How full is your super-hero-o-meter?

I once bitched whined wrote about how out of place I felt, being as I seem to have fallen into contact and co-bloggage with so many ‘Mom-bloggers’. Perhaps it was particularly grating, that day, and I was feeling in a wretched, pity-party kind of place, for thinking back on that attitude, it strikes me I had it all wrong.

Because I am one of them, albeit not so up-front and out-loud as the rest.

I wrote a guest post for Joy today, about how my kids have given me super-powers. Most mums get them (I reckon) and like most super-heroes in disguise, you’d probably never know. The sad thing was, mine were a slightly different set – they came in losing my two children early in pregnancy. It certainly took me a while to understand my new super-powers fully, and in many ways I’m still discovering the potential I have within me. Not to mention the limitations.

But back to the ‘Mom-bloggers’

Their super-powers are absolutely, screamingly self-evident. And in spite of my (occasional) inability to cope well with the constant influx of family goodness (I often find myself overwhelmed with several of those ugliest on the ‘Thou shalt not’ list – idolising the idea of having children, and coveting all over the place), and even the family challenges (yep, I’d take them), I adore travelling along in these circles and seeing the wonder and drama unfold all around me.

They’re good for me, these women – they exhibit character traits I can hope to do no better than emulate; resilience, patience, endless patience, selflessness, protectiveness, teaching, engagedness, strength, kindness, being slow to anger, supportiveness, perseverence, trust, and above all, LOVE.

They share these things daily as they blog, and I feel privileged to read of the ways in which they’re striving at all times to make life better for their children. To nurture and treasure them and wrap them in wonderful, equipping them as they grow up and move onwards, to be fully-functional young adults, coming at life from the position of having had a marvellous, secure childhood full of awesome.

They give me hope.

So with no further ado, some of the posts I’ve found most uplifting, and most full of Super.

How motherhood changes you for the better, the worse and the unexpectedΒ 

How motherhood is a constant learning curve

On whether natural (or not) parenting even matters, as long as your child is happy and healthy and loved

Doing the right thing, even when it’s *so* hard

Those precious moments which fill your heart to overflowingΒ 

And when you can actually SEE them growing as a person

How to offer freedom within the boundaries

Explaining a mother’s hopes for the future

Just how the heck it’s possible to address the issue of managing teens

On beginning to let go

And why it’s all written down

Taking part in CELEBRATING, with Muses from the Deep

33 thoughts on “How full is your super-hero-o-meter?

  1. Ahh Jak, but we all love you. You belong in our circle and we wouldn't be the same without you as part of it.

    I love having Niece and Neff, because I get to 'try on' a tiny, small part of that mantle, to experience a little bit, vicariously almost, what the others do. Makes me want it more.

    One day you might get through the links. They're jolly good ones.

    Like

  2. I have to admit, I sometimes feel out of place in my current Blogosphere circle, because so many of my fellow bloggers are mothers. Granted, they all are different kinds of mothers, but that universal “mother” factor existing amongst them all.

    I feel I witness (read) that even within you when you talk about your neff and niece. It may be different having your own children, which I hope it still a possibility for the two of you, but I hope you can feel the awesome super powers you harness in those situations.

    I'd love to read most of those links, but am bookmarking to get to them at a more leisurely time… like in the year 2059. Just kidding (sort of…). πŸ™‚

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  3. Awwwwh you're too kind! But lead? Oh the responsibility! I'm much better at being the (incredibly) disruptive sidekick πŸ˜‰ Glad you liked the links – they're some of my faves so far.

    Like

  4. I love this so much! Thank you thank you thank you for including me on your awesome list, Lizzi. I really appreciate it and can't wait to read the rest of the posts you've shared. You're awesome and you truly are a superhero. Your kids totally gave you superpowers. Tucker gave me mine. Thanks again, you. ❀

    Like

  5. Ha! Not so far! But if you have kids you put first and try to do right by, then that's what counts. You get your Mom stripes for that. I got mine because I'm all that's left to speak for my two, and women in my situation.

    Like

  6. Thank you Katia. I love having so many wonderful mommy blogger friends and am incredibly glad you're one of them. I will certainly keep writing! You too – I love reading your words.

    Like

  7. I am really touched by your words and I am proud to be one of your mommy blogger friends. I completely understand the sentiment/reality of being a mom despite not being able to give birth to your children. Lizzi, please keep on writing. Your words bring light.

    Like

  8. Thank you both πŸ™‚

    (Christine I feel you may be one of the few here today who've read it (certainly to judge by some of the comments above! I had to do a rapid edit to make my point clearer, which felt a little defeatist)_

    I was so pleased to have such a wealth of gorgeous posts to absolutely perfectly illustrate my point with.

    Like

  9. I do think that my kids have given me super powers as well. I consider myself to be super mom! I don't really think of my blog as a mommy blog though but more a toddler blog so it might be a little different for me. I'm going to check out a few of those other posts. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Thank you Sarah πŸ™‚ You got them too – just been over and seen that INCREDIBLE tidy room you and your children effected. Gobsmacked is not the word. My house is less tidy and I don't even have kids as an excuse!

    That book sounds pretty great – I'll see if I can get it in the library. Thank you for the recommendation πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. I love this Lizzi. I am eager to check out the posts you have shared. This post made me think of Ann Pleshette Murphy's book The Seven Stages of Motherhood. She writes about how, when her first baby died at 2 days old, she came to realize that from the moment she became pregnant, she was a mother, and would always be a mother. I love your superpowers, mama. πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

