TToT 15:2 All Things Guestly Beautiful

[fade into shot – exterior of home – camera pans in through chic balcony into lounge (sparkling clean and tidy) then wanders through elegant, two-bedroom abode – all clean and beautiful and looking like something from a magazine. The guest bedroom is beautifully made up, with two beds prepared to receive occupants]

The cleaning happened in EPIC style, and you can just picture my face as I imagined the above, as I awoke and strolled around our little home this morning, prior to our guests’ arrival.

How pleased I was that our efforts had been so productive.

How happy I am to live in such a beautiful home.

How easy it is to not notice the still-unpacked boxes from moving in(!)

Then, at the appointed hour, we descended the stairs and airily went outside into the fresh air, sunshine and blue skies to get into the OH &%$@! The car! I forgot to clean the &%$@ing CAR! we got despondently into the mobile muck-heap that is my car (seriously, SO MUCH shameful dirt in – and on – this car) and drove to the airport to collect our Irish friends, all the while thinking of ways to explain the oversight.

1. I was totally pleased to see our lovely Irish friends – though it’s a flying visit, we’re having SO MUCH FUN

2. They bought that I’d purposefully left the car filthy, so as to accentuate the beautiful cleanness of the house (okay, no, they humoured me)

3. We had a gorgeous lunch together and LOTS of lovely chatting and catching up.

3. We went to visit my favourite beach, walked further along it than I’ve ever been before (right up to the point where the MOD seems to have built bunkers into the beach, and then three warning signs told us to go no further.

4. We played on the playpark on the way back, including all trying our way around an assault course, and I discovered that not only am I Best At Playparks (comparatively speaking), I also do have a freakishly large amount of upper body strength (again, it’s all relative, and I like this kind of relative, so I’ll stick with it for now – if you have your own set of guns, please take them elsewhere for now…) and could swing my way up the double fireman’s pole to the top with relative ease.

5. I made burgers. From scratch. Using my grandma’s recipe. And they were delicious.

6. We watched ‘Easy A’ because it’s hilarious and neither of our friends had seen it, then we watched ‘Ghost’ because one of my friends hadn’t seen it, and it’s one of those ‘everyone has to see it’ films.

7. Having last watched ‘Ghost’ as a relatively young person, That Pottery Scene now has MANY shades of new meaning, of which I was utterly innocent on last viewing. BWAHAHAHAHA

8. We then chatted late into the night and thoroughly enjoyed sharing memories and plans.

9. We’re going to take a trip along the coast to Brighton tomorrow, to visit my shoe Mecca – the Irregular Choice shop. At the moment I’m liking these (below) but we’ll see what’s there in the morning.

10. I scraped time to come over here and see all the lovely posts so far, and dash out this one to keep y’all going without me til Sunday night (how will you cope?)

I know – you’ll be fine – keep linking up ๐Ÿ™‚

Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful
ย Your hosts

37 thoughts on “TToT 15:2 All Things Guestly Beautiful

  1. Muahahahahaha!

    The car bit really made me laugh a lot, because I could totally imagine it playing out. I wouldn't have remembered to clean out/up my car either. I'm sure they didn't mind in the least!

    Your weekend sounds like it was full of good times and you went out and about with your friends rather than just sitting inside catching up.

    Kudos to your “guns” as well…

    Happy to hear your weekend went so much better than the previous and I hope this week and upcoming weekend stays along this path!

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  2. I will share it next weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ It's been a popular request!

    Bournemouth is the next city over to the West. It takes less than an hour to get there. Really nice beaches and a very twee, nicely architectured kind of town. Touristy in summer though. Sounds like your trip will be a good one ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. I don't think it is fair that you talk about your grandmother's burger recipe and don't share the delicious recipe. (I'm pouting right now). BTW, my husbands parents were married in England and honeymooned in Bournemouth. I have the receipt from the hotel. How far away is Bournemouth from you? Some day we plan to trace their path and maybe even stay at the same hotel. We've been married for 31 years (and his parents have been gone even longer), so I guess we'd better hurry up and get this mission crossed off our bucket list.

    Like

  4. Heard about your link-up from Kate @ Another Clean Slate. Thanks for hosting, I'll definitely be back!

    I love watching movies from when I was a kid, too. I can't believe the stuff my mother let me watch as a child, but I guess I just didn't catch on to the “adult” stuff. Ha!

    Like

  5. Filthy 'scusting dirty. I blame them, but….I didn't clean it for over a year on the inside. So, uh…a lot of it's just built-up crap. Ack! I feel so bad now!

    I'll send you the recipe – it's really good ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your friend will thank you – they are truly FABULOUS shoes ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Soon, my dear, soon! I've got a VERY exciting post for Monday, and Tuesday is Jen's TMT (can't miss that – wait, you know that – it's YOUR HOP TOO) so…Wednesday, I guess ๐Ÿ™‚

    You've been a very naughty rule-breaker. But they're there to be broken, so have fun with it at least ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  7. I hope you have had an amazing weekend with your Irish friends from Ireland! And how dirty could your car have been, anyway? Oh, wait, Niece and Neff have been in there, haven't they?

    Okay, what did your grandma put in her burgers? I've never had a recipe for them, so I'm dying of curiosity. DYING, I TELL YOU!

    I'm sending the link to the shoe place to my friend Abbie. She will be all over that!

    Like

  8. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I'm GREAT at justifying anything. Gift of the gab and full of shite ๐Ÿ˜‰

    The shoe store. Ohhhh my GOSH – we had SO. MUCH. FUN! It deserves a post of its own – the two assistants were DELIGHTFUL – little, excitable, kitschy 20 y/o kids – SO sweet and eager to please (and, shh, offer a discount when I wanted both pairs of shoes) and let us stay for nearly an hour, trying on different pairs of shoes, telling us about their favourites and the ones they were saving up for.

    My car has been thoroughly Niece and Neff'd. I can't begin to tell you what's been spilled in it, much less identify any of it (anymore).

    He's not. There's totally a secret rule. It's *mumble mumble whispers in your ear* 'kay?

    Like

  9. You totally crack me up about feeling like you needed to clean the car and even going so far as to tell them that you left it dirty so that your clean house would sparkle even more. HA.
    That shoe store sounds amazing. I need to know what you bought.
    MMMMM to homemade burgers and the beach and your lovely Irish guests.
    My car? It's a freaking mess as well. Tucker spilled a big thing of Annie's Cheddar Bunnies in it like 2 weeks ago. I fear that if I don't clean it soon, it will become a little home for hungry critters. Or that the cheddar bunnies will come to life. That could totally happen.

    Also, I'm concerned. Clark said there's some secret rule. Tell me he's full of sh@t?

    Like

  10. Come on over – it's AMAZING here ๐Ÿ™‚ And I can show you all my shoes…and we can get ALL the shoes out and try them all on…and OH it'll be so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    Does Skip let shoes alone? I'd be sad if he ate them (but want to meet him, too) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  11. WOW Im coming to your house! You plan loads of fun AND you clean the house! Im a lot like that as well…its the reason the house gets cleaned at all…my car is also a traveling dung heap!

    Like

  12. I pile books, but I read a thing somewhere recently about this being the adult equivalent of building a fort, and I'm sticking to that as my story!

    Lovely to see you here *hugs* Thanks for popping over ๐Ÿ˜€

    I had a GORGEOUS visit with our friends.

    Like

  13. Ohhhhhh you should TOTALLY make that happen if you're allowed to ๐Ÿ™‚ (and I can recommend homemade as THE way to go on this) do you want the recipe? I can send it to you or post it here at some point ๐Ÿ™‚

    A playpark – a collection of toys (swings, climbing frames, rope nets, roundabouts etc) intended for children but much enjoyed by the occasional bonkers set of adults ๐Ÿ˜€

    No laughing – I often confuse people with BritPhrases – I don't know what it would be called elsewhere.

    Like

  14. It was lovely, thanks. And I'll ping the recipe over to you.

    The shoes are EVEN BETTER IN REAL LIFE!!!! I'm ridiculously excited about them ๐Ÿ˜€

    But do check in in 10, just to see ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thank you – it was effort to stay up and do this, but worthwhile – I love joining in with this too much to miss out!

    Like

  15. Ohhh the idea of having people over is a stunningly good motivator to clean the house…apparently not the car, though!

    My Sunday has been BEAUTIFUL, thanks Josie – I've LOVED it. I'm sad they're gone, but now I get to come back here to even more loveliness, and I'll be okay, because I know I have my (to paraphrase Clark) Friends From Far Away Online ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  16. Not even a tiny bit. And the OTHER pair I got are equally clarklike female ๐Ÿ™‚ I am living to type, and LOVING IT! But I did squeal and dance a little (okay, a lot) in the shoe shop, and try on several pairs of shoes with my friends and make silly shoe-based banter with the delightfully excitable shop assistants.

    And, and, and…

    Sorry I missed brunch though – we were gone.

    Like

  17. Good friends are the only reasons why I clean my house these days. Without them, I may qualify as a pile hoarder! So glad you had a good visit with your friends ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  18. Do you know that I have not had a hamburger since I had my gallbladder removed last May. It's true. That's what sent me to the ER. I've been waiting for that one hamburger to be my first. Look at me sounding like some horny teenager….
    I'd love a homemade one.
    What is a playpark? Don't laugh if this is a really stupid question.

    Like

  19. Sounds like a fabulous day…would LOVE to have that burger recipe if you are so inclined to pass that along…

    And shoes…they are interesting. I can't wear heels anymore (that whole back issue) so kudos to you for attempting them. You are younger than me, though so I'll check in with you again in about 10 years on that. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congratulations on getting a second list done…and with visitors to boot. Nice work!

    Like

  20. It sounds to me like you're having a delightful visit with your friends, who most likely could have cared less if your vehicle was a bit “dusty”. ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember doing massive cleaning efforts like that for company coming too, that's one of the reasons company is a good thing – it inspires a bit of house tidying! I hope your Sunday turns out to be as nice as your Saturday, these were great blessings to top off your week!

    Like

  21. shoes in photo…clarklike female coincidence? no, no I don't think so*

    sounds like fun and excitement this weekend!

    will be a crazy Sunday… brunch at appointed time… I will need to run out a little early (10:40 EDT) but Michelle and Denise will be on …so stop by…introduce your friends,** if you have a mind to

    * lol we *knew* that!
    ** ” …and these are my virtual friends… they live in the blogosphere…(oh thats a place thats far far away… say hi”

    Like

  22. I know! I don't know if they'll have it in the shop…or something even better! Or nothing I want in the end. It's SUCH a fun place to go (incidentally – there's an NY store if you ever fancy it ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    THANK YOU for sharing about your boxes! I feel a lot less bad now ๐Ÿ™‚

    And thank goodness for forgiving friends!

    Like

  23. Sounds like you're having a great weekend too – HUZZAH for great weekends all round! I hope the soccer is gorgeous and the weather holds for you. Here looks sunshiney and happy and we're going SHOE SHOPPING! *dances*

    Like

  24. Lovely shoe and I must say, I think everyone has boxes they haven't unpacked. I just unpacked books last week from (three moves ago). I'm glad you had fun with your friends and that they understood about the car.

    Like

  25. So glad Saturday was such a wonderful day and truly sounded like a great visit and so much more. I know I am finishing up myself now and hoping to be on sparingly tomorrow morning and then only again later in the day after the girls' first day of Fall soccer. Enjoy your Sunday, too!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

