counter, smiling and punching her lightly in the shoulder.

“Now what?”

“Now we go for coffee, and await the tippy-tappy sound of Lacey’s footsteps flying across the floor to tell us the good news that we’ve WON, and that I can get those nasty wolves to pay for a new car for me.”

We sit in relative silence in the coffee shop, sipping and watching our thoughts evaporate with the steam.

Eventually a squeal is heard from far off, getting louder and accompanied by the sound of tippy-tappy footsteps as Lacey bursts in and flings herself at us both, barely giving us time to abandon cup before we catch her.

“Who’s buying me a drink then?” she demands, glowing

I volunteer, and stand in the queue, fidgetting, watching as she tries to get Lacey to spill the beans, but to no avail. As soon as the double-tall, no-fat, mochalatte (with a giant triple-choc cupcake) is ready, I whizz back to the table to hear the pronouncement.

“They’ll pay. You get your car. Which is great, yeah, but there’s a snag”

We stop, mid-cheer, our celebrations caught in our throats – “The hell do you mean there’s a snag?!?!??!” we yell in tandem.

“You have to pay court costs.” Lacey delivers this with an inscrutable look.

Our faces fall as we imagine the huge expense incurred by fighting this thing – probably far, far more than even a brand-new car would be worth. She sinks her head into her hands, slumping against the table, all the joy sucked out of her by the news.

“How will I ever afford that, darling?” she asks Lacey weakly.

Lacey cracks a grin and hands over a piece of paper “Your bill for court costs, Milady.”

She opens it, hands trembling, and pulls out the statement within, eyes narrowed, shielding herself from its justice.

Then rockets into the air, her face alight with wonder, and the air around her filling with the loudest, most incredulously joyful string of swear words I’ve heard her utter in a long time.

Β£30.

CRUNCH!

Two Shoes Tuesdsay

47 thoughts on “How To Claim On Insurance When Your Car Got Crushed By Thor

  1. Ut-oh! That doesn't sound good! This happened for real to my neighbour over Christmas. Not the lawsuit part, but the 'squashed by tree' bit. That sucked for them.

    And GOOD πŸ˜€ Thank you for letting me know.

    Like

  2. I am not even going to comment on car woes because I tend to attract the universe's attention and I don't want to have to deal with it.
    You have a wonderful way with roping me in all the way to the end.

    Like

  3. At least I know it was effective in terms of 'making you feel', which was kind of the point with that series.

    Thanks πŸ™‚ I've wondered about it, but I can't think of anyone who'd want to publish them when they're here for free, yaknow?

    Like

  4. No, please don't delete it! It was a really good story, but the idea of dead kitties physically hurts me.. You really have a talent for writing; maybe you could think about publishing them!

    Like

  5. I'm glad that she got her car back. Great story! I could feel everything happening as if I was right there. Especially the cold morning, traffic, and being 30 minutes late….

    This story, although fiction does point to a good fact that you should double check your insurance policy just in case a natural disaster does destroy your car. : )

    Like

  6. NOOOOO!! What I wanted to say is that you FINALLY wrote a very funny story, and that there are no dead kitties, which makes me very, VERY sad!!!

    Like

  7. I might have to see if that's around online so I can see what on earth gave you that hearkening. And the accent portrayed here is *far* posher than I could hope to manage. This is very nearly Downton-level accent.

    Glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

    I'm halfway through the first chapter, where I've been for about two months…I now have a plan to plan some time to officially get my ass moving on writing a bit more.

    Like

  8. I don't know why, and I'm not even sure I remember the story, but this piece made me think of a short story called “The Waltz” by Dorothy Parker (I think). Perhaps it's because I can hear your cute British accent in the dialogue, and when I read that piece a gazillion years ago, I assumed the narrator had that same accent. Adorable and cute, and a great giggle with my coffee. I love your fiction….when are YOU going to write a book?

    Like

  9. Delightful! I think your Fiction warning sign makes me laugh as much as your stories! You are so convincing at telling tales in first person. I loved the whole premise of this case, since “acts of God” has been an insurance loophole for ages. So glad that they won this case with a flourish… and court costs that I'd be delighted to see here! Great story, Lizzi, such a fun place to come and read on Tuesdays! πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Fortunately I've only ever tangled with them once, when a drunk kid smashed all my car windows. They sorted it quickly (HUGE excess though), but the kid was arrested the same day, and his dad offered to pay (jolly decent of him, really, seeing as the kid left a trail of destruction through several villages!)

    Like

  11. Absolutely not – I hope I managed to borrow your 'best side' πŸ˜‰

    I don't think I could possibly steal your thunder, but I might rumble now and again, with your permission.

    Many thanks for coming to see what I did with the inspiration πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Quite the entertaining story. πŸ™‚

    My favorite lines:

    “and asked him sweetly if he really thought that this Marvel-ous tale of Athenian proportions was really going to fly in a court…”

    “I was quaking in my Choos.”

    Like

  13. Rarely do I come across a work of fiction that I enjoy as much as this. Well done! I do hope there will be more.

    Like

  14. Oh my…. does my ass look fat in this story? I can't decide whether to be flattered or whether I should worry you'll steal my thunder, darling (and yes, I so completely realize what I just did there — I am, after all, a professional). Lurvly tale, darling.

    Like

  15. I simply have no idea!!! I know that a bike which was stolen from our garden once wasn't covered as no force had been used in stealing it…

    That you appear to have missed that this was fiction is a huge compliment, thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. I gotta say insurance companies really are some of the scummiest people. I cant believe that “Acts of God” aren't covered. I mean with that theory doesn't that mean pretty much nothing is covered? I mean if we go with the God theory we are all acting out our predestination so pretty much everything that happens is an Act of God right?

    Like

  17. The Two Shoes Tuesday prompt was 'Crunch' but it was perfect because I'd already been formulating this in my head, over conversation with Joe, and thinking about recent local events. So it was all gloriously serendipitous.

    Like

  18. It was an Act of God that I was first. *snort* And you get 5 points for using the word asshat. Loved this. Totally FUN. Was there a prompt?

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

