Bring on the sunshines

Today I join up with Michelle and Tamara for the Creative Buzz Hop
The prompt was ‘coming into the light’
Beating The Clouds
I like nothing better
Than upturned blue skies
When life’s full of azure
And smiles reach my eyes
The warmth of the sunshine
On world and on skin
Seems to whisper the promise
“The storms won’t roll in”
But the smallest of children
Could see through this lie
For when daytime is over
Night surely comes by
When I shudder and tremble
In this new mood of soul
As the darkness creeps in
Bringing storm-clouds that roll
Quite lost in the maelstrom
Skin sliced by sharp rain
Abandoned to thunder
And deafened by pain
Ground sliding from under me
Fierce winds shriek and howl
Battering, beating,
Defeating me now
I struggle against itΒ 
And choke out a prayer
Then hear a small, still voice
“You’ve friends over there…
Each one is a gift
Who I’ve chosen for you
To bring back the brightness
And help you get through.”
And so from my knees
I call out to my friends
To tell them I need them
To help this storm end
With each who responds
In their wonderful way
The dark becomes brighter
The clouds chased away
With powerful sunbeams
They bring back the blue
My soul turns to daylight
I breathe; am renewed
For my miracle friends –
Each heart precious to mine –Β 
I thank God in bright Heaven;
You are my sunshine.
Β 
Dedicated to all my ‘Sunshine’ friends, with thanks and love
Particularly remembering
Alyson, Beth, Carolyn, Cherida, Chris, Christine, Clare, Clark, Cyndi, David, Dana, Denise, Di, Dyanne, Emma, Hayley, Helen, Helena, Jak, James, Janine, Jen, Joe, Julie, Karen, Kari, Kate, Kerri, Kerry, Kris, Kristi, Lana, Leandra, Louise, Mary, Melissa, Michelle, Mike, Mike, Nick, Nik, Piper, Rachael, Sarah, Shanique, Starr, Stephanie, Susan, Teresa, Terrye, Trudy, Wendy, Wendy, Vicki, Zoe
48 thoughts on “Bring on the sunshines

  1. Why thank you Sandy πŸ™‚ I have fun with words, and really enjoy crafting them to make what I want, especially when it's something really meaningful, like this was. There will always be more – I love writing too much to stop now – I've got the bug!

    Like

  2. Oh man…I had a great comment I sent through but it didn't stick. Dammit.
    Um, let's see…what did I say? Oh yeah…I felt like I was on a journey with you as I read. You really have a gift for works. You're following in the Brit tradition: Dickens, Rowling…Considerer. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Wow! Have they? Helen, that's such amazing, amazing feedback from you – thank you so much πŸ™‚ *hugs* I'm so glad that in some small way I've been helpful with this here blog here πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. We missed you this week Donetta! Hope everything's okay with you.

    I've been tempted (at times) to start another blog for more poetryish type things, but tbh, I don't know that I'd keep it up very well on my own. So I've not bothered.

    Glad you like it though – thanks for the lovely feedback πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Just one more wonderful thing about you, Lizzi – you are an amazing poet. And I'm honored to be one of your Sunshine friends – you have so many because you bring sunshine to our lives too. xoxo

    Like

  6. I missed TTofT. Sorry. I'm so glad I stopped by and read your poem. Absolutely breathtaking! I pretend to write poetry on my other blog with Blogger. This is beautiful and amazing. Good friends and good wine can sure bring us through some rough spots. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. You too, my friend πŸ™‚ (gotta keep you sweet – you still have that picture somewhere! πŸ˜‰ (it's not just bribery though – I do mean it, and I'd include you even if you didn't have leverage) )

    Like

  8. Absolutely – I so value your input, support and friendship and the time you take to chat with me, and whilst I don't love what we've been able to connect over, I am so happy that the connection and friendship is there.

    Like

  9. Good. You frequently make my day better by coming over here (SO FAST! I still don't know how you do it!) and leaving such wonderful comments and frienship πŸ™‚ You're smashing πŸ™‚ Hope your week is a gorgeous one.

    Like

  10. Your writing is just unbelievable…I am blown away by your versatility and just the clarity of your voice overall.

    This is beautiful and I am so moved that you would include me in this list.

    Big hugs reaching out to you across the pond, my friend! πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Lizzi, you just made my Sunday night and what a wonderful way to start this week of.. Thank you so very much for the shout out here and I honestly feel o happy and blessed that we are friends!! Wishing you the best and happiest week ahead now!! πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

