Ten Things of Thankful 6:2

What a day!

What a response!

Six weeks in and our community of Thankfuls is growing.

We’re developing, people – shhhh – I’m sure you can hear it!

We are choosing to find Good.

And the best thing is that y’all are taking me along with you.

YOU are my thankful.

And yet there are nine others to fill.

2. I’m thankful that today has been a better day here. Husby’s mood has been lightened by the relief of having competent professionals managing his case and giving him the support he’s lacked for so long. I’m relieved too, and we’ve spent a nice day in each others company.

3. I’m REALLY thankful that we met up with co-host Patch for lunch.It got us out of the house for a bit, the food was delicious, and most importantly, the company was great. A much-needed break from the norm and a great time had by all conversing and enjoying spending time together.

4. I’m even more thankful that the sweaty, long-haired server who we complained about last time has clearly learned much in his time at Subway University. He didn’t touch his hair and then the salad ONCE! He changed his gloves without being asked. He made eye contact and smiled (well, smiled-ish). And he even gave me extra “extra chillies please”. I was delighted to eat my sub.

5. It was hot today – 35 Celcius at max – and being in Subway meant FREE REFILLS! I’ve never really felt that I managed to take full advantage of it before, as usually in England it’s not that hot, so really after one drink, you’re done, but today I went back FOUR times. And had an accident with some ice…

Doesn’t quite rival Kate Hall’s tweets yet…

6. I’m very thankful that Niece and Neff, when invited, didn’t want to come with Husby and I to get our new fishies. They were quite grumpy and adamant about it. So we left them behind. BUT, because we were good little hopefuls, we took a sample of tank water with us to be tested by the store, and guess what – we’re right in the middle of our nitrite spike; any fish put in at the moment would have died! We’ve a week of water-changes to go, and then back next weekend to buy fish. Niece and Neff would have been SO disappointed if they’d been with us. Blessings come in the strangest ways!

Golden ring danios, I’m coming for you!

7. After lunch today, I saw a gorgeous notice on the local Oxfam store (who am I kidding – several glorious notices) advertising half price books.

Half. Price. Books.

Husby and I spent a lovely half hour browsing and came away with a MASSIVE bag (free bag – nice man at counter) of books.

And apologies to those who are rendered envious by this (in one case, anyway, I hope will soon be assuaged), but LOOK AT THOSE BOOKS!

8. I took the plunge today and created new pages for the blog. At first (months ago) I chickened out, thinking it was too narcissistic, but since starting the Ten Things hop, I really wanted somewhere for the banner to link up to, explaining what the hop’s trying to achieve. And then an ‘About‘ page seemed just to fit! Let me know what you think of them – I’d really appreciate your feedback.

9. We finally put up our world map in the hall. The delight is twofold. 1 – it’s beautiful and educational; 2 – it will prevent a grubby mark forming on the wall where I lean my hand as I remove my shoes! Bad habits die hard.

10. In doing the pics for the tabs (yes, BABY pics of me, if you haven’t gone to see yet…) I came across a pic of our wedding cake, which I hadn’t known I had on the laptop, so I am THRILLED to share it with you. It brings joy to my heart and a smile to my face πŸ™‚

Your turn.

Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful
Β Your hosts

24 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful 6:2

  1. What's better than a book? Half-price books.

    What's better than half-price books? A stack of half-price books.

    Maps are fascinating. I entertained Niece and Neff last weekend while waiting to leave for our (MEGA TRAFFIC JAM) trip to Monkey World by reading them funny place names around our locale. They were in stitches. Places like Nether Wallop, Bedlam Bottom and Piddletown

    Like

  2. Thanks Shilpa – there's a really special feeling when there's a pile of eagerly-anticipated books yet to be read.

    And you're so right – Mastercard couldn't afford that feeling of finding a lost treasure.

    Like

  3. Loved your big fat pile of books. Happy reading. And the cake looks simply great. The feeling of finding a picture of a treasured moment must be simply priceless. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. No, indeed not! They'll be here next week though, I hope!

    Mine were only half price but I guess I could consider half the stack free – also a valid perspective. And now TOTALLY want to know what you found…

    I'll borrow from Command Master Chief “Pain is your friend – it lets you know you're still alive”

    Yes! I am lucky that Patch lives so close πŸ˜€ Also, the Wakefield Doctrine video brunch is another cool way to hang out with co-hosts and others…

    I have no idea. I may have to ask her, cos hers are deffo cooler than my effort! I'll let ya know if I find out πŸ™‚

    *subliminal message* caaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaake πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. Boo no fishies! For the best, though, as you don't want to traumatize anyone with dead fishies heh… especially little ones.

    Hey! We both got our grubby little hands (well, not sure about yours, but mine are grubby!) on a bunch of free books! Yours are in so so so much better condition than mine lol This guy just seemed to toss them around and such, but still.

    Maybe Wednesday, if I get permissions (and I can't imagine I won't) I will share a picture of what my friend found at Half-Price Books. It may not be as glorious as yours, though…

    Holy balls I can barely keep my arms up to type… GGGGAAAAAAAH Why would I say that soreness is something to be thankful for… I must secretly take drugs and then hide it from myself.

    Whaaaaaa you are meeting and chilling with co-hosts?! Awesome!

    That cake looks freaking sweet and delicious… SO much so that now I want some, even though I just had cake yesterday… and some Friday? Oh My Nuts it isn't going to matter how much I hit the gym if I keep eating like this!

    I was curious, how do you think that friend you highlighted with the tweets get those actual tweets posted that way? Where it's the tweet but like… embedded? Where you can still actually click “follow” from the post even? That is pretty cool…

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  6. Subway stiffed you, hun! That's part of their whole pitch!

    Bless lovely Alfie. I'm glad I'm not the only one. I hear it's an actual *thing* though, that babies get born with lots of hair. He has impressive eyebrows and a GORGEOUS smile πŸ˜€

    Horrified about the fish lifespan why – cos you killed so many? Or cos you'd have to keep them so long?

    (sorry about the no edits ;))

    Like

  7. Alfie was covered in hair. Ears, forehead, arms, back… I'm gutted he so quickly became normal, it was gorgeous. He does have impressive eyebrows still πŸ™‚

    I love the cake

    I am horrified about 20 year fish life span.

    I have a vague recollection of asking at subway if I got free refills and being told no. I'm sorry for telling you this. I maybe shouldn't as it will make any refills lose their shine. I'm still going to though, otherwise you could get told off and I would be responsible

    Gah for being unable to edit. I still wouldn't delete that free refills bit though :).

    Like

  8. I sure am. You interested? Let me know πŸ˜€

    The cake was AWESOME. It was so cool. We now say to each other 'with this cake, I thee wed' (when in a silly mood, y'know)

    It's such a good book. I'm so happy I own it now. Such a touching story and wonderfully refreshing perspective contained in it πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. That cake is GREAT…

    Funny thing…. I picked up The Help last month πŸ™‚ I spent the whole time reading it alternately laughing and wiping tears .This week I got The Writer's Presence, The Historian, The Cradle will Fall and a Christine Feehan…

    You're looking for co-hosts?

    Like

  10. Go for it if you can – charity shops are often full of awesome books at very low prices.

    I love reading the different names on maps and understanding where places are in relation to one another – something I feel my education is lacking!

    Like

  11. I'm totally jealous of that bag of books. Makes me want to head to the book store right now! πŸ™‚ And that map is beautiful. I love maps – maybe it's a odd thing to love – but I do anyway. Somehow I see a map as full of possibilities…

    Like

  12. Thanks Dyanne – glad they're getting a positive reaction. I KNOW! I came out with hair all over (apparently even on the rims of my ears, though that later fell off). I am WolfChild.

    He does, and I'm very VERY thankful for the improvements and the higher level he (and by extention, me too) is receiving.

    No, I nearly never did, but they taste SO GOOD!

    And YES! One of the things Husby and I bonded over was our love of sweets, so we had a Pick'n'mix cake. I tellya, going to the sweet shop to buy several pounds of pick'n'mix to drop off to the cake shop was AMAZING fun πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Thanks Janine. I am pleased they've worked out ok.

    The Help is a marvellous, marvellous book (and film – have you seen it? It's A. MAY. ZING!)

    I'm glad the hop's growing too – I've had a lot of support over at Bloppy Bloggers on Facebook – such elites as Terrye Toombes and Kate Hall have been giving me advice and I'm doing some new things in terms of publicising it a bit better.

    Hope the rest of your weekend (and your MONDAY – yay!) is enjoyable and relaxing.

    Like

  14. Your pages are perfect! I loved getting to know you better by reading your “About” page; your resilience really shines. As for your Ten Things of Thankful page, hearing that you were amenable to more co-hosts made my heart skip a beat. I'd love to learn more!

    Like

  15. Omg, that cake looked amazing!! And you out a smile on my face seeing it. Loved all those books and my favorite is The Help (the book and the movie, too!). And so glad this hop is growing, because it really is just wonderful and more people should get clued in on this for sure. Last but not least, yay on the new pages!! Hoping the rest of your weekend is wonderful now!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. OH! You're back. One moment

    *Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!* πŸ˜€

    K, anyway.

    The Help I've read before – but not previously owned, so now it's MINE. And I love it.

    The fish. I'm getting freshwater tropicals. But even your common or garden goldfish has a natural lifespan of 20 years if cared for properly. No premature fishy deaths here, I hope!

    Thanks for your feedback on the pages. I think it was time. The pics help πŸ™‚

    And isn't the wedding cake GREAT! After we cut the first slice, we grabbed handfuls of the pick'n'mix from the table and chucked them at our guests. I hit my Goddaughter with a sweet and made her cry…!

    Like

  17. I'm back!! You've been busy while I was gone! I love the About page. I always enjoy seeing other's pictures from long ago. Good idea for the 10 Things page, too.
    As for today's post…
    Glad Husby is feeling better
    I've never had a fish that didn't just get plopped into some tap water. You must be getting Fancy Fish.
    I do love a new pile of books on the nightstand. You'll love “The Help”.
    The wedding cake made me smile. It fits you perfectly.

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

