Giving thanks

Not Thanksgiving, because we’re English, but it certainly is a day to be thankful.

So here are my thankfuls of today

  1. That I was able to leave my college placement two days early with support from my tutor and the people I was working for so that I could attend Husby’s endocrinologist appointment with him.
  2. That Dr. Brown, Husby’s endocrinoloist is SUCH a SUPER LADY. Seriouly fabulous woman, that. She was clear, concise, sympathetic, concerned, had plans and was bloody quick about getting them underway.
  3. That Husby’s treatment should not only help him to feel better but (if this is the best route, which it certainly looks like) he will NOT be rendered infertile within a week (the other treatment option we’re less keen to pursue).
  4. That in spite of a fertility test showing he only has 3% of swimmers fit and able (bloody, buggered up endocrine system – WHYYYYY???) I’ve already fallen pregnant once. What a very determined 3%. Now to figure out how to hold onto it…
  5. That we are being referred to a fertility clinic within the month so that I can be checked out to ensure there are no problems my end (not that I’m expecting any) before we finalise a treatment plan for Husby and a having-a-family plan for us both.
  6. That I was able to go for blood tests immediately the appointment finished so they can check levels of various things (FSH, LH, Oestridol, Progesterone, blood count etc) and that the phlebotomist I went back to (having been sent away by a very intimidating woman for having the wrong name on my form – not my fault) was small and sweet and lovely and completely un-scary and for the first time I really did only feel a sharp scratch!
  7. That Husby and I were able to then spend a nice afternoon playing Kniffel (budget version of Yahtzee) and go to see Skyfall at the cinema.
  8. That we could go and finish (yes, FINISH) our Chrismas shopping and buy ingredients for epic Spicy Beef and Bean Burritos for tea. 
  9. Liam Neeson in ‘Taken’.
  10. All my friends-and-relations, because they’re wonderful.

Were there to be some things I could gripe about and want changing, it would be that the adoption agencies still don’t seem to be falling over themselves to provide information for prospective adopters either to us or our good friends, and that the UK doesn’t allow adoption of International Special Needs kids – saw this today about a beautiful girl called Lilly, who already has $10,000 towards her adoption and needs a forever family. It’s not us though, sadly.

I hope everyone’s able to find something to be thankful about today. Worth bearing in mind that there are those who (as far as they’re concerned) have nothing to be thankful for, and what a dark place they’re in. And there are those for whom being alive is the most they can be thankful for. Been reading a lot of books lately where people really struggle. Quite eye-opening, books.

7 thoughts on “Giving thanks

  1. And in any case, we fall at the cultural hurdle. I can totally understand why it's in place, it just makes me baulk because in a lot of the children's homes (particularly in Russia), disabled kids are seen as 'less than' and are voluntarily given up because they bring shame on the family. No Russian (or an extreme minority, at any rate) would consider bringing their family into disrepute by adopting one.

    It makes me question when, for the sake of the cultural identity of the child, families are prevented from adopting them and giving them a far better life.

    Like

  2. The first source was Reece's Rainbows. The second was my local council (their explanation was about providing a link to the culture of the child) and the third was an organisation called 'Hope for Homes', which said that although their remit was to close down (mainly Eastern European) children's homes so that children could receive better care with foster placements, a very negative view of SEN adoption from these areas was given. The point seemed to be (in essence) because we have the NHS, and because parents of children with special needs can be eligible for government benefits to support the child, they are not prepared for children with special needs to be brought into the country, as it might be to claim the benefits or as a route for a healthy person from that child's country to gain entry through marriage to the disabled person. Admittedly, the latter was a long-term, highly unlikely and very corrupt and pessimistic view, but it stood out.

    I am still waiting on specific replies from local authorities, though I doubt I'll get any in all honesty.

    Like

  3. Where have you got the information from about the UK not allowing adoption of international children with special needs from? Its not something I've seen in any of my reading so far (although we are focusing on adopting from within the UK)
    I've seen lots of information about the requirements for overseas adoptions (Basically the same process as for a national adoption, although you have to fund everything yourself and prove that you have a link with the country and culture of the child's birth, to minimise feelings of 'rootlessness' but I've not seen any mention of limits on children with particular needs.

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

