Ten Things of Thankful #28

Well, lovelies. Christmas is nearly upon us, however we might feel, and in whatever way we might be preparing to celebrate, and the feelings of the season are heightened across the world (or, at least, across the affluent parts of it) as people scramble to get ready for The Big Day. For most, this means a level of emotional MANIC which is blessedly infrequent. I hope that your preparations, whatever they are, go well.

First things first. Last week we had a COMPETITION! Do you remember? It was EXTREMELY exciting. And now I am pleased to reveal the answers, and the WINNER.

Joy cannot STAND an open door, and feels decidedly uncomfortable in a room where one is open.

Zoe learned to whistle before being able even to walk or talk.

Christine risked life and limb walking down the hill of a HUGE roller-coaster, which had broken mid-ride.

Melissa is VERY spooked by cats and doesn’t like them at all. Cats LOVE her, though. All cats. All the time.

K2 was a member of her High-School debate team.

Kristi co-host traded kisses with a neighbour when they were both six years old. Oh, and the kisses were on the ASS!

Michelle taught in a school for the hearing-impaired.

Dyanne has two dead hamsters in a toilet-roll middle, in the freezer. I know – I’m scared, too!

Clark was born in a taxi-cab on the way to the hospital.

Which means yes, it was me who once got stuck in a bog, lost her boots and had to go to a piano lesson with half her clothes missing (because mud).

Oh dear a lot! So now you know!

Joy cannot STAND an open door, and feels decidedly uncomfortable in a room where one is open.

Zoe learned to whistle before being able even to walk or talk.

Christine risked life and limb walking down the hill of a HUGE roller-coaster, which had broken mid-ride.

Melissa is VERY spooked by cats and doesn’t like them at all. Cats LOVE her, though. All cats. All the time.

K2 was a member of her High-School debate team.

Kristi (of course) traded kisses with a neighbour when they were both six years old. Oh, and the kisses were on the ASS!

Michelle taught in a school for the hearing-impaired.

Dyanne has two dead hamsters in a toilet-roll middle, in the freezer. I know – I’m scared, too!

Clark was born in a taxi-cab on the way to the hospital.

Which means that yes, it was ME who once got stuck in a bog, lost her boots and had to go to a piano lesson with half her clothes missing (because mud).

There were an INCREDIBLE 28 entries.

And three people scored FULL MARKS. So their names went into the hat (or, rather, their initials on tiny pieces of paper, went into the hand) and Husby drew the winner.

May I have your attention, applause and adoration (or absolute, gut-wrenching envy) for our wonderful winner:

BETH!

So. There you have it. A wonderful end to the year. And yes, my friends, it is the end of the year for Ten Things of Thankful. This weekend is the final edition of 2013, and we’ll be back, Bigger and Better and MORE THANKFUL in the new year, on January 4th. I hope you’ll be there with us. It’s been such an awesome hop so far, and YOU have made it absofrigginlutely marvellous, by coming each week with your beautiful lists of the good, the challenging, the beautiful, the downright awful, and TURNING THEM GOOD.

You rock – each and every single one of you.

Here’s my list for the last of the year – my Thankfuls about the hop.

1. Thankful for the inception of this blog hop, the encouragement to make it happen, and the support and back-up of my wonderful co-hosts each week as we roll out the thankful goodness.

2. I love the positivity, the interaction, the community, the fun and the friends we’ve all had here. In comment boxes, all over each others’ blogs…across Facebook and Twitter…it’s a beautiful thing we’ve all helped to make.

3. It’s hugely, massively special that so many people care so genuinely. When any one of the TToT posts has been about finding thankfulness and gratitude in adversity, there has been an overwhelming response from other participants, offering support, care, affection and cheering-on. That has been humbling and a privilege to witness.

4. Learning more about the people who have come here each week, has been a pleasure and a joy. I feel I’ve really gotten to know SO many bloggers a whole lot better because of your willingness to share and be real.

5. The comments. Ohhhh the conversations we’ve had! The new trend of trying to get FIRST! on everyone’s blog. The fun we’ve had with Clark hopping around and posting his list through other people’s comment boxes. The moments where everyone’s commented together in a joyous melee…it’s amazing. Keep doing it.

6. The Secret Rule Book. Now there’s a story which has developed! First Clark had it, and used it, and now apparently I have it, in a keep (and I figure if I have a keep, I must have a castle, right?) protected by seven GuardVirgins…Good luck getting your way around them to steal any more rules! They can only be deactivated by the people who know the ritual dance…

7. The HIGH POINT of every weekend in the Blogosphere being this hop, you people, and your lists of wonderfulness.

8. Watching as people respond to the incredible warmth of welcome when they turn up for the first time.

9. The number of people (not just co-hosts) who make it to SO MANY other posts, to join in beautifully and share the fun of the hop with others.

10. *does a ritual dance* I’m thankful that I’m SO easily able to get a list of ten gorgeous things written, all about the Ten Things of Thankful.

You guys rock 🙂

During the coming
Christmas season
May you be blessed
With the spirit of the season,
which is peace,
The gladness of the season,
which is hope,
And the heart of the season,
which is love
Celtic Blessing
Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful
 Your hosts

92 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #28

  1. Blah blah blah, happy candles, I came close, blah de bleh de bleh…And I'm totally ignoring the whatever secret rule book because whatever and UGH you're killing me I mean I don't care about your closet club….
    Wait? I rock?

    Like

  2. Bianca, thanks so much for letting me know that – it's EXACTLY what the tool and discipline of thankfulness is for. I'm so glad it helped you, and it's such an honour to have been able to support you in that way, and a pleasure to hear that it was a success.

    I wish you every blessing over Christmas, and look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.

    Like

  3. Thank thank you for starting this blog hop. It definitely helps me reflect. I went through a rough patch over the summer & I was in a really bad place. This blog hop was one of the things that challenged me to be more optimistic. Happy Holidays & I look forward to joining you again in January!

    Like

  4. Well thank GOODNESS FOR THAT! Oh. Em. Gee! I've been TOTALLY bugging Michelle and Zoe about it all day to check that a) none of y'all were offended and b) I didn't do anything horrendous.

    Michelle said I looked cute.

    Zoe said that after an impromptu striptease I settled down and didn't snore.

    Guess who's my favourite today… 😉

    Like

  5. no! you did a remarkable job of falling asleep… we were staring for the longest time, thinking at first the video had frozen up.

    for all the world, you appeared to be looking down at the computer, deep in thought!… (as opposed to 2nd level REM sleep).

    Like

  6. Well, as with you, each person volunteered their arbitrary fact, and Dyanne certainly outed herself as The Creepiest Of Us All… and good for her 😀

    I'm so glad you're part of it, too 🙂 Thank you, and thank you, and YAY! for our beautiful hop 😀 *MWAHH*

    Like

  7. You ARE a good friend though, right? We're friends… 🙂

    Time limits us all, I promise.

    And no, I don't think I really have, apart from on the Ten Things page. I dunno if it's pertinent to re-write. Take a look and tell me what you think – I could do…

    Like

  8. Thanks for enlightening us with all the creepiness of the co-hosts that is going on here! The hamster story definitely wins!!

    As for your list, can I just say that I am so glad and proud to be part of this awesome hop. You are an awesome host and I am so happy – and thankful – that you came up with the idea! MWAH!!

    Like

  9. You are always and forever welcome Stephanie. It's changed mine, too – for SO much the better. Friendships which have grown and blossomed and become so beautiful, as WELL as that weekly prompt (sometimes so necessary) to be THANKFUL. To live Thankful. To recognise the blessings in my own life and to celebrate the blessings in the lives of others. It. Is. Amazing.

    Like

  10. This hop is really something so special, and I will forever be thankful to you for it, Lizzi. It has indeed changed my life and made me stop at least once a week, reflecting on the many big and small things that have enriched my life the previous days. Thank you so, so much for it!

    Like

  11. Frost and Burn…..ROFLMAO!!!! Awesome.

    We have never flushed a fish down the toily. It creeps Jim out for some reason (!) We bury them with all the other animals in the backyard (by other I mean lizards and ashes of cats). Damn lizards. Those SUCKED. I mean, what a lovely experience that was…..

    Like

  12. For Actual Reals. I woke up alone in the vid chat room shortly after 4am, and then realised, with HORROR, that I must've fallen asleep WHILE THEY WERE STILL TALKING…and then they went and left me there! Asleep. On video. And ooooohhhhhhhh dear a lot!

    I think we chatted for a good coupla hours (that I was awake for) and it was honestly SOMUCHFUN. You'd love it. We talk about everything and anything under the sun, as well as the Wakefield Doctrine and how it works IRL.

    We should get you set up on Google Hangouts ready for next time 🙂 Then even if it's only a quick nip in for 5 minutes, we'd get to say howdy to you…

    Like

  13. NO YOU DID NOT!?!? for reals? Like really fell asleep? Awww, poor Lizzi! It was really late for you, wasn't it? Wish I had been there to see that! I aaaalmost was too! GAH. It was very close, huh? I probably could of hopped on for 5 minutes had I had the google + vid thing all set up! I need to get on that so I'm all ready for next time. How long did you guys chat? An hour or so?

    Like

  14. Okay, I should've clarified – she explained to ME. On email. When I told her she creeped me out COMPLETELY with that fact.

    I have NO idea what freezer it was, or what their names were. Probably 'Frost' and 'Burn' by now…

    We buried our dead hamsters/gerbils, but we flushed dead fish down the toilet.

    I don't think we're allowed to dispose of dead pets in the trash here…there are rules…

    Like

  15. True dat, but yours was so full of giggles it ended up not being usable :p

    I gave up on that competition. The response was too low.

    It sure is a package full of good stuff. I expect it will give you much pleasure. And I look forward to the photos.

    Like

  16. OH, okay. Of course….I didn't see the post. That's why it's even MORE AMAZING that I got all 10 right, right? RIGHT? juuuuuust kidding. Well then, with that explanation it makes more sense, but yeah, still creepy to know that's in the freezer. Hope it was the garage freezer, and not next to the Ben & Jerry's. OH, that wasn't their name, was it? Sorry if it was. That's not what I meant. I had hamsters growing up. I think we threw them in the trash. How crappy now that I think of it. Why didn't we bury them? GAH. Poor Moon, Bourbon, Johnny, and Daisy! I'm going to call my mom and yell at her right now.

    Like

  17. *hangs head in shame* I have no leg to stand on. I concede to your awesome ninja blogger skillz. Because I, too, was supposedly only a little drunk, and instead of posting an epic ninja move on someone else's blog…I fell asleep in VidChat. And they all SAW!!

    I suck! But I have it on authority that I did not snore or drool, and I looked cute, and was most excellent at sleeping sitting up. But SO embarrassed!

    No hose. No argument. No anything… *hides face in hands*

    Like

  18. I will post photos FER SHER!!!! I'm good with that, right Lizzi? Who jumped in the pouty face photo game first?! Lol. I'm SO excited for that big, red, shiny package to get here! Photos will abound!!!

    Like

  19. She did explain. They have a family place of pet burial at some other place (holiday cottage? Parent's house? Somewhere…) and they freeze the bodies until their next visit, when they bury them and have a little ceremony of passing pet-ness. But they keep forgetting about the hamsters each time they go.

    But WTF is right.

    Like

  20. YOU'RE LETTING HER TACKLE ME???? I only had 2 beers for Pete's sake. If I was THAT drunk I couldn't have put together such a stealthy TToT, could I have? I'm a SUPAH NINJA!!!! *kicks air so fast no ones sees it*

    *waits for Chris – sees chris coming – let's her rev up and race towards her – then just before she reaches her I do a SUPAH NINJA move and jump into a nearby tree* *cue supah ninja fight music* You can put down the hose, Lizzi. I got this. IT'S ON!

    Like

  21. Ohhhhhh! An Echidna. Um. Wow, okay, so not only an explanation there, but a VIDEO! Wow, Beth, you seriously delivered the goods on this one!

    I…

    …don't really have anything I can say to that.

    Like

  22. OH the 4 headed PENIS! How could I forget! Okay, I actually learnt of this animal whilst reading an Australian's blog while my 6yo was sitting next to me on the couch. That's how I get all my good learnin' on these days….blogs. Anyhoo, it's a type of anteater species….well, I'm not going to do it justice. Here's the full low-down on them, INCLUDING A PENIS PHOTO! That's right people. Cuz that's what Beth brings to the table:
    http://pygmylorisreid.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/1-shaft-4-heads-the-echidnas-penis/

    BTW – this is not from the blog I was reading. Her blog I can't remember…It was a link from another blog…ugh. That's my life. And her post was a “top 10 animals in Australia”. Anyway…..

    Like

  23. Double poop? right after Clark rained peaches on my head (thank you, Clark-bar mwa!) and Sarah took back her poop and exploded me with happiness? Hmm.

    haha…I'll take a little poop on the head. I probably deserve it after my good luck at being picked outta the 3 that got 10 outta 10 right! Whew! (I know on the #5! I've got specific things I plan on storming through like a bull. I will be courageous this new year!) xoxoxo

    Like

  24. Joy, I'm so glad to know you, and that you're a part of this. I'm so impressed (knowing what small amount I do of the manic-ness of your life) that you started your post early and were ready to go. HUGE kudos to you for that.

    It definitely makes my soul smile, too.

    Happy Christmas to you, my friend 🙂

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

