Wasted Wednesday?

So much for timetabling!

The morning was not spent in blissful slumber, but at the end of a field, waiting for lessons to begin (the timetable said we were due to have a 2hr lecture with a particular teacher. We turned up at the right time and in the right place, to meet the correct teacher, who told us that we weren’t on his timetable, and he was teaching another group and there wouldn’t be room for us as well) so we had time to burn.

I found a broken cricket ball on the way to the field and by the time we’d found some wooden benches in the undergrowth and dragged them out to sit on, we were all having a jolly game of ‘Catch’. Oh to be 18 and this to not matter so desperately much!

We did create a new Olympic sport, though, with teams having to bounce the centre of the ball (we took it out and I drew a little face on the Pac-Man shaped red shell and used it to eat dandelion fluff) off the benches to the other team, who had to do likewise. We made a few good volleys, but mostly we lobbed the ball between us and chased it down. I (as the girl, and the old girl at that) am the worst thrower and catcher, and my ‘leap’ over the bench (as the lads were all vaulting it) was nothing so much as a farcical, slow-mo clamber.

I also got royally pwned by Summer today. When I got up, the sun was streaming in through the window with real heat. I got over-excited and dressed accordingly in 3/4 length trousers, a vest top and a very thin shirt. Well! I got shown. By the time we arrived at college, my Car-share friend was already laughing at me. The clouds had rolled in and the wind had gotten up. In spite of a very gallant offer of a borrow of his hoodie from another friend, I resisted and spent the day cold and grumpy.

The one tiny piece of good news is that I’m bang up to date on all my assignments and submissions (my tutor actually skipped across the room to hand my report back, and laughed. Twice), and am totally on track to receive starred triple distinction at the end (which sounds impressive, but it’s an academic level lower than that which I’ve undertaken before) and have my shiny, beautiful qualification.

Because of the way our bizarre timetable works, we’re on half-term break now, and when we come back, I’ll be away on a study trip overnight to conduct a marine survey. Should be fun….except. It’ll be the male lecturer, 5 lads and me. And the lads will all be smoking and drinking, and I should imagine the lecturer will have a cheeky lemonade or so (cos he’s actually pretty cool) and I’m beginning to have concerns about either a) being a terrible stick-in-the-mud and not joining in and sitting there sober and bored while they all have a whale of a time, b) joining in and over-doing it and making a fool of myself or c) joining in and having an awesome time and then regretting it afterwards.

Let me know which you’d pick.

Ten Things of Thankful #3

1. The sun (when it *did* put in an appearance) was lovely and warm and cheering.

2. I saw a red kite flying over campus (and shaking off a mob of crows). It was absolutely massive, and though a little raggle-taggle, was still stunningly graceful.

3. Reading other people’s blogs – they give me hope, entertainment, information, solidarity, and I love them. If you write one, thank you.

4. Friends who have good ideas for these Things of Thankful that I can steal as the occasion fits 😉

5. The last night of the CAP money course tonight. It’s been really helpful although we’ve still got a long way to go before we’re in control of our money, but we’re getting there on information if not practicalities.

6. Trashy pop songs on Youtube – so buoying.

7. Pizza later – should be lovely.

8. Friends, to whom I can talk about anything and everything.

9. Feeling hungry – and knowing that this can be fixed immediately and is a result of my choices rather than of abject poverty.

10. Anger management books which arrived in the post today (thanks to WonderAunty) – I’ve got some serious reading to get stuck into. Time to get fixed!

7 thoughts on “Wasted Wednesday?

  1. Нaving reaԁ thіs I thought it was
    rеally enlightеning. I aρpгeсiate уou taκing thе timе and effort to put this short агticle tоgеther.
    I once again fіnd myself spending а lot οf time both
    rеading anԁ leaving comments. But ѕo ωhat,
    іt was still worth it!

    Also ѵisit my website losing weight after 50 with pilates exercises

    Like

  2. Afteг I inіtіally commеntеԁ
    ӏ ѕeem to have clicκed the -Notify me when new сomments arе
    adԁеԁ- checκboх and now whenever a comment is added I
    get 4 emailѕ with the eхact same comment.
    Ιѕ theгe a ωay уou сan remοve me from that ѕеrvіcе?
    Thanκѕ а lot!

    Feеl fгеe to ѵiѕіt my wеbѕitе:
    gardening tips

    Like

  3. After exploгing a handful of thе blog poѕts on уouг site, I trulу lіke yοur way оf blοgging.
    I bοoκ markeԁ іt tо
    my bookmaгk ωebpage list anԁ ωill be chеcκing bасk іn thе near future.
    Take a looκ at my ωebѕitе toο and tell me hοω
    уοu feel.

    Visit my ѕite; organic potting soil

    Like

  4. If it was a degree it might be a little better organised – college here is like your last two years of highschool (I think – for 16/17 y/o's, but because this is an agricultural college they tend to have a wider range of people on each course – I'm the oldest in my group but not by much *phew*)

    We had an amazing time, and no, on a British blog you can be as rude as you like about cricket 😉 (I like it but don't play often or watch it – it's one of those quintessential things which seems to matter much more to those who attended public school)

    Like

  5. I do not understand your college system. Maybe it's just the type of degree you're getting? How are they having so much trouble with classes being held/not held, when and where?
    I imagine your game with the broken cricket ball was more fun than actual cricket. (Is that a bad thing to say on a British blog? (What if I put a smiley face at the end?)) 🙂

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

