TToT: Meet the Co-hosts 4

Many thanks to Christine for last week’s fabulous interview. I hope y’all are enjoying these as much as I am – I’m discovering things I never knew before, even in spite of reading these people’s blogs for a long time! This week we welcome Louise, from Steps into Parenthood


Who are you?
I’m Louise…  A Mental Health Nurse…. 
Where are you from?
Southampton in the UK, although originally from a small village in the leafy county of Gloucestershire
Describe your family?
Well I live at home with my wonderful Hubby who has his own blog (http://path2fatherhood.blogspot.co.uk/)  I have two very unique brothers who mean the world to me and always make me smile and a mother who is mental but just as amazing.
Why do you blog?
I started my blog as a place to write about the journey that Hubby and I are taking to become parents through adoption as I suffer from infertility and this is the only way that we can become parents. However I currently seem to use it more to get my feelings and frustrations out, but also to celebrate all of the good things that go on in my life.
What do you like about the Ten Things of Thankful hop?
I really like the fact that it gives me the chance to really think about the good things in my life, it also helps me realise that I am very lucky and fortunate for all of the good things in my life.  I also like the fact that it is giving me the chance to reach out and read other peoples blogs that I normally wouldn’t come across and so I find lots of new blogs to read and follow and meet lots of interesting people.
What’s the biggest challenge you’ve overcome in life?
I think it’s probably depression. I suffered with this horrible illness throughout my teens and into my early twenties. It literally consumed my life and everything  I did was literally just the bare minimum. However I have defeated this illness and now see that what I went through has helped shape me into the person I am now and I also feel it helps me in my job as a Mental Health Nurse (it’s also one of the main reasons I went into Mental Health Nursing). I now feel that life is worth living and is meant to be celebrated and lived to the full which I ensure I do as much as I can!
Which people inspire you?
The group of women who I have met on facebook in the infertility group. They have all been through very trying and difficult times and personal journeys which are enough to make you want to scream “Why??” but at the same time they are all very strong and have pulled together to make an inspiring bunch of women =)
What achievement are you working towards?
At the moment, there are a couple, one is to lose weight, and to do this in a serious fashion (thus the numerous amounts of salad-based meals I’ve been consuming recently and trips to the gym) but also both Hubby and I are working towards are adoption and becoming a family, which is our main goal at the moment =)
How would you most like to inspire others?
I don’t know… I’m not sure I’m very inspirational… I tend to just deal with situations with a level head… and that has got me to where I am now (apart from the blip above)….
Tell me something utterly frivolous about you…
I had my wedding reception on a boat… despite having a traumatic experience on a canoe right before hubby proposed to me…

  

Louise – I’m not sure you can just leave us hanging like that? What happened in the canoe? We’re going to need to know!….maybe with enough pestering you might do us a blog post about it!


Join up on Saturday for the gorgeous, weekend-long Ten Things of Thankful


Ten Things of Thankful
15 thoughts on “TToT: Meet the Co-hosts 4

  1. Hmm I believe Louise is one of two co-hosts I'm not very familiar with, so I am glad to have had the chance to learn more about her.

    Congrats on overcoming your battle with depression. That is a huge accomplishment. On that note, I can't imagine how you aren't viewed as inspirational, especially being in a medical field in which you have strong personal experience with. I'm sure that knowledge comes in handy when helping others suffering from similar ailments.

    For some reason I imagine your husband shaking the canoe scaring you into thinking you would tip/dump over (even worse if standing heh)

    Thank you for taking the time share about your life and I will head over to say hi!

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  2. I shall try and do a blog post all about the canoe… and the wedding… lol but it'll have to wait until after the weekend as I'm busy for the next few days =p

    so I'll keep you all in suspense…

    Thank you for the kind words =)

    Like

  3. damn! wait a minute… maybe you stole back the word and stuck on something else… just to confuse us! like the way you create TV series and put them on the air (the 'telly') before we can put on our version of the shows and make us look like we're imitating you! …rather than us anticipating you

    …this just in! wikipedia says, pram: small dinghy with a snub-nosed bow common to New England *

    * ha!**

    ** lol

    Like

  4. Lest you think all we took away from this interview was a desire to hear about the canoe (which I do as well, so consider that at least 3 votes, Louise), I wanted to thank you for taking the time to tell us a little bit more about yourself. I think you're totally selling yourself short…I agree with Dyanne. Being level-headed is inspirational, as is showing weakness and vulnerability, which you've done right here and I suspect do with your blog in general. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  5. I enjoyed this interview.

    I must admit that, like Janine I am curious about the canoe and the wedding. Unlike Janine, who is a 'normal' person, I now have a 'visual' in my head of (your) getting married in a canoe!… even though there is nothing in what you wrote to make me believe that you did, in fact, get married in a canoe!

    ( I suppose the minister *could* stand at one end, but *no way* you two could stand next to each other!! Not possible! So tell us how it really happened! A small boat, (a pram, as you say over there), I might buy…but did the Best man have his own boat? Wait a minute!! the Best Man and the Maid of Honor, *they* were the ones in the canoes!
    Oh, in that case, I believe you. You should told us at the beginning who was in the canoes!

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

