TToT: Meet the (NEW) Co-host 5

Last week we got to meet the Lovely Louise, and learn a bit more about her..and hey – don’t you still owe us a peek at that intriguing canoe story? Louise? Hey?

This week I am typing this while dancing (which, believe me, is no mean feat) because it’s my glorious honour to introduce our very brand new co-host! That’s right – another sucker wonderful, awesomerockin’ person has joined up with the gang to help share the wonderful Ten Things of Thankful in her corner of the Blogosphere.

If you’ve been here before, you already know her, so with absolutely no further ado (and much delight) I introduce:


1. Who are you?
 I’m Dyanne (of the blog I WantBacksies)

2. Where are you from?
I live in southwest Missouri, on the edge of the Ozarks. I teach preschool 5 mornings a weeks during the school year and goof off in the summer.

3. Describe your family.
 I’m married to a man I met on the telephone at work when I lived in Nashville and he lived in Los Angeles. We have two kids, a son who just graduated from high school and is heading off to college and a daughter who is starting her freshman year in high school. We also have two fat, lazy cats, one of whom has guest posted on my blog (on a 10 Things of Thankful, no less).

4. Why do you blog?
I started my blog right after I was diagnosed with breast cancer in March of 2012 for two reasons. The first reason was as a way to record my experience, so I wouldn’t forget anything. The second, and most important, reason was because I hoped someone else who was facing the same diagnosis would find it and be helped by it. Now that the worst of my treatments are behind me, I continue to write just because I have a lot to say.

5. What do you like about the Ten Things of Thankful hop? 
I pray every day, and when I do, I make sure I say thank you for everything I have before I start asking for anything. TToT serves as a detailed inventory of those things. I really enjoy finding the thanks in some of the little things in life.

6. What’s the biggest challenge you’ve overcome in life?
My life has been very, very good. I don’t feel as though I have had any real challenges to overcome. Okay, yes, I have breast cancer, but that’s just something to deal with and move on. I don’t need to overcome it, because I never planned to let it overcome me in the first place.

7. Which people inspire you?
Scarlett O’Hara. She decided what she wanted in life and went after it. If something was too much to bear, she would put it out of her mind for that moment and think about it the next day. I’ve tried to be that way as much as possible, such as when I decided I wanted to move to Nashville and work in the music business. And that cancer thing. During the early days of my diagnosis and treatment, I would start to feel sorry for myself, then force myself to put it out of my mind and worry about it the next day. And by the next day, things always seemed to be a little brighter.
 
8. What achievement are you working towards?
First and foremost in my mind right now is getting my son off to college with everything he needs, both physically and emotionally.

9. How would you most like to inspire others?
I have an annoyingly optimistic attitude about pretty much everything. I hope that I inspire others to find the silver lining in otherwise sucky situations.

10. Tell me something utterly frivolous about you. 
I like to run and slide across my hardwood floors in my sock feet. (If you ever hear that I have broken a hip, you’ll now know how it happened.

There you have it! Absolutely awesome stuff, right?

Dyanne has the distinction of authoring one of only two blogs I’ve gotten so hooked into that I’ve gone back and read Every. Single. Word. And you know what? It was totally worth it. You should probably give it a try. 

Ever one of life’s optimists, I am so thrilled to have gotten to know Dyanne through this here hop, and all joking aside, I am so happy a) to call her my friend and b) that she has an indomitable spirit and has become a go-to person if I ever need a dose of sunshine, rainbows and glitterbombs.

An extra-special Thank You because Dyanne produced this interview response on a rush after I was disorganised and only asked her to join us on Tuesday night! 

But there’s one thing to clear up…Dyanne – no more fighting with Jak for the last spot in the list (well, at least, not for your first TToT entry as a co-host) – deal?

Come back on Saturday and join us for the always lovely, weekend-long Ten Things of Thankful (Now With Added Co-Host)

Ten Things of Thankful
26 thoughts on “TToT: Meet the (NEW) Co-host 5

  1. Dyanne I am so late on the comments on these things but I have to say your philosophy of life is truly inspiring. Admit to the boob job and delay all worry… I adore that t shirt. Did your friend have it made for you? And would you mind if I stole that logo for a friend of mine with breast cancer?

    Like

  2. Oh so happy Dyanne is joining in co-hosting and must say that I loved learning more about her here today. Seriously, just as wonderful and lovely as I already knew, but so nice to have it confirmed!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. (…first Comment? damn!*)

    Welcome to the Group.

    *am *not* competitive, and no there is nothing inherently superior about getting in the first comment**
    ** except that, given the caliber of the majority of the Commentationers here, my efforts at witty-hood seem less…. oh! *of course!* clark

    lol

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

