Going Deep

As I park at the harbour and check the weather again for the last time, I can feel myself begin to unwind. It’s a perfect day with the sky stretching blue as far as the eye can see and the water sparkling, ruffled with cats paws as a gentle breeze plays over it. A special place, this harbour – filled with memories.

I proposed here. And was accepted, joyfully, with excitement and arms flung around me. I remember thinking that nothing could ever spoil that moment as I hugged back fiercely, clasping the warmth and shape of my (now) wife-to-be to me, drinking in her perfume and promising her forever.

A year later we brought our child here, watched her eyes widen as she saw the flotilla of little yachts, clinker-built fishing boats and the occasional Sunseeker all swaying gently against the expansive backdrop of ocean.

I remember the first time we all went out on the boat as a family – the engine throbbing merrily, its percussion thrumming the balls of my feet and my hand on the tiller. My wife, glamorous in a headscarf (to keep her hair out of her face) and sunglasses and my darling daughter in a sweet pink lifejacket we just HAD to buy for her.

Memories spill into my brain unbidden as I complete my warm-up jog. They warm my heart as the exercise warms my body.

A throw-away comment from a friend got me into free diving a few months after my wedding. I’d begun to put on weight from too much good living, and he suggested I join him one weekend.

This harbour is where he brought me – it felt like it fit – this harbour and I go back a long way, so I did it.
I was terrible at first, but he made me an exercise regime and I followed it religiously, quickly losing the spare tyre I’d begun to gather about my middle, enjoying the challenge as my muscles became lean and hard, and my shape changed to one which made my wife’s eyes glint whenever I got changed in front of her.

My weekends were transformed. I began looking forward to getting up early to come here and pound the harbour walls with Tim. We’d laugh and joke, breathless, as the early sun began to show its strength and the ‘normal people’ began to surface and make their presence known. By 7am we’d be ready to hop into the boat, as slick with nighttime moisture as our bodies were with sweat, and scud out across the waves to the sweet spot where our landmarks all joined up and we were ready.

Weighing anchor (on the longest chain you ever did see), we’d get down to trunks and jump in, de-fogging goggles and adjusting them to ensure that nothing could get in and the pressure around our eyes couldn’t suddenly change and become harmful. An uncomfortable sensation at first – sealing your eyes in – but one I soon got used to, as the payoff was SO incredible.

Lying back, cushioned by the waves, it’s important to slow down. No heavy breathing here, but a time of quietening the mind and almost willing the oxygen to be drawn in. Then time to breathe. Not too deeply, but strongly, pulling in the atmosphere and the energy – becoming one with the sea and the sky.

A quick up-end, and powerful strokes of the arms begin pulling me down alongside the anchor chain (conveniently adorned with coloured depth markers, for reference) until about 25m below the surface, when gravity takes hold. From there, very little effort is necessary, and it feels as though I’m being sucked down into the darkness.

10m

20m

30m

35m and a swift kick of the legs to speed things up.

40m and still descending, body kept arrow-straight, face looking steadfastly down – feeling great about this dive.

50m and I can feel the pressure begin to build.

65m and I know I’m nearly at my limit.

80m and the world begins to sparkle and flicker as the depth presses nitrogen from the air in my lungs into my bloodstream and the narcosis takes hold. I experience swells of terror (willing myself to remain calm – academically I know that it’s an effect of the depth, in spite of what I feel) and excitement, wanting to dance and kick for joy, but restraining myself.

82m and I reach my limit. I perform an elegant somersault and turn my face towards the brightness and the tiny blur which denotes the underneath of the boat. Kicking with measured rhythm, using my arms to haul myself up through the water, my ascent is as rapid (if not as calm) as my descent.

10m below the surface I feel the anxiety as my lungs constrict, desperate for fresh air.

5m below the surface, black stars begin popping in my vision – I’m cutting it fine, but keep a handle on the panic and keep pulling – rapid, strong strokes towards oxygen.

My head bursts through the swell in an explosion of spume and glittering droplets. I tread water frantically, the air howling as I suck it greedily into my starved body, grinning as Tim surges up beside me, his strained face and frantic breathing echoing my own. We share a quick ‘hi-five’ and swim leisurely back to the boat.

Tim’s not with me today though.

I finish my run and scramble over the edge into the boat, firing her up and casting off alone. The sunshine mocks my thoughts as they turn darkly to recent events.

I weigh anchor in the usual spot and strip, diving in, hoping to feel the calmness envelop me as the sea does.

It doesn’t, and I grimace, stressed by my unmet expectations.

I fix my goggles and lean back in the water, glaring at the sky, trying to will my heartbeat to slow and my lungs to find their groove.

Eventually I feel settled enough to start breathing deeply, pulling in the air, absorbing the atmosphere.
I up-end and go down too fast, letting loose a cloud of bubbles from my careless mouth. Shit!

I return to the surface and let go of some of the tension, thrashing at the waves and churning them creamy with bubbles as I scream my frustration at the side of the boat, looming over me from a metre away.
I begin again, readjusting my goggles and rinsing away the extra salt water which leaked inside of them.
I lay back in the water for longer, connecting with it, feeling it move my limbs as they hang there, loose as a puppet’s. I breathe, becoming one with the atmosphere.

I upend and begin descending.

The sun through the water creates rolling curtains of light which dance on my arms as I pull myself down. The depths look as forbidding as ever, but I know I want to go there.

25m and I feel the suck of gravity start to take hold. That inevitability, that certainty that something’s going to happen, so unlike the startling rapidity of events changing out of control – of a drunk driver on the wrong side of the road suddenly coming around a bend. So unlike the chaos they had to face – without me.

30m and I adjust my body to arrow-straightness, turning my face towards the dark, wondering about the pain of having your body suddenly smashed out of shape by huge chunks of metal and plastic displaced by the force of impact.

35m and a swift kick of the legs speeds me up, trying not to remember the phonecall from the police. The panicked rush to the hospital. The praying, begging and pleading with God to make it all better – to let them be okay – to spare them.

40m and I begin to feel great about this dive – it was a great way to get some space to remember them.

50m and I begin to feel the pressure building around me as though their bodies are there again, wrapped snugly around me the way we used to lie in bed, the three of us, on lazy Saturday mornings.

65m and I know I’m nearly at my limit.

80m and the world begins to sparkle and flicker and I see them below me, arms outstretched, magically made whole again. Their brokenness no longer a factor, they call my name and I hear their precious voices once more. I want to dance and kick for joy and excitement.

82m and I’m there – reunited with my family, once again held in their arms. Tears begin to clog my goggles – I don’t need them now.

I hold my wife and child and breathe deeply – a sigh of relief, of belonging, of my world being right again. I am one with them and with the sea. My promise of forever has been kept.

So, apart from the fact that you figured this was ‘spoken’ by a male voice, and you *totally* didn’t need a warning sign, I hope you enjoyed it. This is the piece I entered in a local ‘short story’ competition. The results will be out at the end of October, but if I don’t even place in the competition, the wonderful feedback I’ve had on the Making You Feel series, and the fact that through it, I was given enough confidence to enter, has made it all absolutely worthwhile, and made me feel like a winner.

40 thoughts on “Going Deep

  1. Wow, thanks Sandy, that's such gorgeous feedback 🙂 I'm so amazed at how many people have been physically affected by this piece, and LOVE that they've told me about it 😀

    Thank you so much. I'll update on competition results as and when I hear them 🙂

    Like

  2. Every single time I read something you write, I am in awe. This is a spectacular piece and the way you wrote it from the man's perspective is wonderful! I found myself holding my breath and my heart actually beat faster with the anxiety the narrator feels. Best of luck to you in the competition, it is an absolute winner. I've said it before but it bears repeating: I love, love, love the way you write!

    Like

  3. Whoa wait…
    I got lost in this. Not lost as in “I have no idea what you're talking about” but as in “I can feel the tightness in my chest because your story telling is spot on as if you were there”
    Gah.
    This should be a winner.

    Like

  4. They're pretty amazing humans though – at their absolute peak to be able to manage it. I watched a vid of one bloke doing a dive, and that was my inspiration. It was amazing. So dark, so quiet. But when you factor in the nitrogen narcosis – scary stuff.

    I've been lucky enough to escape thus far without nearly drowning, but I can certainly imagine better ways to go. Glad the writing was effective though.

    Like

  5. Oh, how I can't stand those extreme divers. It scares me to no end, as I know that panic of “I've been under too long. Get me to the surface!” I was holding my breath and tightening up as you described it. Well done!

    Like

  6. Totally cool, dude! 🙂 You're freaking amazing. I was confused at first, not knowing it wasn't “you” but then I eventually figured it out. You win my “you're a cool budding author” prize. 😀

    Like

  7. Thank you. Secretly I hope I do too, but there's just no way of knowing. The feedback I've had here is worth more then the prize 🙂 So nice to hear the story sucked you in 😀

    Like

  8. I'm breathing very deeply and find myself sighing heavily in combination of the sheer physicality of this story and the emotional connection to the character…. really well done… Nice entry….cant wait to hear how it turns out! I cant believe I am having SUCH a physical reaction…Im still sighing! LOL!

    Like

  9. Oh cooooool – did you hold your breath, too?

    At some point I'm gonna have to figure out a way to write to 'raise people up' rather than bring them into the 'down' emotions…but I do love that I can do that with words.

    Thank you so much x

    Like

  10. Thanks Chris – I do enjoy playing with words, and that's why this blog has been SO much fun for me – it's the perfect platform for all this sort of thing. Hearing the feedback is lovely, too 😉

    Like

  11. That's the bit I'm most excited about – the confidence in my own writing which has developed as you (and others) have said such wonderful things about it 🙂 Thank you Dana.

    Like

  12. Thanks Janine.

    The writing from a man's perspective was interesting. I really enjoyed it – a while ago I got told that I have an 'androgynous' writing voice, so it was fun to play with that and take it that step further 🙂

    Like

  13. You're a total winner already right here. You so completely made me feel it, sucking in my breath, waiting, knowing, hoping I was wrong…really excellent writing Lizzi. Seriously great stuff. Again As always. Loved.

    Like

  14. Agree with the majority on this that you are so already a winner, but still wishing you tons of luck. This was truly amazing and do very much love that you wrote from a male's perspective! Wonderful!!

    Like

  15. WOW. I was utterly consumed. During the dives I found myself tense and holding MY breath! This. Is. Brilliant. I didn't expect the end, and I find it admirable that you wrote from a man's perspective. So well done, Lizzi!

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

