Blog Tag – a new way of playing

Wow! You know that moment where you meet someone incredible and are totally blown away? I just had the e-version of that! One of my favourite bloggers (I came across her blog via the Quick Takes Friday, was amused by the name of her blog – A Fly on our (Chicken Coop) Wall’ and have since been enjoying reading through all her posts – not quite made it to the end yet, but still highly entertained – I love a good life story well written) has tagged me in an awesome game – Blog Tag.

SO the idea is that I tell you 11 things about myself, then answer the 11 questions you were asked, then ask 11 questions and tag 11 blogs for the bloggers there to answer them (these blogs should have fewer than 200 followers and should not tag you back). Fun, interesting and gets people whizzing round the Blogosphere discovering new and interesting people. (With all those 11s, did anyone else notice (and relish) that today had the time/date stamp 07:08:09 10/11/12?)

Here goes with my 11 things

1. I have an irrational love of cushions. I have lots of them in all shapes, sizes and colours and I *love* being snuggled by more than a sensible amount of them.

2. Aged 13 ‘rescued’ some baby mice from being stamped on by a mean farmer, took them home and sheepishly introduced them as a project to raise them. They needed feeding every 2 hours on goats milk using a paintbrush to put the stuff into their tiny mouths. Every 2 hours. My poor, longsuffering mother had very little sleep for a while, as she didn’t want to disrupt my work experience placement by making me do the night feeds.

3. I get very snotty when people have the audacity to prefer the movie version of Pride and Prejudice over the beauty and wonder that is the 6-hour-long BBC version with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth. If you’ve never seen it, you should. You just should.

4. I struggle to deal with spiders. They go ‘Zuzzz’ and brave Man has to come and get them in a jar and put them out. I also own (and handle) a chile rose tarantula. Go figure.

5. I increasingly prefer savoury to sweet. My Dad’s like this and growing up I was always like “Pshawwwwf, as if anyone prefers savoury.” Showed me, huh?

6. I whinge. Often. To the point that my dear best-friend-in-the-world finds frequent cause to roll her eyes and ask if I’d like some cheese with that whine.

7. Usually I do – cheese and (red) wine are delightful. Especially with fresh, lovely bread. And more cheese.

8. If food tastes this good here, I can’t wait to taste food in Heaven. God’s strawberry jam on toast and cup-of-teas must be EPIC.

9. I *will* have children, someday, somehow.

10. I have an irrational art snobbery in that apart from a few prints of things I could never-in-a-million-years hope to own (Vettriani, Van Gogh) I strive to obtain original art. I have a huge and glorious, flowery, meadow piece by Yvonne Coomber, a beautiful vista of the New Forest by Richard Tratt, our honeymoon present to ourselves was a stunning flowery, glittery moonscape by Izumi Omori and I bought a gorgeous and very good (probably 50s) palette knife piece depicting Venice by a mystery A.S.

11. I fall in love with songs and listen to them on Youtube on a loop for sometimes hours at a time. Today it’s Eddie Floyd’s ‘Knock on Wood‘.

Now to answer the 11 questions:

1.  If you could do anything you wanted, knowing you would not fail, what would you do? I’d love to try jumping off somewhere ridiculously high in one of those squirrel suits and go soaring over the land. As long as I knew I couldn’t end up as a pile of broken on the rocks someplace.

2.  What did you do growing up that got you into trouble? When I got told off, I would laugh due to nervousness and then get told off worse.

3.  Where do you want to retire? Cornwall, if it could be here, where all my friends-and-relations are. I once heard that you should move to the place you want to retire to by the time you’re 40 so you have time to build up a network of people around you.

4.  If you were invisible, where would you go? I would go everywhere and I would play pranks on EVERYONE I KNOW! I love pranking people.

5.  What cartoon did you love to watch growing up? Tom and Jerry. The proper ones directed by Fred Quimby. I remember watching them at my Grandma’s house before I could even read the words they had in them. And they introduced me to the wonderful music of Strauss.

6.  How many text messages do you receive in a day? Between 0 and 4 as a rule. One of those may be from the phone company though, does that count?

7.  Has your “green” behavior changed over the last 5 years?  How? Now I’m married we write a menu each week and a shopping list from that and rarely buy more food than we need. We waste nearly no food. And we brush our teeth with the taps off then rinse at the end. And we try to wear blankets instead of having the heating on (additional incentive there as we can’t afford too much on gas)

8.  If you were going to karaoke tonight, what song would you sing? I fall in love with different songs and go through phases of listening to them for hours on end on Youtube, so tonight it would be Eddie Floyd’s ‘Knock on Wood

9.  What movie can you quote word for word? Flight of the Navigator. I *love* it.

10.  If you could hire out one chore, which one would it be? Tidying away. We live in a tiny flat. We have a lot of stuff. There are no places.

11.  What do you have of great value that is of no value to anyone else? My wonderful footstool. He’s massive and shaped as a tortoise and is called Herbert Augustus Tortoise. I have loved him since I was about 1 1/2 (Mum has photographic evidence of me hugging him as a very tiny toddler) and when I pick him up to carry him if he’s in the way or needs moving, I can smoosh my nose into his fur and he smells like growing up.

Now for the blogs I’m going to tag. I may not reach 11 as I seem to have picked up several with not hundreds, but THOUSANDS of followers. Hopefully some of these excellent people might read me, and if they do – you’re it!

Meanderings with Jesus

Hope and Faith

Diapers and Drivel

Home Sweet Hjelmstad

Oh Jones

Pannone Appetit

Slim Volume

The Recovered Catholic

This Ain’t the Lyceum

4 thoughts on “Blog Tag – a new way of playing

  1. Good heavens. I've got some writing and tagging and thinking to do…in some order or another. Appreciated the use of 'epic' and not awesomesauce or awesomeballs in reference to heavenly fare. And now I need to go Google these squirrel suits you talk of.

    Like

  2. Hehe thanks. Squirrel suit would forsure need an anti-death guarantee, I think. My Dad named the turtle before I was old enough to name things. I maintain the name though. He's a lovely tortoise (much less mess than a real one). Hopefully I'll get some more people tagging. Looking forward to their responses.

    Like

  3. Knock on Wood is a great song! The people who do that squirrel suit jumping are crazy nuts, as I'm sure they don't have a guarantee that they won't get killed. I absolutely love that you have a turtle footstool, and the fact that you named it makes me very happy.
    Nice job with the tag!

    Like

Comments are where the magic happens...

