Ten Things of Thankful #20

It’s time to GOGOGLOW

Tonight is the night of the ‘Twilight Run’ – the Race for Life:
the moment you’ve all been waiting for!
And my Things of Thankful will be aaaaaaaaaaaall about it
Because it is FINISHED πŸ˜€
1. I’m very thankful for Husby’s support in helping me come up with an idea to be ‘glowy’ and for getting the glowsticks and spending AGES gluing them all together into a long line, and a part for a crown.Β 
It was a great effort, but sadly it all fell apart even as I tried to get wrapped up in them, so I improvised. Then 500m into the run, it all fell off, and I had to carry it, and about halfway around the course, I was so fed up of carrying a perpetually near-to-escaping bundle of glowsticks that I dumped them all in a bin.
2. I’m really grateful that my CinemaFriend (who is, by the way, a hardcore vlogger, and who made a VIDEO of me (more on that tomorrow)) came over to support me, to cheer me on, and to video my efforts.
3. THE MOOOOONNNNNEEEEEYYYYYYY! And really, the whole point – to support Cancer Research UK as they battle against all types of cancer. They gave us some statistics tonight after our warm-up; Β 
Eight out of 10 women now survive breast cancer for more than five years, compared with five out of 10 women in the 1970s

Thanks to our generous supporters and heroic researchers, childhood cancer is a success story in the UK. Back In the 1960s, only around a quarter of children with cancer survived. Today, three quarters are cured and our work has been at the heart of this amazing progress.

Β Thanks to our supporters, testicular cancer is one of research’s great success stories. Today more than nine out of ten men are cured, compared to only around seven out of ten in the 1970s.

Compared to the 1970s, twice as many people today survive non-Hodgkin lymphoma for at least 10 years, and people with leukaemia are four times as likely to survive. And four out of five people can now expect to survive Hodgkin’s lymphoma for 10 years or more, compared to fewer than half of patients in the 1970s.

Because of YOU GUYS, this run raised over Β£580 to go towards the cause. Thank you so much.

And the reason for it all (for me) begins right here, with Dyanne…

4. There was a super-fun warm-up before the event, as we waited for it to get properly dark so that everyone’s glowsticks and fairy lights and running lights and fairy wings and flashing ears and ANYTHING sparkly would show up well. Some gym-bunnies were up on the stage teaching us a Bollywood-style aerobics session thing. Which was way fun. And certainly warm. And left me with a TOTAL earworm, but a great one – come and listen here, then read the rest. See if you get it stuck in your brain, too!

This was my ‘lotus’ something…

Β 5. I’m thankful for all the volunteers and stewards who were positioned liberally throughout the course wearing lights and big foam hands and giant glowsticks to point the way through the VERY dark pathways. They cheered us on, shouted encouragement to the runners, told us how many km were left to run, and directed us through the course. They were super.

6. I am thankful for my trainers, which ran me through it, the few glowsticks I did manage to retain about my person, my race number and ‘reason’ panel, and MY MEDAL! Yes – I got a bona fide MEDAL for doing this πŸ˜€

7. My TIME! I was utterly amazed and astonished and SO pleased to finish the 5k in 32 minutes, 15 seconds. WOW! I really didn’t think I’d be able to do it, but I managed to get to the front of the ‘pack’ and (largely) stay there. Although I was passed by a great many runners, I’m pretty definite that I came in the top 100 (out of over 800 people)

8. HOT SHOWER! ’nuff said.

9. And a BIG sit down collapse into a soft, comfy chair after I was clean and in slobby clothes.

10.Β  Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaand gorgeous home-cooked chilli burritos for dinner, sat in front of Happy Feet, with my CinemaFriend, being chill and gradually getting over the aches and fatigues of the race.

So….see you tomorrow for the video? πŸ˜€

Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful
Β Your hosts

72 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #20

  1. Bwahaha I promise you I deserve little to none of the scary reputationn ( I think) but can't possibly begin to comment on the absolutely valid feelings of abject terror which may be stricken into your quavering heart by one or more of my 'Thugs'.

    The run was awesome fun. I highly recommend it as an exercise. And yes, video. Awesomeness πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Whew, almost passed out without making this visit… I wasn't waiting for you to be one of the last due to the fear of facing the possibility of you beating me to a bloody pulp over my absence* or that you would hire β€” nay, command! β€” one of your Thugs of Pigwrangloria to do the deed for you** or that your TToT Mafia is growing exponentially and your levels of clout and popularity are expanding and intimidate me*** and if I say the wrong thing I will wake up one morning to find I've spent the evening sharing my bed with the decapitated head of a horse…****

    But really, I almost fell asleep multiple times*****

    Wow, that is really awesome, Lizzi! A 5k for a great cause dedicated to Dyanne? That is so fantastic. Congratulations on participating and raising money! That looks like a really fun 5k (I'm not sure we have one like that here or not), and I hope no one got hurt running in the dark.

    It's a shame your glowstick contraption kept felling apart, maybe next time there can be something better to hold it all together with?

    That sounds like a great time to complete your run in too! I'm so jealous, because I had wanted to run in The Color Run 5k here this Summer, but never did. Are you going to be participating in another soon?

    I'm going to hop over to the next post and see if there is a video up, which you seemed to be hinting at.

    *But there is that…
    **There's that too…
    ***And then there is that…
    ****Yeah, you scare the fucken shit out of me! ACK!
    *****So the story shall go…******
    ******for fear of my life

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  3. Isn't it just. I'm aiming to keep going til they get 10/10 πŸ˜€

    LOL read it anywhich way you want – it's all the same to me πŸ™‚

    And yes. At the moment I couldn't agree with you more, and it's the sincerest hope of my heart that we end up as little old uglies, still in love and still holding hands πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. 8 in 10…that is a beautiful survival number.
    I'm so proud of you. I read this all sorts of backwards from the other post. Damn it.
    You're one lucky gal to have a husband like that. He just might be a keeper.

    Like

  5. P.J. that's such a super effort on your part. I hope that one day I can say I've been as persistent in my support πŸ™‚ I'm so glad that you raise lots each year – that's awesome πŸ˜€ Congrats.

    Like

  6. Anytime people fight against cancer is a good thing. I participate in an event here every year and have been for about seven years. I am always astonished with how much money we raise and realize there's always people willing to help. Great job!

    Like

  7. Congrats on the run, and especially your time, that's so awesome!! Thank you for your great lobby work on the issue, and for raising all that money for cancer research. Love your idea with the glowy sticks, even though they didn't stay on all the way. Keep it up!!

    Like

  8. It's a super idea, and I really hope that they have another one next year. I'll have to prepare something really glowy for the next one.

    And the money raised by my kind, generous friends, is PHENOMENAL. I've been so pleased to be able to do it πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. What a FUN idea for a 5K fundraiser/run! I love it – glow sticks! So sorry they wouldn't cooperate 😦 BUT – you raised a tremendous amount of money, and you know that I love it that you ran in support of Dyanne πŸ™‚ Just fantastic, Lizzie!

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

