Abiding by principle

It’s NaNoGraMo (as advertised on last weekend’s Ten Things of Thankful hop) and I’ve even invented the Twitter hashtag #TweetThanksMonth to try to hammer home to myself that there are things to be thankful for.

Because I really, really need them right now.

Because last Saturday was one year since losing our first Neverborn, Jesse.

And next Saturday is when our second, Sam, should’ve been due.

So I’m biting my tongue and trying to avoid the world crumbling around me as I stick to my highblown principles here:

“If you haven’t anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”

(…but I will give you a song)

28 thoughts on “Abiding by principle

  1. Thanks Louise. That's so nice to hear ๐Ÿ™‚ I'm really happy if I can in any way provide something positive and enjoyable for others through this blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    And thanks for the thoughts.

    Like

  2. I've only just read this now and wanted to let you know that I'm thinking about you in what I can only imagine is a very difficult and emotional week for you. I also wanted to tell you how your blog has been very motivating and such a positive influence for me. Looking at the comments above, I see many others feel similarly. Just wanted to say I'll be thinking of you through this weekend – best – Louise

    Like

  3. It's become a core reason I have this blog and do this writing thing…

    But I loved your post. As well as being a very pleasant shiny distraction, it's a smashing Our Land piece, and goodness knows, I do love me some Our Land.

    Thank you for writing it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. You have love to give, and so much empathy to offer others who have experienced loss… and the fact that you took time to read and respond to my post today blew me away after reading Abiding by Principle. Thank you.

    Like

  5. Thank you so much.

    I don't know if it's all the prayers and warm thoughts which have been sent my way, but I've felt on much more of an even keel today. Far less desperate. But maybe grief's like that. Holding no expectations of myself – just enjoying the reprieve as long as it lasts.

    *hugs*

    Like

  6. Oh love- I am praying for you- and will continue to lift you up as the next anniversary comes… and always ALWAYS know, your heart is precious. Precious in pain, and precious in gratitude. Precious when quiet, and precious when crying. Precious always. In pain and in purpose. Both come together in and around you- always.

    Don't ever forget what a gift you are- to me, to many.

    I'm here. XO

    Like

  7. I'm trying not to expect too much. I just wish that this, in isolation, were all I had to manage at the moment. The thought of that seems easier. Anyway *zips lips* thank you, and for your emails.

    Like

  8. I love that song.

    Even though I am very committed to finding things for which to be thankful, I also recognize that there are times when what is needed is a long cry. Feeling grief does not make one unthankful. (Even Jesus wept.) Be patient and kind to yourself. Don't expect more from yourself than you would expect from a friend. Hugs to you, my friend.

    Like

  9. It is easy to understand why this is the hardest time of the year for you, Lizzi. It is a time of heartbreaking memories and loss. I assure you that God is right there and will see you thru, even if you find it hard to think thankful thoughts right now. How about instead if we all just be thankful for you! I know that I am thankful for all the good you are sharing on your blog. Sometimes thanks comes easy, sometimes we really have to work to even accept that there might be some good, but you will find that light again, I promise. Sending lots of hugs and prayers your way this week. Two little angels are wanting to see you smile again. XOXO

    Like

  10. though you may very well never be directly aware of it, your efforts here has made a difference to others. the benefit of being able to 'reach' uncountable people in the blogsphere comes at the price of not (necessarily) seeing the positive effects you or any of us have on another person. but that effect is there, the ripples disappear, the effect of the power of example does not.

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

