Ten Things of Thankful #2

1. First and most important Thing of Thankful today is for Husby, who (upon hearing that I discovered the inLinkz widget needed to be fed with dollar in order to continue producing the beautiful thumbnails (script links just aren’t the same, are they? We like our pictures on teh internetz)) generously suggested that I pay the subscription fee from the household account rather than my personal one. He is a very sweet sweetie-darling and very supportive of my mad blogging.

2. My second Thing is for my dear co-hosts Christine, Clark and Joy, who have emailed me throughout the week asking about how the link-up will go for week two and have tried practice posts and told me that the links from last week were still showing and have borne with me in spite of my lackadaisical attitude to the whole matter, and who (no doubt) tutted and rolled their eyes when they received my slightly panicked last minute email containing the new codes (after I finally figured out what needed to happen, several minutes later than the hop was meant to go live) and who (I have no doubt) will still be polite to me. They truly are generous, wonderful people.

3. My friends have featured heavily this weekend. I managed to have a long, lovely play in the park with two friends and their two small children, then a barbeque with assorted dear friends, and today will contain another very dear friend and a trip to the cinema.

4. Which leads me to being thankful for Fast & Furious 6 (which I am going to see), Vin Diesel, Paul Walker (and back to Husby, who doesn’t mind too much about me being thankful for those two chaps (partly because Vin Diesel enjoys playing Dungeons&Dragons, and so does Husby))

5. The weather is meant to hold and if not actually summery, it’s not been too cold at the moment (who am I kidding? There were clouds of steam as I breathed earlier this evening. Winter’s back and that means MORE BLANKETS!)

6. I am thankful for all the people who are trying to keep my head up and my faith strong, and who support me by sending prayers, well wishes and expressions of hope that things work out. I never believed I would get to this point, but this week (and I’m not promising it will last) I haven’t been heartbroken or devastated at the thought of never bearing my own children. It’s hard, but that chasm we fell into doesn’t feel so deep at the moment. Not a place I think I came to on my own strength…

7. I am loving the new bookshelves. They don’t look much further on today, because there have been small, fiddly fixing bits which don’t appear like much, but are, but they are getting there. Husby and I have been having wonderful, indulgent conversations about how we’re going to organise all our books. In the end we’re going to try by genre.

8. I am thankful for Jeffrey Deaver and his latest paperback out here ‘XO’, which we bought recently and I devoured in a matter of days. I now have a new wonderful series to find the component parts of, having stayed away from his ‘Kathryn Dance’ books whilst still in the grips of a ‘Lincoln Rhyme’ stage, but I was very pleasantly surprised.

9. In a related note, I am thankful for Waterstones, more specifically a branch near me which is hosting a signing by the aforementioned gentleman in the not-too-distant future. Mr Deaver, Husby and I will be there.

10. I am thankful for each and every person who linked up last week and helped make the inaugural (don’t you love that? Christine came up with that and I like it so much I stole it – it has a great deal of inherent pomp and ceremony, which I think is just marvellous) blog hop such a success. I am thankful that you, dear reader, are a part of the second, just by being here (but do add your Ten Things of Thankful in the links or the comment box below, won’t you – it’s so much fun)Β 

Ten Things of Thankful
Ten Things of Thankful
Β Your hosts

document.write(”);

25 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #2

  1. Thanks for stopping by and taking part πŸ™‚ He is amazing – I just wish I could fix him so his health was as amazing as his character!

    One day at a time is just they way!

    (The bookshelves are nearly finished and I am very excited)

    Like

  2. Ohhh dear! I wish I've noticed that because there's nothing like a misspelling to encourage my rather mean, fun-poking streak πŸ˜‰

    The link up stuff is a separate site, separate widget – they provide the HTML, I (and my co-hosts) put it in, and bingo! A link-up. But yes, it eats a little money, but not so much as to be prohibitive (and as I have a generous Husby, we're all good). I hope it tests your procrastination habit – it's worth joining in with just to look back and see what *was* good at the time (as I am finding).

    F&F6 was awesome – I think you'll enjoy it πŸ™‚

    And thanks for the good vibes – I'm hoping they get together with all the other prayers, warm fuzzies and well-wishes and make a difference!

    Like

  3. Hey!

    Yeah, your hubby is totally awesome! Wish they were all that way – wouldn't that be nice.

    I'm really glad to hear that you are not sad today. One day at a time, right?

    The bookshelves are amazing! Floor to ceiling – I absolutely love it!

    Like

  4. I believe it was *cough*inogarulle*cough* or some such. I better be careful before she makes me bleed like a stuck pig.

    Sounds like some linking shenanigans. I was curious how that “link up” stuff works. I wasn't aware you had to pay. Very sweet the hubs is helping with that. Last night I was worried since it was past midnight I forgot to link in. My post was up hours earlier (surprisingly), but had forgotten to add the link. This hop may test my procrastination habit lol

    Sounds like you had a good time with fam and friends recently too. Gotta love a good BBQ!

    Hope F&F6 is good. I've been looking forward to it, but will likely have to wait until Redbox/Netflix or something 😦

    Stay positive on the sensitive matters hon! *hug* Sending some sweet vibes your way!

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    Like

  5. I know! He's amazing.

    I'm glad the hop is going so well for you – sprucing up an otherwise 'blah' kind of day or finding the good when it's difficult is exactly why I started doing this myself, before I'd even thought of turning it into a hop. You and all my co-hosts are excellent at helping to spread the goodness.

    Thanks for your prayers and positive thoughts – they are returned. Happy Sunday.

    (the link codes are a bit terrifying – I think we have them sussed now though πŸ™‚ )

    Like

  6. It's most excellent that your husband told you to purchase the linkie code from the household account – what a great guy! The code worked right away for me this week and I'm really loving participating. I was feeling blah and overwhelmed and tired until I sat down to write my list. It really is therapeutic and helps me remember how blessed and lucky I truly am. Thank you so much for allowing me to co-host this excellent hop with you!
    Your bookshelves are going to absolutely rock and I look forward to seeing the final version. I was also happy to read #6. Although I know that it's hard to stay positive, I'm glad that this week anyway, has given you love and support and prayers and hope. I know that I am one of many who sends positive thoughts and prayers to you and hubs. Happy Sunday, friend!

    PS I'd never roll my eyes at you and all that linkie codie stuff is scary and frustrating and I've never tried it on my own!

    Like

  7. Thank you Dyanne – it's still not a good place to be, but I'm getting there with it. In ways at the moment it's useful as there are other things which need my attention far more urgently.

    Cheers to week 2 – thanks for being in on the gig.

    Like

  8. #6 makes me sad because it makes you sad. Warm thoughts and prayers to you for peace and strength.

    Everything you say about codes and widgets makes my eyes spin like pinwheels.

    I'm so glad you started this link up! Here's to Week 2!

    Like

  9. oh yeah! the home Post…. lol

    I was kinda proud of getting this weekend's Post up semi early and getting to the others when I stopped back here and realized I hadn't left a Comment yet!

    Nice Post…nice hop

    will stop in tomorrow (it seems like last week there was a 'second wave' on the Sunday…) cool

    Like

  10. Me too, Josie – I was worried it was going to prove to be a one-hit wonder! I'm so glad it's well received and that you like participating. I aim to keep it going as long as possible, so no worries on that count! Let's keep spreading the joy.

    Thanks for your prayers and your words. The blogosphere is an astonishing, wonderful place and it continues to surprise me.

    Like

  11. I am just delighted to see your inaugural post and now this one take off so nicely… it's truly a wonderful concept and it's great soul medicine for every one of us that participates! I am looking forward to participating for weeks and years to come! πŸ™‚

    “Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” God uses every way to accomplish this… from faith to friends to fellow bloggers. I can't tell you how many times I have found comfort here in the blogpshere when my life felt so dark, I can honestly say that it has saved me. Praying for you and peaceful hearts, I understand your hurt, and I know God has a plan for your lives that will be more amazing than you can imagine!

    Like

  12. I'm sorry to hear you've been ill – I hope it passes quickly (though not so quickly you don't get to benefit from the bed rest). I'm glad your husband and boys are helping to make it slightly easier on you.

    What were the knick-knacks (I'm dead nosy and love knick-knacks myself – I have to try to be very restrained while out shopping – today I did NOT buy a hurricane-design candle holder…)

    Thanks for sharing these and for appreciating the hop πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. These past few weeks have been a haze of sickness, round 1, 2, 3 – losing track, it's my turn now but here's what I'm thankful for:

    1. Your blog hop, for reminding me to stop for a minute and think about the things I am thankful for.
    2. My blog being featured on your blog list.
    3. Being sick is allowing me to rest in bed after a very demanding and stressful week.
    4. I'm thankful for some little knick-knacks I bought for the house and have yet to decide which room would they go in.
    5. I'm thankful for the way my boys played together this morning.
    6. I'm thankful for the Mama Pop post feature this week.
    7. I am thankful for my husband's help during this stressful week and him taking so much upon himself.
    8. I am thankful to have our baby sitter available full time for a short while so I might have a few hours for myself for the first time in 10 months.
    9. I am thankful for strangers who encouraged me to register and attend a blogger conference.
    10. I am thankful for having so much to be thankful for.

    xo

    Like

  14. Can't wait – I can tell it's gonna be good!

    I'm glad you didn't roll your eyes and am impressed by your restraint πŸ˜‰

    And YAY for friends visiting from a long way away – have a gorgeous time.

    Cheers to that!

    Like

  15. Oh my word, you are going to laugh at my first thankful thing. It has to do with the “inaugural”. I laughed when I saw you mentioned it.
    And so you know, I did not tut nor roll my eyes one time.
    So glad you are having such wonderful friend-time. My good friend who was relocated to Japan should be landing in Indy any minute now. So excited to see her!
    Here's to another awesome link-up!

    Like

  16. I don't have a post to link up but maybe by tomorrow I can get one together. In the mean time I will make my list here!
    1 family
    2 faith
    3 a home
    4 a job I love
    5 infertility
    6 dear friends
    7 my rescue dogs who have rescued me too
    8 the chance at having more kids
    9 living near the ocean
    10 ability to walk, hear, see, love

    Like

  17. I'm having a great weekend, thanks Janine (though as per my FTSF, haven't gone to bed yet!). He's such a great guy and so generous πŸ™‚ I look forward to your link-up and thanks in advance for joining in – I always like to read about your world πŸ™‚

    Like

  18. Yay the linky is working and love how your husband let you pay for it out of the house account and not your personal. That totally was so sweet and put a smile on my face for you. I am linking up again in the morning here and just so happy to. Thanks again for this awesome Saturday linkup and you are having a great weekend!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  19. Good to know – even if you haven't the time or space to link up, I appreciate you joining in in your own way πŸ™‚ The thankfulness is awesome. I hope you find plenty to be thankful for in your own weekend πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

