Ten Things of Thankful #21

This evening I had a totally unanticipated moment! I’m due to a Top Secret Event next weekend, and was trying to figure out an outfit to wear (as the event necessitates Buying A Dress).

One thing led to another, and because I’m so utterly clueless about clothes and fashion, I ended up exploiting every single link I possibly could (whilst maintaining the Top Secret) to get feedback from friends, acquaintances and random strangers, on Which Outfit To Wear.

From there, after the Choice Of Dress was narrowed to two, I realised that I needed to know Which Shoes would go with the dress.

And so the cycle began again.

And after that, came the question of makeup – false eyelashes, eye liner, lipstick…some things I don’t remember, certainly none of which I own!

So somehow, I completely and utterly lost track of time and FORGOT ALL ABOUT TEN THINGS OF THANKFUL!

It was only when Jen Hall nudged me on Twitter (see, it’s SO useful) to ask what time the gig started that I realised I had less than an HOUR to go before lift-off, and NO POST!

Cue mild panic!

So today, you have Jen to thank that this is here at all. Otherwise I might still be sucked into some Pintrest board, zooming between there and Google and Twitter and Facebook, trying to decide on a dress and whether or not I need to get a (second-hand, antique, upcycled) fur.

Being A Girl is EXHAUSTING! And I don’t really understand it very well!


Β Can’t wait to get back to just being a Lizzi!

Β So here are my Things, all at once, in a rush, and (sorry) without much thought!

1. WE HAVE A NEW CO-HOST! Which is bittersweet, because it means bidding a fond farewell to Louise (Hexagonal Patchwork), who has done a bang-up job of being part of this from the beginning, but needs time now to focus on Real life.

On the other, much more joyful hand, it means we welcome my gorgeous, talented interviewer (and good friend, and kick-ass Scrabble-player) from last week – OH YES, IT’S MELISSA! – into the fold as our Tenth Co-host. So WHOOP IT UP πŸ˜€

2. I’ll put this here, because I’m going to need reminding that I said it, and to GO FOR IT! One of my awesome new colleagues and I have talked ourselves into trying to sign up for the 2015 London Marathon! We’ll need to be affiliated with some kind of charity to get a space (probably), but he knows some people, so it might happen as a work-linked thing, but would still be AWESOME.

3. My ultimate goal, once I’ve done the London Marathon (if I get the opportunity) is to run one of the Tough Mudder events, because they look utterly, completely AMAZINGLY fun.

4. I am LOVING that I have a smartphone, and when I remember to charge it, I can TWEET on my lunchbreak. You probably have been doing this for the last bajillion years, because you’ve had a smartphone for ages, and you fully understand Twitter (not you, Christine, I know) but for me, it’s still a wonderful novelty and I’m thoroughly enjoying that I can get a little influx of blogginess halfway through the day. If you and I aren’t already friends, add me @LRConsiderer

5. I am hugely happy with how the exercise gig is going. Not only did I run the 5k GO-GO-GLOW in 32 minutes 15 seconds (raising a whopping Β£700 (yes, it went up – yippee!)) for Cancer Research UK, I managed 12k in 1hr 25 the other night, and will continue to improve ready to start doing small training runs (of say, 5k up to 20k, at first) to get better. I also ran to netball tonight, where there were relatively few of us, and I was on the winning team (gratifying) and scored lots of goals (very gratifying) and didn’t need to cheat much (hugely gratifying).

6. After much badgering and harassment loving and encouraging queries about whether I am ever planning to write a book, novel or collection of short stories of any kind, I can announce that I have Plans On Paper. And many thanks to Lori, of The Next Step, for being the first to swap notes and tell me I should probably give it a try. This now being filed under Top, TOP Secret πŸ˜‰

(Yes, I’m a tease, but it’s my blog and I can do what I want to)

7. Talking of BOOKS, did you know that the one I’ve contributed to is now available as a REAL LIVE BOOK in the UK, via Amazon.

8. I’m SUPER happy that the general response to my ‘Pity Face’ competition (see yesterday’s post for more) has gone down REALLY WELL. Less pleased that my ‘Post your entries here’ thread on the Considerings Facebook Page has been largely ignored, bar one shred of love from the ever-marvellous Beth Teliho. So she gets a shout-out for being AWESOMEROCKIN’ and the rest of everyone can receive jubblicious levels of gratitude and affection whenever any of y’all bother to post a photo πŸ˜‰

9. HUGELY thankful that I got to go out and have a lovely curry with a group of friends from church on Thursday. I needed it, and it worked. I discovered that my strategy of surrounding myself with people at times of crisis is DEFINITELY effective. So YAY!

10. Very thankful that I get to spend the day with Niece and Neff and do wonderful things in the afternoon with them (not sure what yet) and just absorb the loveliness of being around them, hearing their voices and their thoughts and hugging their little wonderful selves.

TAG! You’re it – link yourself in πŸ˜€

Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful
Β Your hosts

69 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #21

  1. I think there may be a section where you run THROUGH fire – I suspect the (incredibly) stringent Health And Safety bods would not allow actually BEING on fire. So it's all good πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. While it's wonderful that you're taking this whole running thing to the next level, I have to wonder – does the Tough Mudder actually require you to be on fire? If so, you might want to reconsider your inclusion in this event. Just sayin'.

    Like

  3. Hehehe glad you liked it.

    Smartphones…meh. I like it, I LOVE tweeting on my lunch breaks now, but am still finding myself TimeZoned out of it…rebooting must be a pain though.

    And ohhhh dear a lot!

    Yes – on fire. Like I hope I will be in the race πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. That picture kills me!
    I just got my smartphone last year and let me tell you…it is far from smart. I have a blackberry and I can't count how many times (yes I can it is 2342934) that I have to reboot the mother trucker in a day.
    *Curse you BBM!!!
    I guess that it forces me to talk to my real family. That's probably why I drink so much.
    Is that guy on fire?
    Kidding.

    Like

  5. WOW Jak, I do love your comments – it's like a gorgeous big comment banquet, rather than a 'keeps you going' kind of snack-size one πŸ™‚

    Okayyy lemme try and respond.

    No. I didn't do this in an hour. I was late. It took me an hour and 40 mins.

    I have (very briefly) considered NaNoWriMo but I fear I wouldn't stand up to the pressure, though I admire anyone who does! I want to get this novel done, without feeling I MUST, and enjoy doing it, as I'm not in any kind of rush. I have a plan, now on the computer, and my wonderful novel-writing support blogger, Lori, has looked it over and been very encouragingly enthusiastic about it.

    Worried about an outfit?? LOL because there's NOTHING AT ALL terrifying at the thought of being naked with cake. But no, I guess you're right – I don't need to worry about an outfit…

    Yes, I think crazy is a fair assessment πŸ˜‰ I shouldn't think they put Channing Tatum there for the guys…yaknow πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I'm more of a Vin Diesel gal, myself.

    I'm SO looking forward to Tough Mudder, even though it's a coupla years off yet. It's gonna be AMAZING.

    I'll keep going on the exercise though, forsure. Need to start pushing myself. I can do a pretty comfy 10k, and so I feel I need to extend my distance now.

    Don't worry πŸ™‚ I don't expect y'all to keep track of everything I do, but yes – I am a 'huge church-goer', and I have wonderful friends there. It's a gorgeous community-centric place, with genuine warmth and relationships with others. There's a LOT of care which happens there, both for the members, and the wider community of people in this part of the city.

    Hope your endeavours go really well Jak, and DO come back for the 25th, at least πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Way later in the week than I had expected to get to do my “rounds” but here I be. You seriously wrote all this, and nabbed pictures, in an hour time frame? That is insane. It would take me at least 3 hours to do it.

    Take care Hex 😦 I just recently began to make visits, but I hope you get your IRL affairs seen to and in order, whatever they may be.

    Hello, Melissa…

    It's awesome you are thinking of writing a book. Have you looked into NaNoWriMo? 50k words in Nov, which is about 1667 words a day or something? You easily do that or more in each blog post you do. I'd think you could do both blogging and that and work and hunt n slay a dragon in a month easily. Maybe look into it? Maybe it isn't international? That's something I'm a bit clueless on…

    All I know is I won't likely be able to do a whole lot of blogging during Nov if I plan to hit my daily counts and succeed. It's already been a struggle to write just about anything, so doing NaNo may be a baaaad soul crushing idea.

    I really like your little picture. I bet you are super thankful that you won't have to worry about an outfit for TToT25, amirite? Right!

    You are one crazy person. A marathon (again congrats on the run and donations) and a Tough Mudder? We have those here in various forms. Warrior Dashes and such. Screw that, I would die like 3 times over. You are pretty hardcore, but are you sure you qualify for that new marathon? I mean… How does London find so many virgins? Then convinces them to all converge at one place to run? This sounds like a place I should be O_o Do they put Channing Tatum at the finish line or something? Sounds more dangerous than the tough mudder! πŸ˜‰

    Congrats again on your piece in the book. I noticed it said UK so is the physical form only available in the UK?

    Kudos on the exercising and times on your runs, that is awesome. Keep up the good work!

    I feel bad, because I don't honestly recall you being a huge church-goer. I apologize. Glad you have friends that can be there and supportive in times of crisis and need. It can make a world of difference.

    Not sure how much I will be “present” in the coming weeks. Good luck with everything!

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  7. I recognised you, Linda πŸ™‚ Glad you've been having a gorgeous weekend of reading. What's the book? And also, how lovely to be able to indulge in ACTUALLY not putting down a really good page-turner.

    Glad you popped in though – it's good to see you.

    Feel free to be inspired by anything you see on this hop πŸ˜‰

    Like

  8. The girl thing does sound darn hard. I didn't participate in Ten Thankfuls because I was reading a great book. But I wanted to read and comment on a few. Of course the one thing in your list is your goal to do the London Marathon. You go girl! I don't have that desire, but maybe your thankfuls will inspire me. Let's hope so.

    Like

  9. Hehehe you're so welcome, Rachel, and thanks for being such a good sport, both for joining in here (and not griping about me strong-arming you into it) and for that bizarre but awesome conversation the other night. SO much fun! I still have no idea what we were talking about!

    LOL! Get thyself out into the green gym – let me know how it goes πŸ˜‰

    I hope I'd be an amazing author – we'll see! And I hope the current book goes a LONG way to helping! Thanks.

    Hope your week is awesome πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. Hi Lizzi,

    I am so happy you invited me to your blog and for getting to know your humorous side πŸ™‚ From your list, #4 I also love my smartphone! I use it much more than I do my computer and was actually on it when the three of us were up so late. I couldn't keep up well from my phone and felt like I was always a conversation behind..lol. That was a blast! #5 You make me want to be more fit. We went out to get our family pics taken today and I asked if they could photoshop me out of some of them because I have gained a lot of weight over the past year or so 😦 #6 I think you would be an amazing author! #7 The book you helped with seems like it would help many women to make it through a difficult time. Have a great week!

    Like

  11. YAY! Good to see you back again πŸ˜€

    Thank you – and yes, the dress hunting was a lot of effort, though it was all conducted through the internet, so no physical activity was incurred.

    LOL πŸ˜€ I know I once managed to ring my mum, twice, while she was out for an evening at the Royal Albert Hall for something. I wanted to ask a cooking question. Think I was about 19….

    She was less than impressed when I said that she should've put it on silent, and claimed she didn't know how πŸ˜‰

    Like

  12. I'm kinda late at the hop this week, but at least I'm here – first time in ages!
    Good for you doing so well at running and aiming for the marathon! And it sounds as if you already did a marathon with all that dress-hunting! And good for you mastering tweeting on a smart phone. I had one for 2 years, and never got the hang of it, but now have a new one that promises it will make things easier for me. Mind you, it couldn't get much worse than the first one- I'd had it a day when I was at an event at the Edinburgh book festival and thought I'd switched it off. I thought wrong. My kids were at another event, and my one was running late. So they rang me. I switched to silent and tried to text them – with the phone in my handbag. Except I hadn't put it on silent. So they rang me again. And again and …
    Eventually I found the off switch.

    Like

  13. Aw that's a shame 😦 Are you in for any of this Weather we're due? They're now calling it Windageddon, but it's moved upcountry and should miss my city, which is a relief. Glad you have stairs – it's always helpful to know that progress is being made.

    I'll try to get Christine to find out more about the 'running together but far apart' thing.

    Put one on your blog at some point. Did you know that Michelle (our co-host at Getting Literal) runs a Creative Buzz hop every Monday? You could enter some in there and get some feedback if you wanted. Tomorrow's theme is 'chaos'.

    If you get up in the morning and you want to write, you're a writer. Skill comes with practice, so keep doing it.

    Like

  14. Didn't get to walk in the woods this weekend. Saturday was over too quickly and today we had rain showers on and off. But we took a walk over to the house and checked out the progress. We have stairs now πŸ˜‰

    We could totally do the running together in different places-thing. Can't wait for my lungs to heal so I can go running again!

    The problem with the book is that what I've written so far are weird modern (non-rhyming) poems, almost short-story like. I've definitely read some crap that actually got published and made someone out there a few bucks or more, but when has anyone ever bought their last volume of poems? Except students that have to for some English class.. I wish I could write 😦

    Like

  15. I've already been sub-contracted as 'The Muscle' for various bods, so I need to be able to live up to the role! Simply improving my credentials.

    Yeah, I did a LOT of voting and connecting on Twitter. It was easier. Could connect to people simply and effectively. Was great, and thanks for your input, Dyanne.

    Heheh πŸ˜€

    Please do!!

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

