Ten Things of Thankful #14

It’s been a stressful week for many reasons (small and large, positive and negative) and I’ve sat here for an hour or so trying to work up to writing this, because I know I must.

If I’m gonna sit so often in smugness atop a set of self-awarded laurels and proselytise about this blog hop to the people who come here and struggle with writing their lists, telling them that ‘the time when you least feel like it is when the exercise is most helpful‘ and ‘it’s difficult when life’s been tough, but practicing the attitude of Actively Seeking Good will stand you in good stead for other challenges, as well as giving you a boost from finding the things which are going right in life‘, then I damn well better practice what I preach.

Mostly because I’m right, much as it pains me to admit it at this moment, and practicing this thing WILL make a difference to my mood.

I thought I’d get a bit different though, and work through an exercise I’ve heard about (and occasionally used) when life gets a bit much. It’s called ‘grounding’, and if you look it up on Google, you’ll see that it comes at times alongside a vaguely distasteful bunch of hokum, but in essence,ย  it’s about getting back in touch with your immediate surroundings, focussing your thoughts on the physical and away from the intellectual for a bit, concentrating on your immediate surroundings and just…breathing.

I’m going a bit further and boundarying myself (from this point onwards). No ‘in spite of’, no ‘even though’, no ‘however’ – too many ways for negativity to sneak in tonight, so I’m putting a stop to it RightNow. There will be positivity, and that is all.

I’m blessed with the usual five senses, so two Things for each and I should be feeling better, if the promise of the exercise holds true.

Sight
Seen – Across from me now, my lovely Husby, who is a wonderful man and so right for me. I love that this gets re-confirmed in so many small ways each day, each week. When we got married, we chose not to have the traditional ‘I do’, as it seemed rather transient, picking instead the much gnarlier and many-layered vow ‘I will’, requiring ongoing action and commitment. I still will.
Unseen – The mystical workings of the internet, the data packets whizzing through the wires (or WiFi), connecting me with IRL friends and family who live at a distance, as well as my internet buddies, all of whom enrich my life in so many ways. I know I joke a lot about having part of my heart hardwired, but it’s true.
01001001 00100000 01101100 01101111 01110110 01100101 00100000 01111001 01101111 01110101ย 
Hearing
Heard – Currently, my Youtube playlist of favourite songs (it changes from time to time)

Unhearable – The lovely comments, feedback and messages I’ve had over the last week. Admittedly some of them have been hearable (thanks Shanique), which has been lovely. Mostly though, it’s been the written word, which has been offered, absorbed and taken on board.

Smell
Why yes, sometimes at Christmas I might decorate myself
Scented – The closest thing to me which smells of anything is my hair, freshly washed and smelling deliciously coconutty from the conditioner.

Unscented – Memories, though often triggered by a smell, or ones so rich and strong they *almost* have a scent to them, like every Christmas tree we ever had…the memories of these Victorian displays of every-single-bauble-possible, covered all over in fairy lights, tinsel and (most importantly) lametta, have been a fundamental part of my Christmas experience, and just thinking about it, I can *almost* smell the pine…
Taste
I also licked the sun. It was spicy.
Feast – My cupboards, fridge and tummy are full. I love cooking and experimenting with flavours, to the point where I can imagine how they would combine and make a sensible decision without necessarily having to try it out. Being creative with cooking and rarely using a recipe, but developing variations on themes is something I owe to my Dad, who is still one of the best cooks I know. This evening I combined simple ingredients into absolutely delicious chorizo and bean burritos, with fresh tomatoes and Emmental, followed by a (very small – it’s incredibly rich) piece of Mrs A.R.’s Salted Caramel Pretzel Bark – it’s still amazing. Husby has walked in serendipitously as I write this sentence and has announced “I keep going back to that pretzel bark – it’s like it’s laced with heroin or something – it’s so good!” – it really is.
Fast – I was invited by a Catholic friend earlier in the week to join in with Pope Francis’ suggestion of a “day of prayer and fasting for peace in Syria, the Middle East, and throughout the world”. I’m not really that clear on the theology behind fasting, but I know that it tends to be held up as a good thing, which lends weight to prayers. It’s something I’ve been exploring a little lately anyway, and though not Catholic, I decided to join in anyway, in case it helps.
Feel
Touch – Especially hugs. I’m quite convinced that there’s nothing quite so lovely as a well-intentioned hug. A proper, long one, with someone you have a deep relationship with – whether a spouse, sibling, best friend, small child, parent, aunty…all totally wonderful people to hug with much more ‘oomph’ than the standard ‘friend hug’ or ‘slightly uncomfortable, at arms length, acquaintance hug’. A hug which luxuriates in the huggyness of it. A hug worth having.
Untouchable – Various people at various distances whom I can’t hug right now [Status:Pending…]


Evaluation of exercise: Resounding success. I shall get back on my unsolicited-advice-giving, because this thing, as a tool, absolutely ROCKS ๐Ÿ˜€

Now link yourself up and let me get a few handfuls more of that Thankfulness.

Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful
ย Your hosts

60 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #14

  1. I thought you might be. Well fear not, I even managed my twosie! And things have gotten better again now ๐Ÿ™‚

    I'm glad I'm not the only one who uses the technique. It's pretty good.

    Thanks for the compliments – it was slightly a cop-out as I was really stuck, and 'senses' seemed a straightforward way to go.

    Yes, I'm curious about the strengthening thing…still not sure what though.

    LOL no, the free hugs would be nice, but better from people who genuinely care ๐Ÿ™‚ Always better.

    Get thee over to Mrs A.R.'s for the pretzel bark recipe – it can all be yours! (Or, be very sneaky and send the link to Kate…)

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear your week was so stressful and I wasn't even around to try to cheer you up ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It sounds like practicing what you preach, however, did the trick! I will be all over you if you end up deciding against a post >.>

    Never heard of “Grounding” by name, but the technique is definitely familiar.

    I really like your lists and how you went about this last weeks TToT. Like Clark said, he went all standard issue and others kind of deviated some. I've always wondered which of those senses I'd be willing to part with if I had to lose one. If I lost taste I may be able to diet better!

    I've never done any fasting in the religious sense, and don't think I ever will. Curious about what someone mentioned about it above that is strengthens things.

    In complete agreement about hugs. I love them! They should be given all the time… You could do that “Free Hugs” sign holding thing I've seen videos of… Most of those wouldn't be the same as ones from loved ones, though.

    It's awesome you focused on the positive and refused to use negative phrases/wording.

    Soooo… I want some heroin laced pretzel bark even though I have no idea what the hell that is lol

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  3. Thanks April, and no – there's no 'supposed to' about it.

    Most people do one – I do two because I started it and because I want to ๐Ÿ™‚ Other people who do two each weekend do so because they want to and/or have more things of Thankful than they can reasonably fit in one post.

    It's totally up to the individual how much they put into it.

    Like

  4. Aw fanx. I try to keep myself (and y'all) on my toes. I'm glad you like it ๐Ÿ™‚

    You're welcome for the shout out – at this stage I think it could be the official TToT recipe, as so many people are indulging in it!

    On your recommendation, I shall keep Husby. That do you? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  5. You are such a clever girl, Mizzi! I think I say that every week but it is always true. Each week you out-do yourself on your creativity for the hop and I LOVE it.

    And thank you for the additional shout-out…I'm getting lots of love for the bark. And see, I was right…that stuff IS like crack. I will revise my earlier statement about you needing new friends, as you obviously have one who is worthy of being around. Clearly your husband is a man of good taste and he can stay. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. It's damn hard work at times. Life is often unkind, and yet, this exercise of actively seeking the Good, really does help, even if temporarily.

    I went through a long phase where I needed to do it every day, and be accountable, to get through. It's a fantastic, if challenging, tool.

    Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Thank you Joell

    Choice, mindfulness, action; all of these so important. And yes, the 'not liking it and doing it anyway' has been a really tough one for me at times, but I've remembered the promise I made, and its really helped me to remain focused and committed (with sufficient help, talkings-to and hugs from friends). I'm glad you find the vow the same way – it helps to know that others share the view I hold – it can feel pretty old-fashioned at times.

    Hugging is wonderful. I need to try to do more of it. Fortunately I enjoyed a large number of absolutely fabulous hugs off my Neff this afternoon – he wrapped himself all around me and stayed there for ages, then kept coming back for more cuddles through the time we were out, and that helped immeasurably. He's good therapy.

    Thanks for the prayers, though – I always have more space for those.

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

