TToT: Meet the Co-Hosts

I’ve been toying with the idea for a while, and towards the end of last week, it crystallised into a decision. I’d drag my co-hosts up and make them talk to you ask my co-hosts very nicely if they’d mind being featured in a profile here at Considerings.

Cos here’s the thing – it’s great to have a rockin’ hop* and even better to have awesome co-hosts – it’s all slightly marred if y’all don’t know who they are, why they’re involved, and why I like them just SO much.

So for today (and I’m feeling kinda mean about this) I’m gonna jump on the newbie to the gang – Kristi**

 

Who are you?  

I’m Kristi (from Thankful Me – **the Ten Things of Thankful has another co-host named Kristi).  I can’t figure out whether this question should be answered simply, or whether the answer should be a deep, soul-baring essay, so I’ll just keep it simple.  Hopefully the rest of my answers will satisfy curiosity.

Where are you from? 

I grew up in the Pacific Northwest in the U.S., but now I’m living in the desert in California.

Describe your family.  

My husband, John, and I have been married for 26 years (and counting!) and we have 5 children, most of whom are grown and have left the nest.  We recently became grandparents and are enjoying this new phase.

Why do you blog?

I started blogging because I just had a nagging feeling that I should.  I know that’s not a great answer, but it’s true.  I selfishly use my blog to help me accomplish tasks I might not otherwise make time for, and I definitely use my blog to help me remember to be thankful daily.  I blog to keep in touch with family and friends, and I appreciate the new friends I’ve come to know through blogging.  I hope that my blog can be encouraging and uplifting. 

What do you like about the Ten Things of Thankful hop?

I love the Ten Things of Thankful hop!  When I started my blog, I struggled for a bit to think of a name.  I wanted a name that would be positive and that would fit no matter where I might be in life.  “Thankful Me” finally popped into mind.  The Ten Things of Thankful blog hop fits perfectly with the whole focus of my blog.  No matter what life’s challenges, we can choose to find good. 

What’s the biggest challenge you’ve overcome in life? 

The biggest challenge wasn’t really even mine, but my daughter’s.  We adopted her when she was a young elementary-school-aged girl, and not long after she came into our home, she was diagnosed with reactive attachment disorder.   What followed was years of stress on the entire family, and lots of prayer.  We even made the heart-wrenching decision to place our daughter in a therapeutic group home for a while, when her behavior became too disruptive to the family.  She was able to get some help, and the rest of the family was able to relax and heal a bit.  She had a rocky road, but has become a strong adult with a bright future.  With my (now-grown) daughter’s permission, I wrote a post to give hope to other families who have a child with reactive attachment disorder: Thursday Thoughts: Reactive Attachment Disorder and Hope

Which people inspire you? 

My parents come immediately to mind, but there are others.  I find inspiration in people who work hard despite challenges, who are kind to those who don’t seem to deserve it, who are thankful no matter how much (or how little) they have, who live their lives with integrity, and who are humble and teachable.  Jesus Christ is the ultimate example of an inspirational individual.

What achievement are you working towards?

I’m training for my first 10K race, to be held August 31st. I can run (a slow jog, actually) that distance, and am now trying to move a little faster. 

How would you most like to inspire others?

I would hope that others would know that they are inherently of worth; that they matter.  Despite life’s challenges, we can look for the good.  We can be patient and kind.

Tell me something utterly frivolous about you…

My oldest daughter and I are “voice twins.”  Not only do we sound identical, we often will say the same thing at the same time, resulting in a stereo effect for others in the room.  Then we laugh, because we both find it completely amusing.  (We are easily amused.) 

 Kristi, thank you for being so willing to be the first under the microscope. I am so pleased that you (in particular) decided to come aboard our little venture, because it fits so well with your blog, your attitude and your spirit.


Join us on Saturday, folks.


Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful

*the only reason I feel qualified to call this here thing a ‘rockin’ hop’ is truly because the people who participate make it so. If you joined us before, that means YOU. If you join us in future, that means YOU.

15 thoughts on “TToT: Meet the Co-Hosts

  1. (I don't think the 'first stab' was done intentionally, the other co-hosts are just lazy buggers*

    *thinking deeply and meaningfully about their answers**
    **So meaningfully I have no interview for this Thursday and will have to yell at them)

    Like

  2. Congrats on becoming a co-host Krist! This is a little late in the coming (and we have since hopped some to one another's blogs over the weekend), but it sounds like you will love the “job”!

    I was a bit surprised to see the NKOTB* taking the first stab at the co-host “meetings” and all! I really like this idea, by the way. It is a great way for everyone to get to know one another better. Thanks so much for sharing with us 🙂

    *New Kid on the Block**
    **Rookie***
    ***Fresh Fish

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  3. So put this in the plus column with all the rest:)
    Welcome Kristi! I enjoy these types of blog meet and greats.
    I also have enjoyed this particular hop of the thankful. Will stayed tuned Lizzie for “meeting” your other co-hosts!

    Like

  4. Ahhh any time. And don't worry about consistent – when you join, you join and it's awesome, and when you have better things to do, we know that we'll see you another time

    (and cry ourselves to sleep in our pillows from missing you, but hey, we're tough really – we'll cope)

    Like

  5. Well done, Kristi! I giggled when I read your answer to “Who are you?” It is one of the questions that got me all hung up, too. Lizzi is a deep thinker, so I didn't know how deep she was going with that question. 🙂
    I've been reading your blog for a long time now, and you are succeeding in your hope for it to be encouraging and uplifting.

    Like

  6. Hey…Welcome.

    I admire your (nerve) to be the first to have a profile, while it should not be reason for concern, I suspect I am not alone in think….'oh man! it would be good for the bloghop. But to 'stand up' in front of the crowd….ayiieee'

    run 10k? (you know, thats like 5 miles! not sure I could stay focused on the race mentally, never mind the not-inconsiderable demand on the body!) v cool.

    great photo of the family (at your blog)… there is a sense of solidity, tradition a well-rootedness (if that's a real word) in the portrait. Excellent.

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

