Donnerstag im deutschen (Thanks Mike)

Wilkommen…

In a quite unprecedented turn of events, the madness that is the brain of one Mike J Mele has churned itself round and spat out a Liebster award in my direction. He got two, and felt the need to share them with some of his bloggy pals (well, it’s in the rules). His answers are pretty hilarious, though, so you should totally check them out!

In fairness, it’s a totally legitimate self-promotion technique, because he’s nominated some of the most awesome bloggers of our mutual acquaintance…and then chucked in a few friends at the end (I think so they don’t feel left out) So yeah. Thanks, friend πŸ˜‰

The awesome bloggers are playing it very cool and promising him posts (maybe) by next year, or not-at-all. Some of them are even HUGELY enthusiastic about the award (which adds to their awesomeness, imo).

I was…reticently grateful (but I was hungry at the time), especially after I saw the questions he’d posed as his eleven! Truly a set which could only come from the brain of someone who has a blog titled ‘The Insane Asylum’.

However, I got into the translation of ‘Liebster’ (‘dearest’, in case you can’t be bothered to look it up on Google translate) and I thought it was really quite sweet of him, and perhaps I should stop raining on his parade and just shutupandanswerthedamnquestions.

In German (no, okay, I won’t)

Compliance to the rules 11 random facts about me

1. I’m enough of a wordy smart-ass to know that what they’re actually looking for is 11 arbitrary facts.

2. I’m halfway through reading ‘I Capture the Castle’ by Dodie Smith. It’s pretty good.

3. I’m going to interrupt this list rightnow to go and eat pasta (with extra-garlicky homemade-by-Husby sauce (cos we’re both going down with lurgy, but we’re going down fighting)) and garlic bread, and catch up on Homeland.



4. Homeland was awesome. And there were doughnuts (for me and Husby – not in Homeland), because he had a job interview today and regardless of the outcome, the interview went well, and it’s for a job he thinks he’d enjoy.

5. I was so cold earlier that I ended up in two dressing gowns; both blue and slightly fluffy. I’ve not taken them off yet, and look a little like a big, blue bear (in my mind, anyway)

6. There’s a certain irony in telling patients “These drops might sting a little” whilst rubbing obligatory alcohol gel into the weather-induced dry-skin cuts in your hands…

7. Cinnamon Toast Crunch is my favourite cereal ever.

8. It only just occurred to me that it’s completely weird that I am so drawn to water (aesthetically and in terms of being IN it (swimming, paddling, dabbling toes etc) and yet I hate being rained on more than nearly anything else.

9. I have developed a reputation for being ‘less nurturing than a desert’ because I can kill off supposedly hardy, drought-resistant houseplants.

10. I’ve never seen Breaking Bad. And I’m tempted to not to, just so I can keep offhandedly saying “Oh. That. Never seen it” when people start raving about it (again and again and again)

11. If I came back as jam*, I would be homemade strawberry jam, because it’s the best jam in the world ever.

There. Um. Onwards to the next stage…

Answering Mike’s weird-ass questions

1. How do you feel about dropping the kids off at a public pool (taking a poop in a public restroom)?

Ew. Never ever ever ever unless it’s absolutely 100% necessary. Ever. I’m not quite at Sheldon level, with breakfast cereals organised by fibre content, but I’m a pretty well scheduled person and I ensure that I’m HOME!

2. Have you ever stole someone’s lunch when at work?

Never! I don’t steal.

3. Do you fart in public?

Discreetly – who doesn’t?

4. Stupidest thing you’ve ever done while you were drunk?

Was probably pretty tame, really.Β 

5. Have you ever been to jail/prison?

Only in Monopoly.

6. Have you ever turned a pair of underwear inside out just to get another day out of them?

Never ever.

7. Have you ever given a β€œhomeless” person money just because you felt guilty, then afterwards saw them using it for alcohol and felt like an ass?

I’ve never seen them using it for alcohol. I tend not to give money though – I tend to buy them a sandwich, a drink and a chocolate bar.

8. Would you rather get caught picking your nose or picking a wedgie?

Well, seeing as I already (probably didn’t get caught but did do this recently) wiped my nose on my hand, and then on my jogging bottoms while out running because I had no tissue with me…I’ll go with that.
In fairness, it was dark. And rainy. So it could’ve just been water I was wiping. Right up until I told you…Β 

9. Have you ever been in a house full of people who love you, only to feel sad because you didn’t get any love on Facebook, Twitter or any other form of social media outlet?

No, because I ALWAYS get love on Facebook and Twitter…I know the right people, ya see? I’m still not attached at the hip to my phone yet, so it’s okay – I’ve not gotten to the level where I’ll be checking frantically for updates whilst in a room full of IRL people I care about.

10. Have you ever voted for a president really expecting things to change for the better?

Easy. NO! Because I’ve never voted for a president. Ha!

11. When is the last time you wanted to punch someone in the throat?

Β Probably the most recent time was still a few weeks ago when a woman I was in line with called her young (say, 6 or 7) daughter a “twat”. And meant it. But I was in my NHS uniform and am not ready to lose my wonderful job just yet. So I seethed silently. And bitched to my colleague, who would have wanted to punch her in the throat (but for fear of losing his job) too.

What was next? Oh…yeah – somehow this isn’t in the rules, but seems obvious

Invent 11 questions for your nominated bloggers

1. What did you want to be when you were grown-up?

2. If you could take any qualification in the world, what would it be, and why?

3. What’s the most tired you’ve ever been?

4. What was your last ‘kairos moment’?

5. What did you eat for breakfast this morning?

6. What is the most perfect number?

7. The last time you got given a present, what was the occasion?

8. Which book do you keep coming back to?

9. What advice would you like to give the ‘you’ of ten years ago?

10. What part of ‘now’ would you like to remind the ‘you’ in ten years’ time about?

11. What was the last thing which made you catch your breath in awe?

And finally, the final, final part (ermagawrsh! Dear nominees, if you feel like doing this part (or any of it) do feel free to NOT do any parts you find too arduous!)

Nominate 11 other bloggers to receive the award and complete the tasks

Truth be told, this is the part I was really looking forward to, because there are some CRACKING good but less well known (to me, anyway) bloggers on the Ten Things of Thankful hop, and I’d really love to get to know them a bit better…and drop them in it for your enjoyment. You’re welcome.

1. Stephanie – Life Unexpectedly

2. Joell – Red Van Ramblings

3. Sandy – Mother of Imperfection

4. Mike – Joe Floggers

5. Louise – Baby Gates Down

6. Diane – Our Adventures With Riley

7. Piper** – Talk About Cheesecake

8. Beth*** – Writer B is Me

9. Mystique**** – Sayin’ I Love You

10. Lisa – The Meaning of Me

11. Natalia – Sophia’s Unique World

So join (hopefully) all these lovelies, and (hopefully) all my lovely co-hostini, on Saturday AND Sunday for TToT the 24th (ONE WEEK LEFT TIL THE BIG 25TH PARTY!!!!!)

Ten Things of Thankful

*I have NO idea how this would happen…

**Okay, I feel like I know Piper quite well. But you might not. And she’s well worth reading.

***You know Beth. You ALL know Beth. But I adore Beth and find her hilarious and totally want to see what she does with this.

****Not her real name. Because she’s never told me! 10 Awesome Points to anyone who can figure it out, otherwise ‘Mystique’ she shall remain to me πŸ˜‰

40 thoughts on “Donnerstag im deutschen (Thanks Mike)

  1. Sometimes comments here get 'disappeared' *whispers* I blame Google! Don't tell!

    Thank you for the (tardy) congrats, and YAY. Glad you accepted. Looking forward to your acceptance, and of COURSE you can break or bend any rules you want πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Okay, did I seriously not comment on this??? Because I was SO sure that I had. Well, dang it. So, I heartily congratulate you (somewhat tardily!) on your award and humbly accept my nomination! I am working on my post…it is really hard to come up with all those things, especially after that whole “tell me ___ number of things about you” thing going around on FB. I had to do 4 things. I might cheat and reuse some of those. Would that be wrong?? LOL! Anyway, thanks for the recognition, girl!! β™₯

    Like

  3. Hehehe thanks. And you're VERY welcome – I'm really looking forward to seeing what you do with it πŸ˜€ I hope your doozy week has let up on you, and you get some peace and quiet over the weekend.

    Garlicky is awesome, and we do rather love a clove or two of the good stuff. I think it even helped – the lurgy has stayed very 'background' so far…

    I love that your daughter is the only non-plant-killer πŸ˜€ I'm feeling less rubbish about my poor plants as more people confess that they, too, are less nurturing than a desert πŸ˜€

    I don't know what Sons of Anarchy is, either – I shall make out as if that didn't matter at all πŸ˜‰

    Happy Posting πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Well, congrats to you and a very sincere thank you for thinking of me! So sorry for my tardy thanks but it has been a doozy of a week and I've been away from the desk far too long. I intend to catch up on my reading and posting this weekend and shall be starting with your gracious nomination πŸ™‚
    I absolutely love the fun you had with this and let me just say that garlicky is the only way to eat pasta in my semi-Italian opinion! I also have killed every houseplant ever owned. We have one now and it only lives because my darling daughter cares for it. I'm a Sons of Anarchy girl myself so I've never seen Breaking Bad either but I may have to take a look some day!
    Now, if you'll excuse me, I have some posting to do….thanks again, Lizzi!

    Like

  5. congratulations. good answers and I wasn't real observant at the end, I missed where you nominated me. Thanks! I am going to take a little bit to compose the post for this award. Thank you so much!

    Like

  6. They're worth the look, for sure πŸ™‚ I think that's the best thing about the award – the chance to share some really good but perhaps less well-known blogs, and get people connecting πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Thank you again so much – this made my day when I saw it πŸ™‚ And again now when I see it on THE BIG(ger) screen now that I had the chance to get to my computer. I know some, but not all of the others on the list – but I will surf about and check them out – it's a fun way to find new bloggers.

    Best – Louise

    Like

  8. LOL. He's a sweetheart. I have several beautiful vases, just NO idea what to do thence! But it's great that you just jammed them on in the wrong sized vase πŸ™‚ Makes me smile, that does.

    Like

  9. Don't. Like. Jam? Wow! I've never met one of your kind before! What do you put on toast? *baffled*

    I'm glad you kill houseplants, too. What do you do with cut flowers?

    I'm looking forward to hot flashes one day; sounds like they'll herald the first time ever I'm really warm.

    Like

  10. …what Dyannne said! with one exception: If they can live on other peoples misery and depression, house plants seem to live in my office.

    Can I come back as lemon curd?

    Like

  11. Hahaha! So funny you asked about fresh flowers. COW just brought some home for me yesterday. I don't even have a vase the right size, so they are just kind of falling around the edge of it. So pathetic.

    Like

  12. Your arbitrary facts are the best ones I've ever read, Lizzi. And we have lots in common: I love Homeland, I'm always cold, and I would totally come back as strawberry jam! We're soul mates, I tell you.

    Like

  13. Ack. I was so hoping no-one would pick up on that. Because I totally had a brain-fart and thought it was Thursday today…it's not *sadface*

    LOL! Probably! You should do it anyway though.

    No…you should tell me more about this! Sounds intriguing.

    Meh. I still like being able to say I've never seen it…

    Like

  14. “Thursday in German” (… I know just the tiniest bit of German…)

    and crap, this reminds me I got this award a really long time ago and haven't gotten around to answering the questions and posting it! I wonder if it's too late…

    ….and then you said “ermagawrsh” ! You've seen my “ermagerd” rabbit haven't you?

    and I'll say it again…. you SHOULD watch Breaking Bad. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  15. LOL. You're one of the funniest bloggers I know (well, who's frequently funny on purpose, yaknow?) I count you up there with Darcy and Vikki for giggles…

    And getting it done now for the weekend? AttaBeth πŸ˜€ Awesome.

    Like

  16. Hell yeah I'm gonna join in and answer! Are you kidding?! I plan to go balls-to-the-wall with this. That's how I roll, baby. πŸ™‚ Working on it now, actually cuz I'd like to pre-set it to post while I'm out of town this weekend. That'd be coolio. Working hard to make that happen, cuz as you know, these award posts are a lot of homework! FUN homework.
    And, as for the ***, it means a lot that you think I'm “hilarious”. Thanks for the compliment(s). Coming from you, that's HUGE.

    Like

  17. Whoot! I hope the show was awesome fun.

    You're very welcome. I'm glad you're easily amused, because it means you'll probably join in and write an answer. I'm counting on ya πŸ˜‰

    And, uh…because I'm The Considerer, and I want you (and your readers) to have something to CONSIDER :p

    One day enough people will get hit with one of these from me (with the non-flavour-of-ice-cream-questions) and stop nominating me for them any more πŸ˜‰

    Thanks πŸ˜€ I like being funny…

    Like

  18. I'm almost tempted to register the 'GownBear' as a new species and have done with it. The warm, fluffy robe is essential for this weather, as are layers – many of them! I think the most I went to last winter was 7.

    I'm glad I cracked you up πŸ˜€ And that you kill house plants as well. That makes me feel less terrible. How are you on flower arranging? On the (very rare) occasion that I get cut flowers, they come out of the packet in their bunch and go into the vase in their bunch – I figure the people who put the bunch together know what they were doing…

    Mike's mad in the head, in the best of ways. His questions made me giggle.

    And thanks – I thought so – looking forward to seeing what they come up with…

    Like

  19. Oh look! More, and this is lovely πŸ˜€

    That last bit made me grin – I'm so glad you agree. Because this whole 'it's random' thing bugs me. Because it's ARBITRARY, guys!

    Enough wordranting πŸ˜‰

    I'm glad you would buy a homeless person chocolate. I always feel uncomfortable offering anything – I get terribly conflicted about it, because…I guess I feel begging *is* an affront to human dignity, and by offering something, I'm buying into that lack by agreeing and (with actions) confirming “Yes, you are begging, and here I am, magnanimously responding to your beg”

    I think I might like to come back as jam…

    Like

  20. Yup – copy and paste my questions, take them on home (to your blog) and get going πŸ˜€ Can't wait to see your answers.

    Mike – yeah – he's one hilarious dude, and I think his questions are absolutely true to his personality πŸ˜€

    Like

  21. I'm home from the show and can finally read this full-screen and actually comment – YAY! First – thank you, again, you know this kinda shit excites the bejesus outta me (I'm very easily amused), plus I'm so grateful, and they're a ton of fun – so yeah – watch out! I'm gonna have a BALL with this…hehehe. GAWD your questions are hard! Can't it just be “what's your favorite flavor ice cream?” Gah. I have to think and stuff, Lizzi! πŸ™‚
    Again, you did awesome on Mike Mele's questions! Great post all around. You're so funny!

    Like

  22. As I sit in my 4 layers of clothing, the top layer being a warm, fluffy robe, I get ya.
    Your arbitrary facts cracked me up. Especially 3,8,10, and 11. I, too, kill all house plants. I've given up. I have never seen Breaking Bad, either.
    That Mike has some hilarious questions. You answered them admirably.
    FANTASTIC choices for the bloggers to whom you pass the award!

    Like

  23. I wasn't finished…

    I thoroughly enjoyed the idea of coming back as jam…and the fact that you have no idea how that would happen, exactly. Everyone farts in public – if they say they don't, they're lying. And I absolutely love that you buy hungry homeless strangers a chocolate bar. That gets me right in the heart because I would, too. Just because they are down on their luck doesn't mean they wouldn't love a little something sweet just like everybody else…a little joy in their day. Good for you, Lizzi. You are good people.

    And it is most definitely arbitrary, not random. Words are my thing, too. πŸ™‚

    Like

  24. Ah, now I see…well, jeez, I'm honored. Thanks, Lizzi!

    I love Mike's questions…way entertaining.

    And I am one of those people who simply cannot help herself when challenges like these are presented. So…I'm on it. Do I just do and fire away?

    Like

  25. Well give them time! This has barely been there. Also dead impressed that I at least got the 'M' right. I shall award myself two Awesome Points for that πŸ™‚ You can have the other eight πŸ˜‰

    Glad you're pleased to be nominated πŸ˜€

    Like

  26. Wow, you nominated me!!!! Thanks so much Lizzi!!! I haven't told you my name, I know. Since you're giving ten awesome points to whoever can guess, should I still not tell you? I don't think anyone wants to guess…Marlene πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

