TToT: Meet the Co-Hosts 6

Back in the mists of time (before I went on holiday) we had an installment of the ‘Co-Hosts Interview’ where you got to meet the lovely Dyanne (can you remember that far back? – I know – a lot’s happened since then). Today it’s my absolute pleasure and delight to introduce Joy from I Can Say Mama

1. Who are you? 
 I am a thirty-something who loves life, has a my-glass-is-half-full attitude (at least most of the time), enjoys good food, treasures friendships, and wishes for more empathy in this world. I try to support my son in the best way possible, all the while trying not to forget to teach him that life is fun and ensuring that he has a wonderful childhood.
2. Where are you from? 
Germany
3. Describe your family. 
Our family consists of Sunny, our beautiful son, my husband, and me. 
4. Why do you blog? 
Initially, I started blogging because I wanted to get connected to a community on the web that I am missing in real life. Apart from that I was looking forward to meeting nice and kind people who understand me. Since I started my blog last year in November I met so many awesome people in the blogosphere who became really close friends and who mean so very much to me. It is more than I ever expected. 
I also found out that blogging helps me to chronicle my life better. I used to have a private journal but since there was no “pressure” to write things down I rarely wrote. Now with the blog I feel more “pressure” to publish content on a regular basis which makes me write things down and I am really glad that I do. 
5. What do you like about the Ten Things of Thankful hop? 
 The TToT blog hop is something that really fits my personality. As I already mentioned I am a rather optimistic person so most of the time I see the good in the world or think positive just automatically. However, at times when it is not so easy to focus on the good stuff the TToT blog hop helps me to really become aware of the good things in my life and to appreciate them again. 
We have also created a wonderful community with the TToT that I love and enjoy very much. I am happy and proud to be a part of it.  
6. What’s the biggest challenge you’ve overcome in life? 
The biggest challenge in my life is dealing with the reality of having a child with special needs. I would not say that I have overcome it yet but that I am rather still in the process of doing it. Some days I do better, some days not so good. But it is a thing that makes me grow personally and I am trying to embrace it as good as I can. 
7. Which people inspire you? 
Powerful women from my personal environment that live life to the fullest, who manage to balance kids, family, and their job and still manage to look gorgeous. 
Apart from that I am inspired by warm-hearted, emphathic people with a heart of gold who care for others and who show with their words and actions that the world is not as rough as it appears to be when you watch then news. 

8. What achievement are you working towards?  
Finding a fulfilling part-time job that fits my schedule with Sunny. 
9. How would you most like to inspire others? 
 I want them to know that children like my son do not need to be pitied; neither do I as his mother need to be pitied. I want them to see how much he loves life, how much fun he has, how he enjoys all the small things that make our lives so wonderful. I want them to see how much love and light kids like my son bring into our world. I want them to be open-minded and inclusive towards him. I want them to know that different is not bad. I want others to learn that my child is just a child like every other child and that he deserves to be treated like that.  
10. Tell me something utterly frivolous about you.  
Some days I just decide to be lazy and leave the dishes in the kitchen sink untouched all day. And that feels good.
Thank you Joy – it’s lovely to know a bit more about you and what inspires you. I love that you highlighted the feel of community which is being generated around the hop – that’s one of my favourite things about it – we all participate and build connections with one another. It’s a really wonderful thing to be a part of.

And the dishes thing? I do that too.

 Come back on Saturday and link up with us. I know the Americans among us will be celebrating Labor Day, but for the rest of the world it’s a normal weekend, and I’d love to hear about the good things going on in your life.

If you’re taking Labor Day weekend off, have a marvellous time. If not, hope to see you here, this weekend.

Ten Things of Thankful
18 thoughts on “TToT: Meet the Co-Hosts 6

  1. You make her sound positively dastardly! I refuse to believe it!

    Anyway, if Dyanne goes to her living room window and looks, all she'll see is a potato tru…hang on. I'm talking too much again. Someone stop me!

    Like

  2. Take a day off?!?! Not a chance.

    Joy, so good to read your answers and learn more about you. Sounds like we have lots of optimism flying around the TToT. I love it!

    Nothing like a good lazy day.

    Like

  3. 'ello Joy!

    Good to see your spotlight Post. (that brings us on closer to a certain, un-named bloggerini having to answer the questions of us co-hosterers

    I admire the approach to life and the world that is grounded in an optimistic outlook. It can be difficult, but surely worth the effort. I agree the TToT weekend blog and (virtual) block party is a unique and totally cool thing to be a part of…

    Like

  4. hell if you wanted to know, you shoulda asked me!

    go to your living room window (slowly and don't pull the curtains back or anything drastic…just peek)…see that car 2 houses down? the engine idling?

    if you want to save her some work, blink your porch lights 3 times when you hit publish…

    Like

  5. Any time – it's an absolute pleasure to introduce each of my co-hosts in this way. I know people get a flavour of them at the weekend, but they're all so wonderful I wanted to give them more of a focus and a chance to share more about themselves.

    Glad to have connected the two of you – Joy's an awesome person to know. And you are. And I think the two of you would get along well 🙂

    Like

  6. Thank you for introducing us/me to Joy! I too have a special needs child and I love what inspires you!! I hate when people pity me or her!! Great to meet you Joy! Lizzi thanks for a great interview! xo

    Like

  7. You're so awesome. That's why I made your pink robot pic yesterday with a GIANT, GIANT heart 🙂

    Looking forward to seeing you here at the weekend. Take care and get rid of that migraine *hugs*

    Like

  8. First off, you know you will see me here (American or not) and I already started to write my post even having a migraine today. And I knew I loved Joy, but could relate to much to her positiveness and I too am a glass is half full kind of girl, too. And try so hard to see the positive in things as much as possible! 🙂

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

