Ten Things of Thankful #15

It’s been a week of gorgeousness, excitement and loveliness chez moi, and I’m absolutely THRILLED to be able to share Ten of my best moments with you all this weekend (and by Ten, I’m sure you’ll cope if I use that quantifier very, very lightly)

Monday: Hmm, I don’t think Monday was all that great; I was still recovering from a bad mood last weekend, but actually, I amΒ  very thankful indeed for a dear, lovely friend who pretty much stayed up all night with me, talking me out of it. There’s that for Monday, and that’s pretty, unbelievably epic (1).

Tuesday: Jen’s Twisted Mixtape Tuesday blog hop was super fun, and I loved going around the place, discovering new music (2). But I think that was it for Tuesday – it was also kind of a bust. Apart from starting a 30 day squats challenge with Alyson from The Shitastrophy. I am GONNA stick to this one (2a).

Wednesday: Now this is where the Good Stuff started happening. Settle ye back in your chair and let me regale you.

I got to pick Niece up from nursery and spend the afternoon with her. I’d previously offered to take her swimming, for her first time ever, and she’d been really excited (3), so I figured that this was the afternoon to do it. I collected her (slightly late) and off we went, after a short lunch, to a local pool, which has an amazing collection of pools and activities for kids.

She was uncertain at first, and quite clingy (not to mention a bit shivery with everso-slightly-purple lips) but we stuck with it, and made frequent trips to the jacuzzi, which was warmer than the rest of the pools. She gradually unclenched and let me move her away from her limpet-like grasp, and slowly, slowly, with encouragement and support, she began enjoying herself.

We persevered.

Ladies and gentlemen, let me tell you, this tiny, three-year-old girl is nothing short of INCREDIBLE, because after an hour and a half, she could SWIM! (3a)

Yes with inflatable armbands, and no, probably not well enough to save her life if she fell in, but she moved herself through the water, across the pools, through deep water, to wherever she wanted to go… I was nothing short of astounded and amazed that this small, amazing person is even related to me. I kept gushing on and on about how incredible she was, how well she was doing, and she kept laughing and grinning, and it was the best afternoon ever.

I also got a small, beautiful peek into the world of parenthood, because while I was there (4), Niece made friends with a small boy, and I made friends with his mum. We sat in the water and watched the kids and chatted, then later, (on a couple of small pools with slides from one into the other) I went into the middle pool and caught both kids as they slid down, and she stood at the bottom and caught them both as they slid back into the big pool, then we stood and watched indulgently as they both raced round to do it again and again and again. A transient, delightful friendship, lasting no more than an hour and a half, yet it was really special (4a).

Thursday: was super-special, because the wonderful Jen featured me over at her blog as part of her ‘Raised on the Radio‘ series (5), and I had a blast writing the post for her, AND it was well recieved, AND over here, I got to show everyone the finale of the Ten Things of Thankful Co-Host Interviews (the one where they all got to get their own back on me – with varied and hilarious results) (6) AND I got to introduce our two new co-hosts, Michelle and Zoe (6a).

I also got an email about my upcoming job, and had a lovely chat with the lady who previously showed me around (and who was pleasingly, very excited that I’m to be joining the team) and got my start date (7)! Roll on the 23rd September! Real Life’s gonna hit me soon!

Friday: Today I got up early and took my wonderful Sis to college, where she’s going to embark upon a new stage of academia on the route to achieving her dreams (8). On the downside, the ‘lesson’ turned out to be merely an introductory test, designed to assess her current level of learning, in order to provide her with the best curriculum from here on, so I arrived back home (on the other side of the city) to a phonecall telling me to come back and get her, but on the upside, we then went into town and spent a gorgeous couple of hours shopping for new work trousers to go with the new job (8a), and having a lovely lunch together, perched on a bench in the middle of the shopping mall, just watching the people go by (8b).

And I saw and impulse-bought this AWESOMEROCKIN’ hat (8c).

Then Husby and I worked together very quite hard (9) to get the house cleaned up ready for our Irish guests, who arrive tomorrow morning (9a) to spend the weekend with us. (If I manage to get a second post in this weekend, it will be due to either my neglect of them and appallingness as a host, or of staying up WAY late Saturday night, after they’ve gone to bed, to type one out. I may also be rather tardy getting round to y’all until late Saturday or late Sunday once they’ve returned home, but I WILL visit you all – promise.)

I rounded off the day with a visit to Emma’s house, where we did a Wii Fit Core Workout (10) and screamed obsecenities and answered back to the irritating, animated woman on the program, who kept bossing us around and making our muscles hurt with trying to copy her effortless management of things like 6 x 12 reps of crunches. Then we turned her off (gleefully) and had a completely unhealthy, oven-tray dinner (10a), whilst thoroughly enjoying spending the time together.

Upcoming Thanks:Β  I am HUGELY thankful and honoured that my first request for a guest post has been met with warmth and enthusiasm, and on Monday, I shall be delighted to share a post from one of my very favourites – our own Christine, who blogs at A Fly On Our (Chicken Coop) Wall. Can’t wait πŸ™‚
(oh, alright, 11 – but I couldn’t resist)

Get yer links in, lovelies, and let’s see what you got for us this weekend…

Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful
Β Your hosts

48 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #15

  1. See? I toldja πŸ™‚

    No, it was an 'in the moment, at the pool' kinda friendship – short and sweet and lovely πŸ™‚ The guests are indeed highlighted in #2 – it was LOVELY having them over.

    Tomorrow is Michelle's post, next week is Zoe's. They're awesome new co-hosts. I'm so pleased.

    FINALLY – I know! I'm so excited.

    And yes, yes indeed.

    And thanks – the hat rocks.

    Like

  2. Yay, very glad this last week was so much better (with the exception of maybe Monday?) Sounds like your week really kicked off into high gear on Wednesday.

    Seems your niece had a blast and made a new friend. Did you make any plan to stay in touch with the little boy's mother at all, or was it one of those “in the moment” kind of connections and then left as is? I think it took me a long while to learn how to swim and I'm still not very good at it…

    I know you have a second post up, so I will have to see which reason was the culprit for it's existence! Either way, I hope having your guests over was a lot of fun. I'm assuming that will be highlighted in part two πŸ™‚

    Congrats to Michelle and Zoe on becoming co-hosts! Have they already had a Thursday dedicated to them, or are they still in their training/probation period?

    Glad to hear mention of your job again, I was a bit curious as to what was new in that department. Good luck, you have less than a week to go before the “real” world becomes… “real”? >.< Oh My Nuts, you are having a guest post AND Christine is submitting said guest post?! Interesting… Also, nice hat πŸ˜‰ Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  3. Hi Joell – don't worry about the post-and-dash – I did much the same thing this weekend, but I appreciate you getting a post in anyway πŸ™‚ I enjoyed it.

    It was a great post to live, and to write. I was very blessed last week.

    The pool was awesome.

    The cleaning was partially successful, as you'll see if you get to my second post πŸ˜‰ The visit was gorgeous though.

    Like

  4. It's Monday and I am just now getting the time to be able to go around and read everyone's posts! My weekend was so busy, I almost didn't get a post in myself, so I ashamedly did a “post and dash” knowing I'd get back over and see all you lovelies!

    Anyway! Lizzi! I love this post! It is so full of joyful, wonderful things to give thanks for! So many blessings!

    I especially enjoyed the one about spending time with your niece at the pool! So nice! Congrats on the hard work cleaning up…I sure need some inspiration at my house to get cracking on the housework…like someone coming to visit me! That always seems to do the trick! Haha! Anyway, hope you have had a wonderful visit with your friends!

    Like

  5. “…the mother lion seems to be napping… the shade of the Acacia trees makes for a cool spot but she's not napping! with four hungry cubs.. mama is watching the passing herds with a keen eye…”

    lol no, Dyanne why would you think I was saying anything about trips to the mall?!

    Like

  6. Thanks Linda – swimming's always been something I've really enjoyed, so it was super to be part of her first experience, and watch her take to it so well.

    Talking back is fun – doing it with a friend and BOTH talking back is hilarious and well worth doing. We both hated it much less for giggling at the other one screaming at the set πŸ˜‰

    I'm so pleased you joined us this week – your list is a lovely one πŸ™‚

    I'll check out your link, thanks πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. I'm a water girl myself so your niece's take to swimming warms my heart. I believe everyone should have water wings! Thanks so much for introducing her to this. I guess it's important to me because my husband never learned to swim. He's now 60 and in no mood to learn, but it holds him back when ever he is near water.

    Your WiFi fit Core workout cracked me up. Talking back and everything. Maybe I should get one of those because if I talked back to the irritating speaker, maybe I'd enjoy exercising more. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for hosting this Thankful day. I love participating when I can–and fortunately this week, I made that happen.

    Like

  8. It's been such a gorgeous week (Monday excluded – though even there, there was a lovely silver lining) and the pool was definitely a high-spot of Aunty-dom so far πŸ™‚

    I posted a second (because I couldn't resist, and I'm SO thankful for the gorgeous time I've been having with my friends…but I did struggle with driving today on account of being so tired! Fie on me!

    ME NEITHER! *so excited*

    Like

  9. Your week (with the exception of Monday) sounds fabulous, friend! That pool makes me drool with envy. Love it. And wow to niece getting swimming! That's amazing! I hope you're enjoying your guests and that you don't post a second thankful due to being busy and enjoying and chatting and laughing outdoors with guests.
    Can't wait to read Christine's guest post!

    Like

  10. It was gorgeous – I really loved it so, SO much.

    *checks calendar* Well, apart from a strange blackout where I fell through a blue, whirling, whizzy thing…nope – I was here all day! Must've been a wormhole to somewhere else…

    (the play sounds fun πŸ™‚ )

    Like

  11. You don't swim? HEY I can teach you – apparently I'm really good at that πŸ˜‰

    Kidding. Your way is fine πŸ˜€

    The hat is SUPER! I'm just gutted that no-one can really see the big, sparkly, silver 'I'm a GIRL in this nerd-hat' ribbon I tied in a bow at the top…

    And your last? Absolutely. People are endlessly fascinating.

    Like

  12. That pool is so beautiful. How great that you got to be part of Niece's “learning to swim” day!

    Your wii experience reminds me of a scene from the play I saw yesterday–you didn't happen to cross the pond and make your theatrical debut, did you?

    Like

  13. Well, I want to swim in that pool, too! Okay, I don't swim, but I want to sit in the shallow water and visit with you while we watch Niece swim. Mkay?

    The hat is perfection.

    People watching at the mall is one of life's finer activities. You can never get bored.

    Like

  14. We are so lucky to have it nearby – it's absolutely the best kid-oriented pool I know. She had an amazing time and in the end I had to almost drag her out because I think she would've stayed for ever! It was gorgeous.

    YES! Please join in next week (or tomorrow, if you're not busy – we're open all weekend *hint hint*) because I'd love to see your list and see you become part of our lovely, growing community here πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. It was super. And my friend is nothing short of absolutely incredibly wonderfully marvellous πŸ™‚

    The pool – the whole experience – was just awesome! I LOVED it. Loved being part of it, and sharing that with her.

    Thank you πŸ™‚ I feel it's a good addition to the Winter Combat Plan.

    We're having a super time so far, and as for visitors from another country *raises hand and jumps up and down out of seat* Me! Me! I want to visit you! πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. That is, by far, one of the nicest pools I've seen – and as a former competitive swimmer, lifeguard, swim teacher and coach, I've seen a LOT of pools. Your niece must have had a blast (once she got over the initial nerves). What a wonderful experience to share with her.

    Thinking I might just have to join this hop next week… such a nice way to reflect on the good things.

    Like

  17. Sonds like a great week…so glad your friend was there to talk you out of your funk!

    The pool looks AMAZING. And congratulations to your niece…that is fantastic! πŸ™‚

    Love the new hat…I don't know you well, but I know you well-enough to know that it suits you. πŸ™‚

    And have fun with your Irish friends…how lovely to have friends visit from another country. I wish I knew someone from another country who wanted to come and visit me…(hint hint) πŸ˜‰ Hope you had a fabulous time!

    Like

  18. I was a bit worried too, truth be told! I was so thankful to have the support of my friends and family to help drag me back out.

    The pool trip was incredible. Now I know she can do it, I hope that next time we go, I might take her in a 'pool noodle' or something to play with and get even more confidence going for her. She's stunningly good for one afternoon in the water!

    I hope your afternoon's also awesome πŸ™‚ Mine's going well.

    Like

  19. I know! The latter part of the week has been like opening a massive can of 'Bad-Be-Gone' and spraying it around. The swimming was most amazing! I only hope she can remember! If not, I'll keep reminding her πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. It was thoroughly gorgeous – I feel so happy that I got to be part of that day.

    YES! Exactly. So happy for her.

    Totally on a mission. Needs to happen.

    Yes please πŸ˜‰ And thank you SO MUCH πŸ˜€

    Like

  21. I'm glad you had such a great week; I was worried about you last weekend. The trip to the pool with your niece sounded like so much fun. Violet is usually hanging in her floatie and paddles around the pool that way. Lily can swim now, it's amazing what the tiny ones can do πŸ˜‰

    I hope you have a great weekend, Lizzi!

    Like

  22. This sounds like a week full of activities and good things, no sitting around in the doldrums for you! I loved the swimming outing with your niece, she will always remember you as the one that introduced her to water, and what an awesome memory it is going to be, she is so blessed to have you in her life!

    Like

  23. That looks like a fabulous water park. I'm glad Niece warmed to it quickly so you could have a great afternoon together.
    Yay for Sarah, going back to school. A great next step to a better future.
    Squat challenge AND Wii Core…you are on a mission! πŸ™‚

    And now that it's out there, I guess the pressure is on. I better get to writing! πŸ™‚

    Like

  24. Thanks Yvonne. It was an absolutely incredible experience. And I was ridiculously grateful for that lady and her boy – the feeling of being included, even as an Aunty, in the 'parenting gang', just for a short time, was absolutely beautiful – it's such a precious thing.

    I'm glad you have lovely 'learning to swim' memories too – I was amazed by how quickly it all happened, and such a privilege to watch.

    Thank you – I think my new colleagues are going to prove to be just smashing πŸ˜€

    Like

  25. Reading about your niece learning to swim was awesome. I could almost feel I was there with you. It's lovely that you got to make friends with that woman and her son, short perhaps, but yes so precious. Your story also brought back memories of my girls when they first learned to swim – it was such fun, and I can really relate to your feelings of delight.

    And congratulations on your new job! It already sounds as if you will have good colleagues there, so hope that proves to be the case.

    Like

  26. It was AMAZING, Lisa – I am still kind of in shock and awe at how amazingly she did.

    The hat I LOVE so very much.

    And the Wii fit core…it was on the easiest level, and I was absolutely screaming swearies at the screen, then collapsing in a heap during the 'rest' periods. It wasn't pretty, or much of an achievement…

    Thanks – I hope your weekend is also lovely.

    Like

  27. Why thank you! I thought I'd get the unconventional out there nice and early, this time around πŸ˜‰

    LOVING 'elemental skill'…what a great way of putting it. I shall teach her to make fire when she's older…she can already make her own wind πŸ˜‰

    Like

  28. That pool is GORGEOUS! Wow!! What a fun afternoon. She's a natural!
    Your hat is beyond awesome!! I'm totally impressed that you can do the Wii Fit Core! I'm not coordinated enough!
    This was quite a week! Hope your weekend is great, too! –Lisa

    Like

  29. nice formatationing of your list! (“hhmm…maybe I can stay with a simple, direct list if another of the co-hos picks up on the non-trad approach)

    excellently active list, the things you cite are all external and exciting (in all uses of the word)…not just the obvious things like the swimming (to help a lifeform to learn such an 'elemental' skill as swimming… tres cool, yo) but also the music of the Tuesday and even the furious activity of preparing the house for guest.

    very nice review of what was clearly a lively and good week!

    Like

  30. I was utterly gobsmacked! Felt so privileged to see her really, truly LEARNING – right before my eyes. And to help her in very tangible ways, and see it pay off! Wow πŸ˜€

    Looking forward to your post – just wish I knew when I was gonna get to it! But Real Life must come first for once πŸ˜‰

    (and thank you – it's a particularly funky hat πŸ™‚ )

    Like

  31. Love that pool and I know from my girls it is amazing to watch them learn to swim right in front of your own eyes. By the way, you wear that hat very well and the week sounds like it was indeed a great one!! Be back in the morning to do my thing!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  32. It's an incredible pool – we're really lucky to have it so close by. Niece is one of those amazing, really, really physical kids. She can scale a climbing wall, balance well, has no fear (sometimes to her detriment) and astonishes me at every turn.

    SO please you agreed to co-host – it's great having you as part of our wonderful Ten.

    And the hat is *awesome* – it's been making me smile all day. NOW I have something to look forward to in Winter.

    Like

  33. wow….that is quite a pool! Wow…that is quite a kid! Swimming that fast…very impressive…Im still trying to get that one down pat at 50. Thanks again for the invite to cohost Lizzie…love the hat! You are so stinking cute!

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

